Gray (Though I Like it Spelled Grey Better…)

19 Aug

Why is it that people are so quick to see things only in black and white, but nothing in between?  And then, why is it that people who only see gray forget that black and white must exist in order for gray to happen at all?

I know that’s not much of a blog post, really – it’s so short.  I’m sure I have more to say on the subject, but at the moment it feels best to just leave it at that.  Gray has just been on my mind lately, for reasons not completely related to today’s outfit, a light gray shirt paired with dark gray pants (though choosing that outfit may have had something to do with the fact that gray has been on my mind).

Oy vey.  I’ve gone all artsy-fartsy on you guys.  I’m such a drama queen sometimes.  I’ll be back to my non-vague self soon enough, I promise.

5 Responses to “Gray (Though I Like it Spelled Grey Better…)”

  1. sherrymeneley Wednesday / 19 August 09 at 4:10 pm #

    Hey lucky for you “G-R-E-Y” is the original correct spelling! I learned somewhere that grAy is the ‘A’merican way, and grEy is ‘E’ngland or ‘E’veryone else’s way… and now I’m way off track (but I do prefer grEy too!)
    Anyhoo, there is something extraordinarily special about grey. The mood, the look, the blending of hard black and white lines to create soft, shadow and mystery. Even taking a color photo and turning into greyscale completely changes the tone and feel. It becomes timeless, classic and holds untold stories. There is more emotion and depth in a world of grey… (I think I just fell into the artsy-fartsy hole).
    Enjoy your grey today, it’s good fuel for journaling!
    ~ Sherry soiledwings.com

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 20 August 09 at 8:38 am #

      I never realized until lately how much I like grey. I like your thoughts on it, and totally agree that it’s extraordinarily special in its ability to change mood and tone. Grey skies are some of my favorites, though grey moods are not… :) However, you’re right – it was very good for journaling!

  2. waggledance Thursday / 20 August 09 at 2:38 am #

    I like GREY better too… and the colour can be so stylish or it can just be a mood…I prefer stylish but sometimes we don’t have a choice in the matter, do we. Hope things will be a sunny colour soon…

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 20 August 09 at 8:40 am #

      Things are already looking more sunny today. Thanks for your encouragement! Ahh and I like ‘coloUr’ better than ‘color,’ too. Maybe I should move someplace that agrees with me on this (i.e. NOT Texas, haha).

  3. jenniferneri Thursday / 27 August 09 at 9:03 am #

    I actually always spell it with an e. Then spell check highlights for me, and, oh yeah.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

