Oh, Tuesdays…

28 Jul

Meh.

It is neither cloudy nor sunny today, and I can’t seem to wake up!  I’ve been up for hours, but the bed keeps calling my name.  So, instead of writing at my cozy desk, I’ve migrated to the Starbucks café.  

Hopefully today’s endeavor will be without incidents such as the snooty coffee woman from a few days ago or an hour-long sidetrack conversation with the guy who doesn’t read fiction novels.  Side note: the guy who doesn’t read fiction novels is a young, eager-to-be-trendy-with-his-red-Macbook guy, and seems to live at Starbucks these days.  I’ve heard reports that he’s there as early as 6am and sometimes doesn’t leave until 9:30 at night.  There is suspicion that he is taking showers in the men’s room, since puddles of water mysteriously end up all over the floor every time he locks himself inside.  

But, anyway.  

My headphones are in, and now that my writing brain is sufficiently warmed up, I shall get to work.  This jaunty Starbucks music keeps cluttering itself with my thinking music, but I’m just gonna have to get past that, I suppose.  Time to focus!

I wish you all a happy – and non-sleepy – Tuesday afternoon!

6 Responses to “Oh, Tuesdays…”

  1. izumimix Tuesday / 28 July 09 at 6:01 pm #

    i love how your category says, “why do people?” I literally ask that every day. Call me neurotic or mean, I don’t care. For that matter, why do people not say excuse me when they are trying to get by you? and why do people like reality tv so much?

    • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 29 July 09 at 8:47 am #

      Haha, thanks. It was only fitting, as many of my thoughts start off that way… :) As for reality TV…well…gotta say I get hooked on Survivor and American Idol. Project Runway can be fun, too. Though it’s mainly out of curious addiction, I truly enjoy watching the interpersonal dynamics of Survivor and the creative feats on PR. American Idol sucks me in, though. Whether I love it or hate it, it’s hard not to watch. Perhaps this year I’ll do better at fighting it. As for reality TV in general, well, I’m with you – there’s a lack of substance and it can drain your time.

  2. jenniferneri Tuesday / 28 July 09 at 8:58 pm #

    ok, i am far far away (I think!) and I had the same kind of morning, yet I only had three hours to work, and did next to nothing! I was just thinking, well I am really behind this week now…have to let it go. AGGhh!

    • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 29 July 09 at 8:42 am #

      Seems like you have good reason to be behind this week, though, after reading your blog posts. Life sometimes gets in the way and, well, what can we do? I love getting stuff done but some days (like yesterday almost was…turned out to be semi-productive) I have to just accept that it’s just going to be one of those days! Today already feels better – hope yours does, too :)

  3. everevie Wednesday / 29 July 09 at 1:41 pm #

    Today is very meh for me. I’m at work (obviously not working hard at this moment) and I’m having difficulty staying awake…and interested…and involved. Sigh.

    Oh…and I think I know that Starbucks guy. Unless there is one in every SB. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Dreaded Middle of the Story… « Owl and Sparrow - Saturday / 3 October 09

    [...] For the life of me, I cannot understand why groups of people watch videos on their laptops at Starbucks, with the sound at full volume for the entire café to hear.  And, on a Saturday night, no less. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

