Prolific Blogger Award

31 Jan

After a relaxing (read: lazy) Sunday spent in the cozy comfort of my living room reading Jen Lancaster’s Bright Lights, Big Ass; after selecting a celebrity photo for doppelganger week on Facebook¹; after watching The Matrix (for the first time ever) — I checked my blog and found the sweetest little thing waiting for me!

Laura Best, author of Bitter, Sweet, is one of the first blog-friends I met when I started this blog way back when.  She’s always über-encouraging, and it’s been amazing to watch her go from revising her almost-published novel to someone who does book signings and receives free hot chocolate from fans.  Anyway, she received a Prolific Blogger Award and has passed it on to me, along with six other awesome bloggers (including three blogs I frequent — Jennifer Neri, Linda Cassidy Lewis, and NewToWritingGirl).  Thank you for your sweet words, Laura!  This was a fun surprise.

Soooo…you guys know what that means, right? 

I love surprises, especially when I get to be the one doing the surprising.  Part of the Prolific Blogger Award means the recipient gets to pass it on.  I really like the idea of this, because I love being a little match-maker; it’s fun introducing friends who may not know each other.  So — make your little Owl and Sparrow friend happy, and check out the blogs mentioned earlier, as well as the ones I list here.  Hopefully, they’ll be as inspiring to you as they are to me.

In no particular order, here are the seven recipients I’ve chosen:

Melissa @ Blame the Weatherman 

Megs Payne @ Scattered Bits

Merrilee Faber @ Not Enough Words

J. C. Hart 

Cynthia Newberry Martin

Christine Fonseca

Alexis Grant

And…with that, I will now be retreating back to reading Jen Lancaster, protecting my water glass from Dexter the Kitty (who seems to think drinking my water while getting his head stuck is a consistently fine idea), and wondering what the heck is going to happen on the season premier of Lost this Tuesday night.  If, somehow, you happen to know?  Do not spoil it for me because  I WILL jump through this computer and go all Smoke Monster (circa the episode where it destroys Keamy and his posse of freighter-bullies) on you.

Oh, yeah, and if you’re a recipient of the award, read footnote #3.

¹Evangeline Lilly from Lost, in case you’re curious.²

²Wishful thinking.

³Prolific Blogger Award Rules | ONE: Every winner is expected to pass on this award to at least seven other deserving prolific bloggers. | TWO: Each Prolific Blogger is asked to link to the blog from which he/she has received this award. | THREE: Every Prolific Blogger is asked to link back to this post, which explains the origins of the award. | FOUR: Every Prolific Blogger is asked to visit the post listed in rule #3 and add his/her name to the “Mr. Linky” at the bottom.

16 Responses to “Prolific Blogger Award”

  1. Alexis Grant Sunday / 31 January 10 at 9:10 pm #

    You’re so sweet! Thanks! And I have to say, this post made me want to put away my writing and spend the rest of the evening reading… I may do just that :)

    • owlandsparrow Sunday / 7 February 10 at 11:17 am #

      You’re so welcome, Alexis! I really enjoy reading your blog posts, and you always have great links; plus, you’re the only memoir-writer I know, so it’s fun to read about that process. :) What are you reading right now (when you’re not editing, that is)?

  2. J.C Sunday / 31 January 10 at 9:33 pm #

    aw thank you! what a lovely surprise! and now I have something to post about tomorrow, which gives me the evening to come up with my list….

    • owlandsparrow Sunday / 7 February 10 at 11:21 am #

      You’re welcome, JC! I’ve been meaning to check out the people you gave the award to, too, but I haven’t really been on top of things this week like I wanted to be. I hope you’ve had a great week – thanks for adding me to your blogroll, by the way! :)

  3. Merrilee Sunday / 31 January 10 at 10:09 pm #

    Thank you Kayla for the kind thought :) Not that I need MORE blogs to read…but I will visit and say hello :)

    • owlandsparrow Sunday / 7 February 10 at 11:22 am #

      Hehe, you’re welcome, Merrilee! Apparently I wasn’t the only one who thought you were deserving – congratulations! :) I’m looking forward to reading your latest post, I just saw you’d written a new one and it looks like a good read. Hope all is well!

  4. cynthia Monday / 1 February 10 at 6:02 pm #

    Thank you, Kayla! I appreciate it.

    • owlandsparrow Sunday / 7 February 10 at 11:25 am #

      You’re welcome, Cynthia! I still haven’t read part 5 of your series – I wanted to save it for a day when I’d get a chance to read it and really think about it. Hopefully that day will be today!!! :)

  5. islesam Monday / 1 February 10 at 8:10 pm #

    OOO! I feel special!

    I would repeat, but I don’t know 7 other bloggers/writers. Apparently, I’m slacking in the community. Bad llama.

    • owlandsparrow Sunday / 7 February 10 at 11:26 am #

      Well, part of the fun is that now more people know about you! :) How is all the crazybusyaweseomeness of life going these days?

  6. Megs - Scattered Bits Monday / 1 February 10 at 8:19 pm #

    Oh my goodness! You didn’t! You did! I can barely believe it!

    :breathing: :taking deep, deep breath:

    Wow. Thank you and you’re amazingness and you so beyond deserved the award and now I’ve got to do all those requirements! Wow. Expect better, less shocked response tomorrow.

    Wow.

    • owlandsparrow Sunday / 7 February 10 at 11:28 am #

      I did! I did! ;)

      You deserve it, friend – sorry to add more to your to-do list, but, well, I figured you’d rather have a fun award w/a brief to-do than no award at all! :) Yay!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Prolific Blogger Award! « J. C. Hart - Monday / 1 February 10

    [...] 2, 2010 by J.C I got a lovely surprise yesterday when Kayla left me a comment, letting me know that she’d named me on her list of 7. Thank you! Was a [...]

  2. Winning awards and entering contests « Not Enough Words - Monday / 1 February 10

    [...] the last two days, three very nice people gave me the Prolific Blogger Award.  Thanks Kayla, J.C. Hart and NewtoWritingGirl for your kind thoughts.  (Either that, or there are three people [...]

  3. Awards, waiting, and other scream-worthy things. « CHRISTINE FONSECA, AUTHOR - Wednesday / 3 February 10

    [...] the weekend I received a cool award from two terrific fellow writers, NewToWritingGirl and OwlandSparrow (be sure to check out their blogs…very nice.  They both managed to give me the Prolific [...]

  4. She sings! | Not Enough Words - Tuesday / 8 June 10

    [...] Posted on June 9, 2010 by Merrilee Kayla over at Owl and Sparrow has a surprise for all the workshop participants.  As part of her second week of stories, which [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

