Six

6 Nov

I’m having the strangest urge to knit something, or wash my hair, or run a few miles, or organize my entire home.

Guess NaNoWriMo is getting to me.  

Fear not.  Rather than ditch my writing, I’ve decided to do the sensible thing (sigh) and just sit down and do it.  There will be plenty of time for knitting later.  Like, in December.

I’m giving myself two hours (though I have more than two hours) and a mini-challenge:  write, write a lot, and write well.  According to my nifty little Excel spreadsheet (which was a nifty little piece of justified procrastination), I am currently behind schedule by 2,617 words.  Can I close the gap by 4:00pm?

Maybe.  Maybe not.  At any rate, I should probably try to keep the gap from getting deeper! 

Anyone else feeling the Day Six Drag?  Do you feel an inexplicable desire to slip on some pajama pants, watch something mindless like the Hannah Montana movie, and whip up your own version of butterbeer?  Do you wish you could go all Hermione Granger on your NaNo project, and with one flick of your wand and an incantation of Manuscripto Write-Yourself-O, get some words to magically appear in your novel?

Oh.  Maybe that’s just me.

NaNoMeter: 7,385 down | 42,615 to go

9 Responses to “Six”

  1. Merrilee Friday / 6 November 09 at 5:06 pm #

    Oh yes, NaNo. I remember this feeling. I usually fell in a heap around 16k words.

    Hang in there!

    • owlandsparrow Monday / 9 November 09 at 5:57 pm #

      Hey, Merrilee! I sent you an email this morning (to the address attached to your WordPress blog)…I’m not sure how often you check it. Let me know if, for some reason, you didn’t get it.

      Have I ever told you how much I love your name? It’s so pretty. Random, but I thought you should know. Happy writing today, and thanks for the encouragement!

      • Merrilee Tuesday / 10 November 09 at 8:21 pm #

        Thanks Owl! I am having a good writing day today – inspiration is stacking up and I am producing snippets in my head, a sure sign that the plotting process is nearing completion.

  2. J.C Friday / 6 November 09 at 6:50 pm #

    I had a day 6 slump! I didn’t write a word… lol and it took me half a day today to even blog about it. Kicking myself back into action today though. I figure at 2k a day I build enough of a bummer to have a day off each week and still hit 50K by the end of the month.
    Good luck with todays writing! Am sure you can put a dent in that word count :-)

    • owlandsparrow Monday / 9 November 09 at 5:59 pm #

      I think about Chasing Ascension often, pretty much ever since you put up the poll for us to help you name it. Seriously – I am really intrigued by your premise, and hope to read it someday! Hopefully that knowledge will help you be encouraged when you hit another slump. :) How’s the writing going this week?

      • J.C Monday / 9 November 09 at 7:34 pm #

        lol it’s been derailed by a curve ball.. I’ll be able to blog about it soon!
        This definitely helps though, I’ll have to get back to the story this afternoon!! Thanks for the encouragement

  3. joyofdawn Saturday / 7 November 09 at 11:03 pm #

    Okay, my slump came on day seven instead. The magic wand would be great right now! I was busy all day but still… I really just didn’t write. Hoping tomorrow is better! Perhaps joy comes with the dawn…

    • owlandsparrow Monday / 9 November 09 at 6:01 pm #

      Hey there! Good to hear from you. It’s refreshing to see I wasn’t alone in feeling a little low after so many days of intense writing. Did you get past your slump? Is your story unfolding the way you hoped, or is it different altogether? Good job on your word count, by the way! :)

      • joyofdawn Saturday / 14 November 09 at 8:02 am #

        It is all the time changing in unexpected ways. I am finding that the time I need to write it is a little limited of late. so I try to use every spare minute but it doesn’t ever seem to be enough. When they sid the second week would be hard, I never realized it could prove to be this hard! Anyway, I finally did figure out a title that I think might work.
        Writing has never been like this for me before. I don’t know where it all comes from. I go to bed come back the next day and it is there waiting for me to type it. I do think that the plot went by too fast. So I’ll probably have to go back and pop in some description! If nothing else it has proved to be fun and now I know that I can write a lot more during a day if I try!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

