Can She Do It?

22 Dec

Probably not, if she keeps playing with adorable pictures of Mr. Cat wearing Christmas bows.  However, that’s not the plan for the day.  The plan for the day?  To finish.

Hopefully.

Due to various bouts of sickishness, three weekends full of plans (two vacations and one wedding gig), and the realistic expectation that going to visit my parents for Christmas will be — as usual — like taking a brief trip to another planet on which all we do is eat, play games, and have Lost marathons, it all comes down to today.

And today, my friends, is daunting.  

The good news is that my average word count, on the days I’ve gotten to write, is about 1,500, with the past four days averaging around the 2,000 mark.  Then, there’s the…let’s call it other news, shall we? (Not bad.  Just other.)  That news?  In order to meet my Diligent December goal, I still need to write 5,121 words.  Today¹.  

It’s still early, though, and I wrote about 600 before the sun poked its shiny little face above the cloudy horizon, so I’m encouraged!  I also have a pretty good idea of what I want to write, it’s just the whole getting it on paper in the right way that may be challenging.  Also challenging?  The sheer number of words.  

It can be done, though, and I hope it will be done.

Thanks for all your encouragement, you guys!  It’s super valuable to me as I go through this process, and my writing is better because of you all.  I’ll try to be back with a status post later today or tomorrow with the results of my mini-marathon² today!

Okay.  Time for another coffee.

Diligent December Update: 64,879 down | 5,121 to go | 92.68% finished!


¹Technically, I need to write them by Christmas Eve, but hey, even the most diligent among us would have a hard time resisting the pull of Planet Let’s-Watch-Lost-And-Eat-And-Play-Games-And-Oh-Yeah-Christmas-Too.  So realistically?  Today.

²By the way: I am a member of the slow-and-steady-daily-goals camp, as opposed to the write-as-much-as-you-can-every-now-and-then camp.  However, I am also a citizen of Meet-Your-Goals Land and despite my best efforts, I need to take a brief voyage to the other side of the lake (via canoe), sit by the fire of write-as-much-as-you-can, and then do a little tribal celebration dance³ when I reach the end via their foreign methods.

³Oy vey.  Better go while I’m still ahead.

News flash!  This just in!  Extra bonus update so I don’t leave you all in suspense until the next time I get to post…since I’m not sure when that will be: I didn’t finish today, but I’m okay with that for several reasons, which I shall now list for you!  

One: I cut my “need to write” words from 5,706 to 2,093, which means I wrote 3,613 today – I’m pleased with that, for sure.  

Two:  those 3K+ words were quality, and I’m excited about them.  

Three: I stopped right after major drama and right before even bigger drama.  Didn’t want to rush through my ending just for the sake of finishing a goal.  Quality trumps speed, in this case.

Four: Um, two words: present wrapping.  I did a lot of it tonight, plus packing, plus kitty control.

Five: Though I have just over 2K to my goal, I think the book will run longer.  Therefore, I’m putting writing on hold for the holiday, will resume on Monday, and plan to finish by New Year’s Eve.

In case I don’t get to say it before then, Merry Christmas, everyone!  Thanks for your sweet comments and support, and I’m sorry I haven’t been able to respond well yet.  They encouraged me greatly today, so thank you!

8 Responses to “Can She Do It?”

  1. islesam Tuesday / 22 December 09 at 1:04 pm #

    KAYLA I AM SO EXCITED FOR YOU! GO KAYLA GO! GO KAYLA GO! GO GO GO GO!

    During Nano I was a memeber of the write-as-much-as-you-can group because I needed a break from my frantic I-aboslutely-must-finish-no-matter-what campgrounds. It’s intense, but very feasible.

    I’ll mail you an icepack for your hand :p NOW GO GO GO!

  2. islesam Tuesday / 22 December 09 at 1:08 pm #

    OH! I also wanted to let you know how much you truly inspire me throughout this whole process. I’m so glad you stumbled across my little slice of interwebs! I have now been doing my 100 Word exercises via hand & pencil in a notebook at work, and I transfer them onto the computer at completion. I LOVE IT. I feel so much more connected to the scene I’m in by doing so. It’s incredible. Anyway.

    GO WRITE!

  3. J.C Tuesday / 22 December 09 at 3:06 pm #

    Good luck for today, I really hope you meet your goal! Can be so hard over the silly season to stay on track, getting it all out of the way first is a great idea!
    You’re truly inspirational :-)

  4. owlandsparrow Wednesday / 23 December 09 at 12:32 am #

    What’s up, everyone – in case you don’t happen to notice it, I posted my update at the end of this post, instead of in a whole new one (mainly because it’s after midnight and I’ve been a bit busy today…and we’re leaving dark and early for our road trip to my parents’ house!) I say it above, but I’ll say it again here – thank you all for your support, and I appreciate each one of you!! :)

  5. newtowritinggirl Wednesday / 23 December 09 at 4:23 am #

    Well done on getting that far. 3k QUALITY words is excellent.

    Merry Christmas to you too :-)

  6. joyofdawn Wednesday / 23 December 09 at 11:40 am #

    Merry Christmas! Ur doing great!

  7. Laura Best Sunday / 27 December 09 at 9:02 am #

    It all sounds good…I know you’ll get there!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 111.43% « Owl and Sparrow - Thursday / 31 December 09

    [...] Therefore, It’s Important Not To Rush.  The last day I posted (22 Dec 09), I was so incredibly tempted to FINISH, since I was only 2100 words away from my goal (even though [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

