Update #3: The Most Boring Title for a Post Ever. (Sorry.)

22 Oct

This week keeps getting better and better.  Day 3 of Oktoberzest proved to be the best of the week, so far.  

Why is it that rain persuades so many people to feel sluggish, tired, and downright procrastinatory, and for me it acts as instant inspiration?  Don’t get me wrong – I’ve indulged in the occasional coffee-on-the-couch-in-pajamas-watching-movies-with-my-cats kind of rainy days.  Usually, though, rainy days boost my creativity like no other.  Yesterday was no exception.

In the time I was able to spend writing – about two hours again – I finished two more scenes, which finished a chapter.  The grand total was 1356 words for the day, which I was more than happy with.  I probably could have done more than that, even, had I not allowed myself to get sucked in to watching Top Model.  We also watched Glee last night, which – (if you haven’t seen it, please get addicted soon) – was hilarious, not to mention well-written.  Loved it.

Anyway, I was pleased to discover a mistake in my calculations, too.  Turns out the day before was actually at 1109 words, not 620.  It was a weird oversight: basically, I was working off a rough draft of a 500-word scene.  I added 620 new words to it, but what I didn’t realize was that I changed most of those original 500.  So, though there were 500 words there to begin with, I changed them and added 620 to them, making 1100ish new words.  (Told you it was weird.)

Well.  Now that we’ve covered addition, inspiration, and weather, it’s time for my Thursday morning coffee date, and my friend is on her way.  After that: more writing!  More scenes!  More awesome danger in which to dangle my little characters!  More exclamation points!

4 Responses to “Update #3: The Most Boring Title for a Post Ever. (Sorry.)”

  1. jenniferneri Thursday / 22 October 09 at 9:40 am #

    I have noticed that due rain and rain and rain since spring (ok, sun every now and then), most of novel that I am writing is taking place during rainy days.

    Congrats on the progress!!

    PS. I like your make shift starbucks!

  2. J.C Thursday / 22 October 09 at 2:24 pm #

    Glee is just coming here lol good to know it’s worth a look at, the adds have been quite catchy for it, so I’ll make a point of seeing what time/day it’s going to be on.
    Yay for miscalculations! The good kind anyway :-)

  3. ohsosqueamish Thursday / 22 October 09 at 3:48 pm #

    Never thought a miscalculation would be a good thing! Glad things are shaping up.
    Hmm, I’ve never heard of Glee. What’s it about?

  4. Merrilee Thursday / 22 October 09 at 4:41 pm #

    Good for you Owl! I think this is a great idea :) Keep it up!

    Oh, and thanks for your kind query on my blog – I’ve been spring cleaning :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

