Today, the Stars Will Align, or I Will Make Them.

14 Aug

I’ve decided: today is hereby Über-Productive Friday, and I shall work my way through it to atone for yesterday, also known as Where-Did-That-Funk-Come-From? Thursday.

After a brief encounter with a latte, I shall truck on over to La Madeleine, purchase something delicious, and plant myself there all day.  As long as they’ll let me, anyway, or until I feel the need to relocate to the Barnes & Noble down the street.  (Always buying something, of course.  It is not right to suck resources without paying at least a little back, but that’s another rant for another day…from Yours Truly, the ex-Starbucks-barista…)

I am intentionally choosing La Madeleine for this Day of Wonder Work, not only for their super-cute interior design, but because they do not offer any form of wireless internet.  It’ll just be me and my manuscript, baby.  Plus, it’s a good twenty minute drive, so I will not be tempted to clean, grocery shop, go to the gym, or other things like that that are at my fingertips here.

Most of this week has proved productive, but I had lofty dreams for the week and I really want to meet my goal.  Don’t know if I possess the ability to do a twelve-hour day, like Laura did a few days ago – I do know this is wicked inspiration for Über-Productive Friday! (Thanks, Laura!)

Now that I’ve admitted this for all of you to see, of course, I’ve locked myself into additional accountability.  Hopefully I’ll have a look of victory on my face next time I write (instead of shame, shame, I-procrastinated-all-day shame…). 

 

PS:  Let me just add, I have a love/hate relationship with the prefix über.  Most days, it annoys me.  Today, for some reason, I’m feeling like a generous queen, allowing the poor little über-pauper to exist in the realm of my kingdom.  I’m just in an umlaut sort of mood, I guess.

7 Responses to “Today, the Stars Will Align, or I Will Make Them.”

  1. joyofdawn Friday / 14 August 09 at 10:54 am #

    Hope it works for you! Hope you manage to get lots done. It can be so hard. :)

  2. maryeburger Friday / 14 August 09 at 11:40 am #

    I have always had a love/hate relationship with über too. I don’t know if it is just the way it rolls of the tongue in this jello sounding way or the fact that well, it’s overused and often unnecessary. But then there are the days and moments when it is needed and almost empowering. Strange little word it is…

    Good call on the latte and books. I am jealous…

    M.E.B. (also an ex-barista)

  3. lifeofaprimadonna Friday / 14 August 09 at 3:43 pm #

    Hey sounds like you had an enjoyable day! No if I didn’t have a job i could work more on my book too…hmm… J/k I have to have a job…ha anyway sounds like you had a day of coffee and relaxation at a cute little shop you like! Happy writing!

  4. Patti Friday / 14 August 09 at 9:37 pm #

    To get away for that long without distractions, only in my dreams. Good lucking getting to your goal.

  5. jenniferneri Thursday / 27 August 09 at 8:51 am #

    What a cute post!
    I want a La Madeleine. I will have to find my own :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Victory! « Owl and Sparrow - Monday / 17 August 09

    [...] Happily, I report to you that I vanquished the Enemy (procrastination) on Friday, and conquered last week’s lofty goals.  I know, I know – I sounded confident in my last post, but truly, it took much effort to [...]

  2. Sixteen « Owl and Sparrow - Thursday / 3 September 09

    [...] writing my novel at La Madeleine again, on my nifty white MacBook with a red file folder out on the table beside it.  It’s bright, [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

