Good Day, Sunshine

24 Oct

What a week, you guys.

This is the first time in a very long time that I know exactly how I spent my days for an entire week.  It was one of those make-the-most-of-every-moment weeks, one of those wow…I-feel-like-I-did-something-great weeks.

So, this morning, I did what everyone should do when they’ve worked hard: I rested hard.  Well, except my definition of rest is sleeping until 9:00am, putting on my super-cute apron, and whipping up a fluffy batch of lemon-ricotta-buttermilk pancakes for breakfast.  That’s restful, right?  As is enjoying them with my husband over a French press and the last of my cherry-pistachio biscotti.  Okay, I’d better stop, because I’m starting to get hungry again…

Official Update #5 of the Oktoberzest Project is another pleasant one to deliver:  1333 words for yesterday.  That brings my five-day total to 6,183 words added to the manuscript.  I’d say this has been a fruitful project, and it’s definitely helped that you guys have been so encouraging along the way.  A huge thank you to everyone who’s commented and left such kind words for me to find on my writing breaks!!

I know it’s Saturday, but well, I will have a chunk of time this evening to work, so I’m going to extend the Project for (at least) one more day.

On an unrelated note, I leave you to ponder the awesomeness of this little anecdote:

Riding out my you-can-do-it momentum, I tried something new last night: a cycling class at the gym.  I tried to sneak in unnoticed, but unfortunately, that didn’t work out so well.  The instructor, middle-aged Gary who sounds like the Saturday Night Live announcer, said “You must be neeeeew!” and proceeded to single me out for the rest of the class.  Oy.  The awesomeness came in mid-workout, when the newest (ridiculous) Shakira song¹ started to blast through the speakers, and Gary says, “Let me hear all you she-wolves out there hooooooooowl!”  

Some people did howl.  Some of these people were he-wolves.

That is all.  Oh yeah, and I am extremely sore today, due to the pressure I felt to stick out the entire class and actually do well, since Gary kept correcting me and telling me to “Puuuush harderrrrr!” from the front of the room.

¹”There’s a she-wolf in your closet / Open up and set her free / [insert a limp ow-oooooo here!]“…um, you can hear it here if you’ve never heard it.

4 Responses to “Good Day, Sunshine”

  1. J.C Saturday / 24 October 09 at 4:18 pm #

    omg that song IS ridiculous! Every time it comes on I switch the station because it’s one of the ones my four year old would pick up instantly and sing for a month…
    Good on you for going to the spin class! Do you think you’ll go back?

  2. Merrilee Saturday / 24 October 09 at 4:53 pm #

    Hilarious! What is it with exercise instructors? Caricatures of themselves, that’s what they are.

  3. Linda Monday / 26 October 09 at 9:48 am #

    Congratulations on your excellent week! And I admire you for “celebrating” with a cycling class. I’d go for pizza myself, which is why I’m in such horrible shape. :-)

  4. islesam Monday / 26 October 09 at 1:09 pm #

    SPIN CLASS IS THE DEVIL!

    I’ve done it once and have no desire to ever return. EVER EVER EVER EVER.

    But I did have an awesome instructor & we rocked it out to a ton of 90s hits, which was amazing. Did not change the fact that I felt like dying for the next two days. Oi.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

