Tea Stains and Deadlines

27 Jan

So: if you are reading this post, it means that the people who live in the apartment directly above my head have not, in fact, managed to fall through my roof/their floor.  For the past, oh, I don’t know — hour, perhaps? — there have been knocking noises of varying intensity and speed, intermittently sprinkled with heavy thuds and galumph-galumph-galumphs that make me fear for my ceiling, myself, and my cats.

Obviously, this is just the best environment ever for reading and editing a novel!  I’m about two galumphs away from relocating to a much happier place (i.e. Starbucks).  Speaking of that happier place, I haven’t had coffee in over a week, since before my unfortunate date with feeling horrible.  I know, right?  Weird for me, the Latte Queen.  Side note: I’ve replaced lattes, temporarily, with tea.  I used to think my coffee mugs were just special, magical sorts of coffee mugs, impervious to those annoying little brown rings that appear and don’t like to come off.  Now that I’m tea-ing instead of coffee-ing, I’m discovering that this is most certainly not the case.  My sweet ceramic vessels are merely ordinary, vulnerable, non-super-powered mugs, susceptible to vile, stubborn stains.

(Seriously, what are those people doing above me?)

Project: Edit is coming along well enough, though not as speedily as I had hoped.  When I set my deadline for Phase One, I allotted two weeks, thinking, “Wow — This is a big challenge!  I love big challenges.  I can do this, but I’ll have to work really stinkin’ hard.”  Unfortunately, I am (like the coffee mugs) susceptible to falling short of my own expectations, especially when random sickness strikes.  If I had to give myself an arbitrary number that reflects my productivity level this week, I’d say I’ve been at a 6.2 on the scale of 1 to 10.  Friday will be here soon, and I’m only (almost) a third of the way through the draft.  

Therefore, I’m officially going to tweak the deadline by a week.  If I can up my productivity level to at least an 8 (more like a 9.4)(what does that even mean?), I can most likely finish Phase One by Friday, the 5th of February.

Wow.  Just as I’m about to leave for Starbucks, the banging overhead has finally stopped.  Our ceiling is still in tact, and Mr. Cat is curled up on an electric blanket, safe and sound (and snoring).

Happy writing to you all!

Revision Update, Phase One | 104 pages down, 231 to go | 30.9% finished!

14 Responses to “Tea Stains and Deadlines”

  1. J.C Wednesday / 27 January 10 at 5:24 pm #

    Good luck! Hope the shift to starbucks brings much productivity.

    On a not about ugly brown stains in mugs, scrub with salt. Recently I learned that this gets rid of everything! My mum had come around and refused to drink from my cups without first scrubbing them with salt ;-)

    • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 3 February 10 at 8:11 pm #

      Wow, it’s been so long, can’t believe I’m just now responding…so sorry!!

      Thanks SO MUCH for the tip about salt! It totally works. I tried it a little bit but, meh, I haven’t devoted much time to cleaning all the mugs yet…another project for another day, I suppose… :)

      • J.C Thursday / 4 February 10 at 5:36 pm #

        haha I’m really pleased that so many people learned about the salt! no excuse for having brown marks in mugs anymore ;-)

  2. Laura Best Thursday / 28 January 10 at 7:11 am #

    It’s great to read about your progress and I like the fact that you don’t beat yourself up when you don’t accomplish what you’d like to in a specific. There are many challenges out there that sometimes gets in the way of what we’d like to do. That’s something that is likely not to change. Keep at it! Sounds as though you’re doing great!

    • Laura Best Sunday / 31 January 10 at 5:27 pm #

      Hi Kayla, Just wanted to let you know there is something over at my blog for you!!

    • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 3 February 10 at 8:16 pm #

      Thanks, Laura! I’ve been trying hard to put this not-feeling-guilty attitude into practice…and trying not to swing too far toward lazy while I’m at it. So many distractions have popped up lately, but along with those distractions I’ve gotten to have lots of good conversations with friends (something that had been scarce for a while, as I holed up every day to write/read/get over sickness).

      Thanks again for the encouragement, and the sweet award. :)

  3. Kathleen Wall Thursday / 28 January 10 at 1:42 pm #

    Ugh! I am so with you on the sickness thing. I told my daughter yesterday to PLEASE not bring any more germs home from kindergarten. She informed me that she just couldn’t help it. LOL. Sickness has set my schedule back too. I hope you’re feeling better soon.
    J.C.–thanks for the tip about salt! Now I know there is hope for my mugs.

    • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 3 February 10 at 8:17 pm #

      I’ve been feeling much better lately, thank you! Still not completely at 100%, but light years better than I was. I hope you are doing well, too…that’s so cute, what your daughter said about not bringing home germs! :)

  4. Rowenna Friday / 29 January 10 at 8:53 am #

    I hear you–I think I have a hippopotamus next door who enjoys frolicking up and down the stairs.

    Good idea about the salt–I’ve also heard that a rubdown with a lemon slice will work wonders.

    Thanks for posting about your revision process–it’s so fun to see how other writers work. I was a print-and-revise, add to draft, rinse, repeat on my first project. Now I’m knee-deep in the second project and wondering if I’ll follow the same process or something entirely new…thanks for sharing your insights! And I hope the pachyderms above you keep it down to a dull roar.

    • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 3 February 10 at 8:23 pm #

      Fortunately, our resident hippo has either lost some weight or become immobile as of late – it’s been lovely the last few days!

      I love seeing how other people work, too – when I feel like I’m talking too much about my writing process, it helps to remember that there may be people out there who are actually interested, just like I love reading about other people’s thoughts. It’s fascinating to me that people write/edit in many different ways; what works for one person may not work for the next. So: all that to say, you’re welcome! :) Thank you for being encouraging!

  5. Megs - Scattered Bits Saturday / 30 January 10 at 9:35 pm #

    Sadly, I haven’t even gotten reSTARTED on project: edits. My deadline is going to be loooooooong. Still crazy busy. Barely have time to write or get on the computer. Sorry for being out of it, but eventually I’ll have time to catch up. :peers anxiously into misty, hectic signs of the future: yeah…

    • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 3 February 10 at 8:27 pm #

      So, it’s taken me so long to reply (oops!) that I know you’ve started by now – good for you for starting, though it’s daunting! :) I like your new “Status” page, by the way. Nice and organized!

      Eh, I feel out of it myself. Dang sickness took me out; now that I’m feeling better, I’m distracted by Lost and having some much-needed hang-out time with some friends (sometimes at the same time: currently getting a friend hooked on Season One of the show – we’ve watched more episodes in one week than I care to admit).

  6. joyofdawn Sunday / 31 January 10 at 3:24 pm #

    Just love upstairs noises! :) Here at home we don’t have that problem but at the antique shop is a different story.
    Keep plugging along! I’m sure you can do it!
    My own project is larger then I expected but it is coming along. Still hopes for the end of February. Can’t beleive it is the end of January already!

    P.S. Thanks for the salt water tip. Maybe some of my parents mugs can come clean! :)

    • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 3 February 10 at 8:29 pm #

      Hey, there! Good to see you again on here. :) Time is flying by, you’re so right. ! Glad to hear your project is coming along – things always turn out more complicated and huge than I expect, so I totally identify. Keep at it, can’t wait to hear more.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

