The Forbidden Journey

27 Sep

I wonder how it feels to have a world you created in your head not only make it into seven books’ worth of print, not only sell a gazillion copies of said books, not only come to life in an eight-part film series, but to see the readers you’ve touched through your ideas actually be able to enter the world itself?

I mean, really – what Harry Potter fan hasn’t wished she could walk through the streets of Hogsmeade and drink butterbeer?  What Harry Potter fan hasn’t wished he could eat Bertie Botts’ Every Flavor Beans, get a magic wand from Ollivander’s, or purchase a Sneakoscope from Zonko’s¹?  Every Harry Potter fan I know, myself included, would love a chance to do these things!  And soon, thanks to Universal Orlando, we’ll be able to.  That’s right – they’re opening a theme park called “Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey.”  Oh yeah, and there are roller coasters, not just Potter-themed stores.  We just have to wait a little while to visit – Spring 2010, according to the article² I read this morning.

Now, from a realistic standpoint, we aspiring authors will not all become the next J.K. Rowling.  However, I think we can all agree: it’s inspiring to think all this started from an idea she had in her head, and continued by her diligence to execute it onto the page.  Years and years of diligence, years of patience, years of determination and love invested in her story world.

When I get stuck, I always get re-inspired when I think of J.K. Rowling.  The thought of affecting the lives of strangers through my ideas is exhilarating, whether it’s the life of one stranger or 10 million.  How rewarding it must be to have extraordinary love for the story world you created, and then see others so excited to love it, too.

On an unrelated, but just as motivating, note – check out Merrilee Faber’s post about finishing her novel!  Talk about patience and diligence – 89,600 handwritten words (notice the picture she posted of her manuscript), what appear to be seven dead pens, and somehow, her hands have not withered to claws, even after fifty-six consecutive days of writing.

¹It occurs to me that this may be the silliest group of words I’ve ever combined in a sentence.  

²Read the full article here.  It’s called “Universal Reveals Details of New Harry Potter Park,” written by Travis Reed, and I came across it on MSN this morning.

5 Responses to “The Forbidden Journey”

  1. Linda Sunday / 27 September 09 at 12:37 pm #

    That’s the motivation for writing fiction, I think, the desire to create a world to share with others. I don’t write fantasy, but I’ve taken great care to created “real” people in “real” places with a “real” stories. It’s a magical feeling.

    • owlandsparrow Tuesday / 29 September 09 at 1:36 pm #

      Yes! No matter what genre, I think it’s so important to create a world people can insert themselves into, get lost inside, and experience it with your characters. It is a magical feeling, you’re so right. I love reading things that transport me, where I’m invested in the characters and the outcome of their stories – hopefully, all my work will succeed in creating something like this of my own.

      What are you writing, currently? Not fantasy, but another sort of fiction? Or, creatively written non-fiction? Or…maybe something else?

      • Linda Tuesday / 29 September 09 at 3:42 pm #

        Well, for today at least, I’m describing my novel as literary women’s fiction. It’s a story wommen will primarily relate to, but it’s serious enough to “crossover.” It’s sort of three stories in one, about two women and one man. The man is the only character in all three parts … a trilogy, of sorts.

  2. maryeburger Tuesday / 29 September 09 at 9:43 am #

    Oh the joy of being a writer! Such a word-infused world we live in, and the struggle to either contain or release our inspiration on a blank page. I think it is hands down the most beautiful process, and at times, the most consuming. Thank you for this post. This is exactly what I needed today.

    MEB

    • owlandsparrow Tuesday / 29 September 09 at 1:39 pm #

      You’re welcome – I’m so glad you found it helpful! Are you working on your writing again these days, or are you still just getting adjusted to Florida life? If so, how’s the writing coming along?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

