Monster

28 Oct

Oh, man.

Um…why didn’t you guys warn me not to get absolutely, totally excited about my NaNoWriMo idea?  Oh yeah, and that once I got excited about it, I’d just have to commit, once and for all, because I have zero idea whatsoever how this new story is going to end?

I simply must find out.

In order to find out, I’ve got to start the thing.  And, in order to start this particular project come November 1st, there’s a bit of research involved.  

Ahem, did I say a bit of research?  I think I meant three tons of research.  Never fear, though.  I know (kind of) enough to write the thing right now (I think), to get a story on the page bare-boned.  It’s just that the research will make all the difference between a good story and an excellent one; it will make me a she-nailed-her-facts kind of author instead of a poser-extraordinaire.  And nobody wants to be a poser-extraordinaire.

So, yeah.  The rest of October, I’m going to get as much written on my WIP as possible, along with justenough research as necessary to get going for November.  After November, I’ll return to my WIP, let the NaNo piece simmer in a drawer, and come back to it later.  That’s the plan, anyway.

I am definitely a project-driven kind of girl.  How on earth did it take me so many years to realize that?  So many years spent in day-in/day-out futile jobs, jobs where you could see no progress over time.  Countless checks cashed, countless pitchers of milk steamed, countless chicken sandwiches hurled¹ at customers through the drive-through window.  Countless days waking up earlier than the sun, countless curse words uttered (loudly, in harsh tones) at me when I was the Angel of Bad-Banking-Account News², countless days of wanting — needing — to do something more.

Give me a monster pile of research any day.  I love projects, where results are visible, problems malleable, and an end in sight, no matter how far away it may be.

¹Poetic license?
²Your account probably didn’t get $1,000 in the negative by you being 100% on top of your budget, now did it?  And you really think I’m going to let you take all of your ex-husband’s funds from his account, which you are not on?  For more awesome opinions on working my lovely job at the bank, check out this old post I almost forgot about! (Warning: Sarcasm ahead if you click the link…)

8 Responses to “Monster”

  1. Laura Best Wednesday / 28 October 09 at 4:08 pm #

    Okay. I clicked the link and enjoyed your sarcasm..Hehehe

    • owlandsparrow Friday / 30 October 09 at 3:24 pm #

      Thanks, Laura, haha…it was a fun one to write. Made me feel a lot better, back in the days of awfulness, to write stuff like that, even if the people who needed to hear it never would!

  2. jenniferneri Thursday / 29 October 09 at 6:18 pm #

    Very cute post!!
    I admire anyone who can do the Nanowrite….maybe one day…but how of how can you write a novel in one month??? will you plan on sleeping?
    Amazing!! :)

    • owlandsparrow Friday / 30 October 09 at 3:20 pm #

      Thanks, Jennifer! I hope to sleep, eat, work out, and write…and have a visit to Kansas, as well as to my parents’ house down south…Goodness, I sound crazy. :) These goals will only be met if the word count comes as easily as the first draft of my current book did. When I wrote that, I did about 30k in a month while retaining my sanity and rest, though I wasn’t trying for NaNo. We’ll see how November goes. I’m excited about it, so that’s at least a good start. ;)

  3. kathleenwall Friday / 30 October 09 at 1:17 pm #

    Maybe you can write your NANO book without the research. Just make it up as you go along and fix it later! ;)

    Have fun and keep us posted how it goes.

    • owlandsparrow Friday / 30 October 09 at 3:15 pm #

      That’s totally my plan. I think it will still be coherent and plausible without the research. I guess we’ll find out! :)

  4. islesam Friday / 30 October 09 at 4:08 pm #

    GOOOOOOO NANO!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mr. Cat…Goes to Mars? « Owl and Sparrow - Saturday / 31 October 09

    [...] of you who read my post a few days ago, called “Monster,” now have a much better understanding of why I think this book carries with it the necessity [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

