Victory!

17 Aug

Happily, I report to you that I vanquished the Enemy (procrastination) on Friday, and conquered last week’s lofty goals.  I know, I know – I sounded confident in my last post, but truly, it took much effort to get it all done.  Side note, the term all done should be read kind of loosely.  I am nowhere near all done with this project; rather, I’m all done with an arbitrary milestone deemed important merely because I named it as such.

The weekend was full, and I didn’t work on anything novel-related; sadly, there was no time even for Stephen King’s memoir.  (Well…except for some vague theorizing about whether or not King’s example of bunnies with eights painted on them have anything to do with the numbered bunnies in Lost, but that’s not really reading…) 

Now?  Monday.  Deep breath, because it starts all over again today.

Another set of lofty goals, another week of diligent discipline.

Oh, I just remembered something I want to tell you guys.  La Madeleine, the Batcave of my Friday, was the perfect place to find unexpected encouragement.  A lady at the table beside me asked what I was up to; I told her I was writing my first novel.  She asked for my name.  When she left, she paused next to my table and told her daughter, “When we see her name on a book in Barnes & Noble one day, we can say we met her at La Madeleine!”  La Madeleine was also a good hideout because all the women with screaming children sat, miraculously, on the far end of the café when they saw I was busy typing on my Macbook.

Well, that was encouraging.  However: I reached my goals of last week, but I face new ones this week.  And, if I ever want that lady’s encouragement to ring true, I’ve got to forget it for now.  She’ll never see my name on a book in Barnes & Noble if I just sit around all day thinking how amazing that would be, now, will she?

Time to connect my brain to my fingers, my fingers to the keys, and make some magic.

3 Responses to “Victory!”

  1. Laura Best Monday / 17 August 09 at 8:00 pm #

    A few years back the lady working at the bookstore in Greenwood made the comment that “Perhaps one day you’ll be coming here for a signing” and guess what? they are on my list of places this fall. I think comments like that are the Universe’s way of letting us know we are on the right track. You should write down what that lady said and post it where you can see it everyday! I should think it gave you quite a boost!!

  2. jenniferneri Thursday / 27 August 09 at 8:53 am #

    Oh, how lovely! You must do what Laura suggests!
    I think I shall do something similar. Thanks both of you.

  3. owlandsparrow Friday / 28 August 09 at 9:30 am #

    That’s a great suggestion, you guys – I would do well to remember her encouraging words, and the look of excitement in her little girl’s eyes at ‘meeting someone who might have a book at B&N one day!” Laura, I can’t wait until your book comes out! I want to read it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

