Spaten Franziskaner Dunkel-Weiss

31 Aug

Now, doesn’t that sound like a beer you just have to try?  I thought so, too.  My sweet husband took me on a date this weekend, where we ate under the stars and drank Spaten Franziskaner Dunkel-Weiss¹, interrupted only by the occasional group of frat boys who wanted to sit at our table with us².

This weekend was relaxing, as planned – almost too much so (not that I’m complaining).  I probably could have slept for a few more hours this morning, but even through the sleepy haze, thoughts seized me, and compelled me to get up.  It’s Monday!  It’s a fresh writing week!  I actually want to run on the treadmill!  I could write a new blog!  I need to do dishes and laundry!³ 

So, here I am, doing the more desirable of my plans for the day.  I’m hoping to be Wonder Woman this week with my writing – my goal is to infuse my work with a sort of laid-back discipline.  Lately, I’ve been able to absorb myself into the story and get some good work done.  The only problem with this is my tendency to stop after I get a decent chunk of words written (the 1000-1500 word range, usually).  I tell myself, “That’s good enough for one day!” and while it is, I could probably spend at least another hour or so getting a bit more than that accomplished.  Probably lots more, actually.

So, my goal this week?  Get into the story, feel it, communicate it; then press on, even after I reach “good enough.”  I hope to up my word count this week† in a major way (though I’m hesitant to decide how major) and retain that laid-back, wrapped-up-in-the-story feel that is so necessary to getting quality words to jump out of my head and land on the page.

I love the freshness of Monday, so here I go.  Hopefully I can maintain this energy all the way through Friday, but I have a feeling I may need another Spaten Franziskaner Dunkel-Weiss when this week is over.  Maybe another starlit date, too, minus the intrusive frat boys.

 

¹Which made me feel so very German indeed!

²To which we kindly responded no, then received in return a you’ve-got-to-be-kidding-me doofus stare.  Granted, the tables were few and they were massive, way bigger than necessary for two people; cramming six frat guys with us on our starlit date, though?  Not a chance.

³Exclamation point included only for visual consistency.  Gotta say, I am not excited about those lovely chores.  By the way?  You should worry if I ever wake up on a Monday and say, “Oh goody!  There’s a pile of laundry and a stack of pasta-sauce encrusted dishes waiting just for me!”  

†Check out Merrilee’s post on her 28-Day Writing Marathon.  It’s both fun to read and a great source of motivation!

4 Responses to “Spaten Franziskaner Dunkel-Weiss”

  1. Merrilee Monday / 31 August 09 at 4:54 pm #

    That beer does sound delicious! Glad to hear you had a lovely ‘date’.

    Don’t worry, if you ever get excited about the laundry, I’ll call the men in white coats.

    I had a heap to say about your ‘pressing on’, but ended up with half a blog post. So I might as well make it a whole blog post, which I’ll go write now :)

    Thanks for the mention! :D

  2. J.C Monday / 31 August 09 at 5:38 pm #

    I hope you have a wonderful week, you sound all geared up for one :-)
    Loved reading about the beer (It sounds great!) and your starlit date, even the intrusion – a relaxing weekend followed by a productive week? Fingers crossed ;-)

  3. jenniferneri Sunday / 6 September 09 at 7:40 pm #

    curious to see how this turns out…glad there is another post waiting for me to read :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Drawing water from the well « Not Enough Words - Monday / 31 August 09

    [...] was reading Owl and Sparrow’s blog (the post on beer, actually) and she mentioned something similar.  She said: Lately, I’ve been able to absorb myself into [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

