Whirlwind! (And Pie.)

24 Nov

I should have known better than to expect myself to get any writing done today.  Yesterday was golden, but today?  Today was just as days before long trips always are: a whirlwind of distraction, errands to be run, to-do-list fever.

Yesterday, like I said, went well.  I wrote in three sittings, spread throughout the day.  Some much-needed progress was made, both in plotting and word count.  By the day’s end, I’d completed 2,133 new words¹.

Honestly, I felt particularly victorious with this chunk of words.  I’d been having difficulty figuring out how best to weave the main plot with a couple of subplots, and it finally clicked.  The threads intersected in an organic way that makes total sense; yet again, despite all my planning, my characters surprised me².  Now, the ball has been set in motion for all these brewing conflicts to rear their ugly heads, snarl with a vengeance, and take some painful bites out of my characters.  Then, it will be time for them to figure out how to bandage themselves up and fight back.

So, though I didn’t get any writing done on the novel today, I’m pleased with where I left off.  When we get back from Kansas City, it’ll be time to get my hands dirty once again, and set some serious goals for December.

On that note, Happy Thanksgiving to all of you!  My access to the Internet may be spotty, so I’m not sure how often I’ll get to post this week.  I’ll definitely be back on Monday, though, if not before.  In the meantime, have a great week.  I’m thankful for you all.

PS: The pie in the picture is one I made for my love.  I tried to make a lattice crust, gave up, re-rolled the dough, and came up with something (in my opinion) even more special.  It was so good.  I love pie.

51,710 down | 21,290 to go

¹Still handwritten.  Still enjoying the change.  Hand has not yet withered into an angry ball of bones, so we’re good.  In fact, hand is not even sore.  (Perhaps it would be if I had abused it today, like I did yesterday).

²Though I’m pretty convinced that surprises like this can only happen because of such detailed planning.  I can only swerve confidently away from my original plan since I know my characters so well.

9 Responses to “Whirlwind! (And Pie.)”

  1. J.C Tuesday / 24 November 09 at 10:10 pm #

    That pie looks divine, I am now craving pie… so bad. I wanted to make pie a couple days ago and I think I might have to tonight, though I’ll need icecream to go with it….

    Have an awesome thanksgiving and time away :-)

  2. islesam Wednesday / 25 November 09 at 2:43 pm #

    that pie is so sweet!

  3. Merrilee Wednesday / 25 November 09 at 4:53 pm #

    Lovely pie!

    Well done on the handwriting and the wordcount :D Go you!

  4. cynthia Thursday / 26 November 09 at 3:59 pm #

    Happy Thanksgiving to you! And your pie is beautiful.

  5. owlandsparrow Saturday / 28 November 09 at 5:40 pm #

    Thanks, everyone! It was sooo delicious.

    However: wow. I’ve been bombarded with pie and dessert all weekend. My mother-in-law served a chocolate pie, a pumpkin pie, a pecan pie, oatmeal-chocolate-chip cookies, rice-krispie-chocolate-peanut-butter bars, and krumkake (a traditional cone-shaped Norwegian dessert, which you fill with whipped cream). All at once.

    I only ate two krumkake and did not give in to the other various temptations, so I’m somewhat proud of myself. Love dessert, but not that much dessert, and certainly not after stuffing myself on Thanksgiving dinner.

  6. Laura Best Saturday / 28 November 09 at 5:52 pm #

    Well I guess I’ll add my “The pie looks terrific” because it sure does. Happy belated Thanksgiving!

  7. newtowritinggirl Wednesday / 2 December 09 at 11:40 am #

    The pie looks lovely – such a nice thing to make! It was my man’s birthday last week, I made him a lemon cake, seeing your pic the next thing I make may well be a pie!

    Reading your list of desserts reminded me of how great living in the US was at Thanksgiving. I love desserts. Lots of desserts!

    • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 2 December 09 at 1:15 pm #

      Ooh, lemon cake sounds delicious right now…with some coffee, preferably. Perhaps that will be my next project! My husband would love that…

      Where do you live these days, and how long did you live in the US?

      • newtowritinggirl Thursday / 3 December 09 at 11:12 am #

        The best thing about it was the Lemon Butter icing (Just butter icing with a spoon of lemon curd!!)! If there was any left I’d virtually send it down the web to you :-)

        I’m now living in the Bright Lighted city of London. I was over in the US for a year – it was part of my uni course to spend a year ‘in industry’. I chose a little country club outside Philly. I loved (nearly) ever minute of it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

