Back to Real Life

16 Nov

Never do I feel the wrath of Mondays more than when I have just returned from out of town.  Today is no different.

It’s already 2:35pm today, and I have absolutely nothing to show for it.  I woke up early, with the greatest of intentions.  The plan was to absolutely attack my manuscript, make up for the missed days of writing; to write joyfully, with discipline, fueled by sheer motivation (and coffee).  Instead, I caught up on all things blog- and reality-TV-related.  

The weekend was a great one, though.  Visiting my parents and the ranch where they live is sort of like traveling to another world, where work is just a dream and time is endless.  There are no deadlines; analytical thinking happens pretty much only when you are playing a vicious game of Clue¹.  There are cinnamon rolls and a bottomless pot of coffee (which tastes much better now that my mother has learned that two tablespoons of coffee does not an entire pot make).  

It’s beautiful, too.  There are trees, cows, wide open sky — which was pink when I woke up on Saturday — and the color green in abundance.  My dad and I took a long walk around the ranch in the morning, which was so peaceful.  At night, since there are no lights for miles, you can see a gazillion² stars. 

No wonder when I come back, it always takes a day to re-orient myself to life and writing, no matter how motivated I feel.  I hate the feeling of watching hours go by and having nothing productive to show for it, but I’ve learned not to despair over this.  It happens almost every time — after a day of dazed half-attentiveness, I usually come back strong, roaring and ready to go.  

Wow, the music in this coffee shop is terrible.  (FYI.)

Guess I should try to use today’s last couple of hours wisely, huh?  Sigh.  Probably.  Yes, I should at least try to make myself focus on something.  At least now I have a blog post to show for today.  Hopefully I can add something to that (very short) list.  Happy writing to you all!

¹And we do get vicious.  All six of us play, and we are sneaky listeners, making notes of every single question every single person asks/answers…It’s not your average remember-how-we-played-this-when-we-were-six-years-old? game most people think of when they think of Clue.  Nope – we are much more freakishly detail oriented and competitive.  I won, by the way.

²Give or take a few.  Embarrassing story alert: there are so few lights around, on Saturday night, I was seriously concerned about a bright light blinking on the horizon.  To my relief, I was informed that the light was not, as I feared, aliens; nope, it was just your good ol’ AT&T cell phone tower.  Perhaps I’ve been watching too much V.

7 Responses to “Back to Real Life”

  1. Merrilee Monday / 16 November 09 at 9:37 pm #

    Ha! I know exactly what you mean. You get out of the daily drive and suddenly getting that bathroom spotless is so not important anymore :)

    Sounds like you had a wonderful break. I laughed at the “too much V” comment :)

    • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 18 November 09 at 6:24 pm #

      Hahaha, you would have laughed even harder, I bet, if I’d have gone with my first idea and added “I’ve been thinking too much about Merrilee’s squicky alien sex scenes!” Alas, the letter ‘v’ was a much quicker end to an already-too-long footnote.

      Hope all is well and you’re pushing ahead through the rest of this (difficult) month. December is just around the corner, so hang in there! :)

      • Merrilee Friday / 20 November 09 at 5:46 pm #

        Hanging!

  2. J.C Monday / 16 November 09 at 10:21 pm #

    Glad you had a good weekend away, sounds wonderful!

    • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 18 November 09 at 6:27 pm #

      It was wonderful. I never liked living in such a small town when I was growing up, but now it’s sooooo nice to visit. My parents are super-cute, too.

  3. Linda Tuesday / 17 November 09 at 1:48 pm #

    But just think of what a story you would have had if it HAD been aliens! Hope you’re back in the writing swing soon.

    • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 18 November 09 at 6:29 pm #

      Hahaha, I know, Linda! I laughed out loud when I read your comment. Man, I was so out of it that night, I was truly worried! The next morning, I woke up and thought, um…what was I thinking? (And then, my next thought was, “Well, what was that, if it wasn’t aliens?” hehe)

      Yesterday and today have been MUCH more productive with the writing, and I’m relieved.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

