Scarves, Shoes, and Other Good News

11 Dec

  After a lackluster start to this week, I must say, it’s ending on a high note.  And, might I add, not one of those wow-that-is-such-a-high-note-that-it’s-gonna-crack-the-glass sort of high notes.  The good kind.

Aside from the excitement I feel about the new things pictured here — this pair of on-sale Nine West cuteness, a dangly-yet-simple-and-classy gold(ish) necklace, and a scarf I crocheted in my most favorite color — there is a whole blizzard of cool things going on.  For one, I get to wear all this stuff this weekend, to a wedding.  Another?  The bride opted to pay me on the high end of my price range for playing the piano for her ceremony — a timely bonus.  Yet another?  My completely incredible husband, who works so hard, all day every day, has finally been rewarded for his integrity.  His bosses gave him a stellar review along with a 12% salary increase.  Also timely.

Still more good news: Diligent December is finally, um, diligent.  In the past two days, I’ve nearly caught up to where I should be, despite not writing a word for three out of the past eight days.  Not only is my word count up, but I’m feeling involved in the emotional aspects of the story, enrapt, and am confident that the quality is there, too.  The scenes I wrote this morning were intense, emotional, important.  They’re the beginning of what I’ve been building up to this entire time.  Just as I was completely satisfied with the Glee winter finale, it’s nice to see loose ends begin to wrap up, lies get exposed, drama unfold.  Consequences.  

On top of all that, it is cloudy and cold and I love it.

In honor of the Glee finale, and in hopes that December stays awesome, here’s a link to a fantastic rendition of “Don’t Rain on My Parade,” as performed by Lea Michele in this week’s episode.  So.  Very.  Good.

Thanks for all your support in this process, you guys.  I can’t tell you enough how grateful I am to have connected with you all.  

Diligent December Update: 56,829 down | 13,171 to go | 81.18% finished!

14 Responses to “Scarves, Shoes, and Other Good News”

  1. islesam Friday / 11 December 09 at 3:56 pm #

    This post is of no importance other than to say OH MY GOODNESS I LOVE YOUR SHOES.

    • owlandsparrow Sunday / 13 December 09 at 8:27 am #

      Hahaha, thank you!! Never mind the fact that I’m already almost 5’10″ before the heels – they were too cute (and too on-sale) to pass up.

      • islesam Monday / 14 December 09 at 1:15 pm #

        Really? TALL WOMAN! I’m 5’5 & grateful. Everyone in my family is taller than me :(

  2. Laura Best Friday / 11 December 09 at 8:17 pm #

    You sound in high spirits….How wonderful to have so many good things to be thankful for…

    • owlandsparrow Sunday / 13 December 09 at 8:31 am #

      I have been in high spirits and am very thankful! So many encouraging things popped up all at once. It’s nice to have happened around the holidays, too – makes for an even Merrier Christmas (season)! :)

  3. Kathleen Wall Saturday / 12 December 09 at 3:14 pm #

    Good for you for making such excellent writing progress when you are so busy in other areas of your life. When do you find time to crochet? Love your scarf!

    • owlandsparrow Sunday / 13 December 09 at 8:38 am #

      Thanks, Kathleen! I’m really glad I set these December goals – they’re turning out to be just right in the midst of business. I’ve missed a couple of days here or there, but when I’ve written, it’s been quality and substantial. It feels good to see actual progress being made, and I’m getting to a really exciting part of the plot, so that’s fun, too!

      Thanks for the compliment on my scarf! I’m thinking about putting it up for sale (or one like it) on my Etsy site (which is poorly maintained due to a much heavier focus on writing). As for the crocheting…that was my “Whee! Two-Ten-Hour-Car-Drives” Project. We drove from Dallas to Kansas City over Thanksgiving weekend, and what was normally an 8-hour drive turned into a 10-hour one due to traffic and other setbacks. I finished two whole scarves and started another one (and could have probably made more if I’d brought more yarn).

  4. joyofdawn Saturday / 12 December 09 at 5:24 pm #

    Way to go! Thumbs-up

    • owlandsparrow Sunday / 13 December 09 at 8:41 am #

      Thanks, friend! How’s everything for you?

      • joyofdawn Monday / 14 December 09 at 9:07 am #

        Fine here! Not the best that I could be doing but fair. Hoping that my story decides to take off on it’s own! :)
        The schedule really did help out. I’m not following it to a T but it sure helped me remember what I needed to get done in a day! Diligent December is coming along great!

  5. Kathleen Wall Saturday / 12 December 09 at 10:41 pm #

    BTW, I figured out how to do a blogroll, so I added your blog to mine.

    • owlandsparrow Sunday / 13 December 09 at 8:44 am #

      Hey, thanks, Kathleen! I believe I’ll add you, too. :)

      I checked out your blogroll, and – hehe – I like my spot between Nathan Bransford and Query Shark! I know it’s alphabetical, but I got a kick out of it!

      • Kathleen Wall Sunday / 13 December 09 at 4:49 pm #

        Yes, that’s not bad company! LOL.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 15 Dec 09 | Diligent December Update « Owl and Sparrow - Tuesday / 15 December 09

    [...] a stellar Friday, the weekend was, in a word, bleak.  Okay, I exaggerate.  The weekend itself was pretty good; [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

