No, McDonald’s. Please. (Pleasé?)

30 Jun

Is it just me, or does the new McDonald’s promotional campaign for their coffee really not make sense?  Don’t get me wrong – McCafé is a wonderful, absolutely logical choice for the name of their coffee section of the menu.  It’s just that I don’t get all the commercials that play out like a misguided handbook on how to study for a standardized test.   

Seriously.  Everything is better with an accent?  Really?  Possible becomes possiblé (“possiblAY”).  As does commute (commuté), shuttle (shuttlé), and cubicle (cubiclé).  

Okay, I’m on board so far.  The accent magically transforms the mundane commute to something that sounds as elegant as a fancy ballet move.  I get it.  My problem comes with the asymmetry of this verbal display – we all know McCafé has only, always been, McCafé.  Take away the accent and it’s just the same word misspelled – and not pronounced McCayf.  

Using the style of those analogy questions on test such as the SAT and the GRE, possible:possiblé :: commute:commuté :: cubicle:cubiclé.  None of these are the same as McCafe:McCafé.  This logic only continues to McCafé if the non-accented version is pronounced McCayf.  Alas, it is not.  And alas, as silly as it may be, this campaign drives me crazy on principle.  I tried avoid trying their drinks because of this, but then came a problem.

In the middle of nowhere, with only a McDonald’s in sight, I was suddenly struck with a craving for a latte (I say this as if this is a rare occurrence).  I struggled to push back my hang-ups with their very lamé ads, and pulled up to the curb.  Hesitantly, I admit it – the drink was delicious.  Despite the guy who forgot to give me my dollar in change, despite the fact that he made me the wrong drink after I specifically said hot latte, no flavor whatsoever (twice) – once I finally got my beverage, it tasted great.  

What about you?  Do you ever avoid potentially great things for trivial reasons such as this?  Like, not only McCafé, but also places like Kwik Kar (it pains me to type that) and the movie The Klumps or Avril Lavigne’s song “Sk8er Boi?”*

 

P.S. – This entire marketing campaign is, in my opinion, marginally better than their last memorable commercial – the one that looks like it should be on MTV, and the dude is singing his heart out about his girlfriend’s selfish hoarding of McNuggets.  (I woke up to find you creepin’, tip-toe-tip…Girl, you got a ten-piece, now don’t be stingyyyyyyayaaay…)

 *Disclaimer: not saying all of those things are potentially great.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

