Evil First Pages and the Saint Who Reads Them

16 Jul

For all you writers out there, perhaps you’ll find “The Anonymati” as enlightening as I do.  I stumbled upon this website a few days ago, and then it sucked me in for an hour.  The site is maintained by an anonymous editor who invites writers to submit their treasured first pages for public critique.  The editor posts the first page and comments whenever something strikes his (her?) attention.  At the end of the post, he comments on whether or not he is intrigued, bored, or otherwise.  Readers also leave their opinions in the comment section.

It’s become a fun game for me to read these submissions and try to guess what the editor will say about it.  I’ve been right a few times, so that’s encouraging.  The main thing I love, though, is that it is teaching me what grabs the attention of people, what bores them, what confuses them, and ultimately what makes someone annoyed or interested.  

So, it’s been nice to have a few more things to think about as I strengthen my novel.  After all, over and over we are told the first page (the first sentence, even) can make or break a project.  This is a gold mine of information on what you can do to swing your chances away from the break, and towards the make.  

Here’s the address:    

http://pitchclinic.blogspot.com/

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Evil First Pages and the Saint Who Reads Them”

  1. jenniferneri Thursday / 16 July 09 at 6:53 pm #

    New site for me, fun!
    Thanks!

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 16 July 09 at 10:02 pm #

      Oh, good, I’m glad you are enjoying it, too! You’re welcome :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

