Sludgetrudger

27 Aug

It’s gray and rainy, my favorite kind of morning.  Most mornings like this, I find myself inspired and ready to write.  Something must be off here in Texas, though, because it’s been a strange twelve hours, and I need a bit more help in the inspiration department this morning.

It all started last night, after a long talk with a friend whose divorce was finalized Monday.  She’s only 22 years old, and there’s been some crazy stuff happening, but I just did my job – I listened.  And then, I left.

Apparently, the gorgeous landscaping at her apartment is actually a grass-covered swamp, which I found out by unfortunate experience.  I took a shortcut to my car so I wouldn’t have to walk alone in the shadows of her complex, and came out on the other side muddy and without shoes.  Seriously – I took two steps, sank down two feet, and am now short two flip flops.  Poor garden maintenance guy, he’ll probably think there’s a girl buried in the mud, because I just left them there.  With muddy jeans and muddy feet, I crossed the parking lot and drove home.

This morning, I ate a chicken biscuit from Chick-fil-A, which usually taste divine slathered in honey.  You know what’s not divine when it’s slathered in honey?  My glasses, and also, my entire eyebrow.  Somehow they both ended up covered in the gooey stuff, even though I squirted only a few drops onto my biscuit, at waist-high level.  No, I have no idea.

Also this morning, I almost rear-ended a car because they — and the car in the next lane — mysteriously came to a stop at a very obvious green light.  I joined in the honking cacophony, of course, and they sped up.

Got home, found my husband’s debit card on the table, so I sent him a text message lest he need money and worry about its absence.  He wrote back, “Whoops!  Forgot to put it back.  AND I just noticed my zipper’s down.  Goodness me…”  

Crazy times here in Texas, crazy times.  

Which means I must have amazing potential with my writing today, or else the universe would not be conspiring against me.  I’ve trudged through the sludge and honey, yet still feel excited about immersing myself into the little world of my novel and getting real with my characters again today.  

May your day be mud-free and your eyebrows un-honeyed.

PS: I finished this post about half an hour ago.  I feel the need to add that I just stepped on a wicked painful carpet tack, which for some reason, is jutting up right outside the bathroom door.  It feels worse than it looked, only a few droplets of blood sprang to the surface.  Sheesh.

12 Responses to “Sludgetrudger”

  1. jendoll Thursday / 27 August 09 at 7:14 pm #

    Thanks for the words of encouragement on my blog– I’m still working on it. AND THANKS A MILLION FOR THE TIPS/TRICKS, I’ll do that. Is there anyway I can add you a list where I can follow your posts? I still don’t understand the difference between tags and catagories, aren’t they the same thing?? I’m going to work on searching.. I didn’t even know how to do that! I need to change my picture, too— I spent like 30 min on here earlier trying to figure this mess out!

    Last question. when i reply to what YOU say on MY post, do you see that I replied to you?

    Congratulations, you are now my “GO TO GIRL” for wordpress. :)

    p.s. sorry about the tack and the sticky elbows. You sound like you have my luck. Your writing is beautiful. You make even chicken biscuits interesting to read about. lol

    • owlandsparrow Friday / 28 August 09 at 9:21 am #

      Oh, you’re so welcome! I answered you on your post, with the other comment I made. I don’t mind being a go-to girl at all – glad to help! And thanks for your P.S. – it’s always nice to hear encouragement like that!

      By the way, everyone else, Jendoll is a new blogger – you can find her at http://jendoll.wordpress.com if you want to read her posts!

  2. sherrymeneley Thursday / 27 August 09 at 10:43 pm #

    LOL – great post! still laughing at the “whoops, my zipper..” hilarious :)

    • owlandsparrow Friday / 28 August 09 at 9:23 am #

      When I got his text, it made me laugh so much, too! He’s such a fun (and wonderful) husband!

  3. jenniferneri Friday / 28 August 09 at 11:42 am #

    owl and sparrow, if your novel reads anything like your posts I can’t wait to read it!

    • owlandsparrow Saturday / 29 August 09 at 5:41 pm #

      Jennifer, that’s so sweet! I am really encouraged by this comment, thank you so much. And I’m glad to hear your reading went well!! :)

  4. jenniferneri Friday / 28 August 09 at 11:43 am #

    oh, and ps, it went great last night, thanks for asking!

  5. teachmelife Friday / 28 August 09 at 6:56 pm #

    haha I love this post. I like the way you write. It is very layed back and real. As for my post, thanks so much for your words of encouragement. it means alot. As for my progress, here is what im looking to do. I have set these goals (tentatively lol):

    I want to have a presentable version of this comedy script i have been working on for the past year by christmas. By next spring, I want to have a presentable version of a thriller script that i have been working on for a year and half. By summer I want to have my new EP all recorded. Its a collection of simple acousticish songs that i have been working on since last spring. Lastly by december 2010 I want to have a presentable version of this novel idea i started this past summer.

    haha, its a lot but on top of that I want to keep building up my presence on line. I don’t know of you use twitter but i am @astorytosuccess. I know were in a time right now (writers are probably always in this time) where its hard to know if you will even be successful at this writing thing…but i know if its what you truly and your willing to fight like hell, will make it….

    • owlandsparrow Saturday / 29 August 09 at 5:44 pm #

      Those are some specific goals, and I like them! It’s so much easier to meet goals, however lofty they sound, when you set a deadline for them. It makes them more real, I think; also, in my experience I sometimes do way more than I ever thought I could just by setting a high goal. Best of luck to you! Stick with it, I’m sure your ambition will pay off!

      Also, thanks for the nice things you wrote about my blog. This is such a good place to get experience with writing and finding my own unique voice. Can’t wait to read more about your writing adventures! :)

  6. Laura Best Saturday / 29 August 09 at 6:02 pm #

    By the sounds of it things can only improve. It always helps to have a sense of humour though. Doesn’t it?

    • owlandsparrow Saturday / 29 August 09 at 6:25 pm #

      Knowing I have a place to write about these things, and turn them into something creative, automatically improves the situation!

  7. Merrilee Sunday / 30 August 09 at 1:04 am #

    Lol! Days like those you just have to shake your head. Great fodder for writing inspiration though :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

