Thwarted

22 Jan

Something awful put me out of commission for two days, thwarting my plans for all things edit-related (and even, somewhat, all things plain-old-fiction-reading- and reality-TV-watching-related).  I’m feeling a bit better this morning, so I’m going to try this again.

So.

Here’s hoping that after two days of absolutely justified rest, my mind is actually ready to dive back in — because I so want to keep reading, keep analyzing, keep making colorful notes.  I still hope to meet my self-imposed deadline (one week from today), but it was a bit ambitious to begin with.  Now that I’ve lost two working days, the deadline might need to get pushed back just a bit.  I’ll make that decision next week, though, and only if I have to.

And now, with my paper Starbucks cup filled, not with a latte, but with still-steaming Earl Grey tea, I toast: here’s to diligent work, to diligent rest, and to the ability to decide when to do which one.

Revision Update, Phase One | 40 pages down, 296 to go

PS: You can check out all the updates for Project: Edit, and other projects, on the “Challenges!” page in the sidebar out to the right.
9 Responses to “Thwarted”

  1. cherilaser Friday / 22 January 10 at 9:59 am #

    Amen!

    Cheri

    • owlandsparrow Saturday / 23 January 10 at 11:34 am #

      Hey there, Cheri, and welcome! I checked out your blog briefly, but haven’t gotten a chance to read much, though I plan to later today. Looks good, from the little I’ve seen. :)

  2. islesam Friday / 22 January 10 at 1:07 pm #

    What, you can’t plow through the edits while puking your guts up? Kayla, I don’t believe you have the guts (eh? eh?) to do this. Tsk, tsk.

    I’m glad to hear you are back in action :) Welcome back to the world of the living!! Lofty goals aren’t bad at all. Kudos to you if you can keep it. My self-imposed goals often fall flat. I read something somewhere once that said we all become so accustomed to failing at things, that we lose the ability to actually be disappointed in ourselves – thus, self-imposed deadlies are more difficult to keep. Crazy, right? Right now, mine is on hold… but I have so much to ADD, that I should really just reread, move around, and start the rewriting process. Frankly, I’ll probably end up doing what you did, and scratch just about the entire thing and start over. That terrifies me, because I no longer have NaNoWriMo to keep me going!!

    Once we move, though, I’m hoping for more quiet to push me along. I’m even foregoing TV to help keep me on track. & my bills cheaper. Whatevs.

    Anyway. I’ve basically written a novel in your comments. So… bye :)

    • owlandsparrow Saturday / 23 January 10 at 11:43 am #

      I like novel-comments. ;) I’m glad to be back in action, haha. I got a lot done yesterday, and it felt sooo good. That’s so interesting, about the self-imposed goals, but it makes sense.

      Oh, girl, don’t be terrified! You’ll just be improving it, and you’ve already come so far I can’t see you ditching the thing. (Besides, I’ll be around to ask you how it’s going, haha). I’ve never participated in one, but Merrilee has run/participated in something called NPI that helps writers create goals for themselves and hold themselves accountable to them. (Is that a good description, Merrilee? Do you know of any coming up in the near future?)

      PS: Here’s a link to an old post Merrilee has about her last NPI, with relevant basic information.

      • Merrilee Tuesday / 26 January 10 at 7:08 pm #

        That’s a good description Kayla :) I think Nick (http://5-rings.com/blog/) is running another one soon.

        They are good because they force you to sit your butt down in the chair every day. That’s the hardest part. Once you’re there, producing words is easy :)

      • Merrilee Tuesday / 26 January 10 at 7:09 pm #

        And just to add, if Nick doesn’t run another one soon, I will.

      • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 27 January 10 at 4:24 pm #

        Awesome, thanks for the details, Merrilee!

  3. Merrilee Friday / 22 January 10 at 4:47 pm #

    I can sympathise :) Hang in there!

    • owlandsparrow Saturday / 23 January 10 at 11:45 am #

      Thanks!

      Do you have any thoughts on my comment conversation with Melissa? (In case you missed it, I mentioned NPI as a source of accountability/challenge, and you know way more about it than I do).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

