15 Dec 09 | Diligent December Update

15 Dec

Between receiving LOST: Season Five from the blessed UPS lady’s hands and the fact that I wrote almost 3,000 words today (2,915 to be exact), this Tuesday has rocked pretty hard.  

After a stellar Friday, the weekend was, in a word, bleak.  Okay, I exaggerate.  The weekend itself was pretty good; only the word count was bleak.  Three days of zero words in a row?  Not pretty.  At all.  Unless you’re particularly fond of zeroes, and also fond of no progress made whatsoever.

But!  This morning, I woke up with determination, I woke up with zeal, I woke up with…well, you get the picture.  I woke up.  In haste, I tied my unruly curls behind my head, threw on some clothes, purchased my latte (With a gift card!  Bonus!), and returned home to settle in for some serious work.

I accomplished way more than expected in the most unusual of settings: I sat in semi-darkness on my couch, beside our so-not-yet-decorated-it-isn’t-even-funny Christmas tree¹, with a lap desk, a pen, and an almost-full lime green Moleskine notebook.  To answer the question you didn’t ask, why, yes!  I am still writing by hand, still loving it.

Speaking of writing by hand, here’s something fun…I ran across these last time we went for a visit at my parents’ house.  Twenty years of writing, and it all began with this.  Take a look at the ridiculous stuff my six-year-old, second-grade self created (complete with some unique illustrations)(click to enlarge):

“The scariest monster I ever saw was Frankenstein.  He had fourteen eyes!  He had a pumpkin head.  It was black, purple, green, pink, and orange!  He had a screw in his neck.  His clothes were black.  And he had slime hair!  And he lived in a mummy case!  He flew a nasty old kite.  He had twenty feet!  And forty arms!  The End…(His Kite)” – October 25, 1989

- and -

“‘A Halloween Ghost’ – There was a ghost that lived in a haunted house.  His name was Kooky!  He kooked alott [sic].  And he scared peppole [sic] too.  He wasn’t terrible.  He was silly.  The End.” – October 18, 1989

Diligent December Update: 59,744 down | 10,256 to go | 85.35% done!

¹Perhaps I should make the Christmas tree its own post altogether.  Long story short, we are trying to train certain feline cohabitants that the tree is not, in fact, their new cat food, nor is it a bed.

4 Responses to “15 Dec 09 | Diligent December Update”

  1. Laura Best Wednesday / 16 December 09 at 6:00 am #

    How fortunate to have theses little gems!!! You will appreciate them even more as the years go by…

    I couldn’t help but notice the date, Oct 25, 1989…twenty years to the day of my first book launch…Just thought it was curious…

    • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 16 December 09 at 8:10 am #

      Wow! That’s pretty cool, Laura!

      Yes, I was quite excited to discover the notebook – my parents moved recently and unearthed it when they packed everything up. It’s kinda funny how certain smells can take you back in time; when I saw the ‘Halloween ghost’ drawing, I still remembered the neon crayons I used, and how they didn’t smell right to me. I also remember being so stinking proud of that drawing (and the one with slime hair/pumpkin head)…ha…hahaha!

  2. joyofdawn Wednesday / 16 December 09 at 8:59 am #

    My first story was about a ghost! I’m not sure where that notebook got to but I remember it quite well. That was second grade the first time around.
    I love looking over old stories!

  3. Kathleen Wall Friday / 18 December 09 at 8:46 am #

    I think you showed definite writing talent, even at six. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

