8 Dec 09 | Diligent December Update

8 Dec

In my last post, “Numbers,” I wrote “I’ll be back tomorrow!”

And…then, tomorrow came, and with it, life.  Before I knew it, I was on a plane to New Orleans, also known as the-land-where-I-did-not-have-Internet-access-and-even-if-I-did-I-probably-would-not-have-posted-since-I-was-visiting-a-good-friend.

So, I’m sorry to have (gulp) lied about that whole see-you-tomorrow thing, if you even happened to notice it.  I’m not one for empty promises.  (Who is?)

Now that that’s out of the way, it’s time for a Diligent December update!  Between the traveling, the hanging out, and the stomach bug that plagued me on Sunday night (and the subsequent zero hours of sleep that ensued), I’m pleased with what I’ve managed to do on my book.  I wrote on the plane¹ and then I wrote a bit in the airport before the return flight².  I now have 1524 words more than I did before the weekend, and considering these were days included in the “I probably won’t get a chance to write” group of days, I’m pleased.  Still need to get after it today, though, something that may be difficult since I am now completely wrapped up in The Time Traveler’s Wife, which I started reading on the flight home³.

I’m also looking forward to catching up on all of your blog posts — looks like I missed quite a bit while I was away.  Oh!  In addition to Merrilee Faber and Jennifer Neri, Linda Cassidy Lewis and Joy of Dawn have added some Diligent December goals of their own — Linda’s striving to finish the final polish of her novel by the 18th, and Joy of Dawn’s goal is to create a schedule and stick to it so she can get the most out the many things going on in her life, writing included.  Merrilee wrote a post the other day about the specifics of her goals (she has a long list of short stories she’s hoping to tackle), with many Diligent December goal-setters of her own who have posted in her comment section.

With that, I bid you guys zai-jian for today, and I’ll see you ming-tian!†

Diligent December Update:  53,234 down | 16,766 to go | 76.05% finished!

¹Hooray for awesome (quiet) plane buddies who read on their Amazon Kindles the whole time, then offer a well-thought-out opinion of said Kindle, and only speak three sentences to me — one sentence about the Kindle, and the other two being, “What’s your name so I can find your book when you’re famous?” and “I’m going to visit my daughter and my new grand-puppy!”  Nice.

²Yes, after I’d been sick and awake all night.  Needless to say, I did not write very much after that awful night, but I did attempt to write some.  Surprisingly, it wasn’t too bad.  Should have pushed myself to do more.

³Not very far in, yet, so DO. NOT. SPOIL. ANYTHING. for me.  A very emphatic, preemptive thankyouverymuch to you all.  

†(Wow.  Random Mandarin Chinese alert!)

12 Responses to “8 Dec 09 | Diligent December Update”

  1. Merrilee Tuesday / 8 December 09 at 4:02 pm #

    Well done for writing on the run! And put that book down ;)

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 10 December 09 at 8:27 am #

      Thanks – and I haven’t read a word on the book since the plane. It’s hard, but (sigh) I know I need to set it down if I want to meet this goal!

  2. jenniferneri Tuesday / 8 December 09 at 6:52 pm #

    ooh I love it when I get in some unexpected writing! such a nice gift!

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 10 December 09 at 8:28 am #

      Me, too! I fully expected to be too distracted, or too excited, or too anxious about flying, to actually concentrate. It was nice to have focus, just-enough excitement, and no fear. Good flight. :)

  3. joyofdawn Wednesday / 9 December 09 at 8:42 am #

    Never been on a plane before. The thought of my feet being so far off the ground is scarry! :)
    Great job on writing! It is so cool to write when I think that the time isn’t going to be there!
    I read the other day that part of being a good writer is reading lots of booka and writing everyday. So keep reading but be warned. It can be hard to keep ones mind on a story while reading a book. That just makes it all more exciting for me! :)

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 10 December 09 at 8:33 am #

      Wow, really? Planes aren’t so bad, although sometimes I get anxious about flying despite loads of information that says it’s the safest way to travel.

      Thanks for the encouragement. I’ve heard that, too, about reading being essential to the writing life, and I agree…however, with a self-imposed deadline hanging over my head, I’m trying to make sure I get my work done first before I even think of picking up the book. Once I finish the draft, I’ll take a short break before I work on it again. Then, perhaps, I’ll devour that novel. A little added motivation, I guess! :)

      How’s it going with making, and sticking, to your schedule?

  4. newtowritinggirl Wednesday / 9 December 09 at 11:19 am #

    Don’t be hard on yourself for not writing when you were ill – I had a stomach bug last month so feel your pain – and I wasn’t able to do ANY! Mine turned up during NaNo which was nice!!!

    I really love that book = I cried so much – it’s great! Enjoy it!

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 10 December 09 at 8:38 am #

      Thanks, that’s a good reminder. I’m just so used to being a really productive person, when I take a day or two off from it, it throws me off and I start feeling lazy! Rest does not equal laziness, though, not if taken when needed and at regular intervals! Ooh, man, your sickness hit during NaNo? How terrible, you must have been really frustrated. :-/

  5. Linda Wednesday / 9 December 09 at 2:55 pm #

    Well, I was just saying that it looks like there’s no way I’ll have time to reach my goal, but maybe I’ll get in some unexpected editing! :-) I wish you more words than you expect.

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 10 December 09 at 8:42 am #

      Time passes so quickly, doesn’t it?! I hope you get some unexpected time, too, before the 18th rolls around and the holidays are blazing toward us. Things have been so busy around here, we haven’t even set up our Christmas tree, or hung stockings, yet. That’s what this Sunday morning is for…mocha lattes in penguin mugs, Christmas music, sweet husbands (and feisty-Christmas-tree-attacking-cats), and decorating! :)

  6. Alexis Grant Wednesday / 9 December 09 at 10:00 pm #

    Good for you — That’s progress. I’m flying tomorrow, too, and hoping to get some writing done on the plane.

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 10 December 09 at 8:43 am #

      Hey, Alexis, thanks for stopping by before your trip! Hope you were able to get some work done on your memoir – you’re aiming for the end of December to get the first edit done, yes?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

