Prioritizing, Yo.

26 Feb

All my notes are typed, sorted, and printed.

All of my hard work?  Is totally paying off so far.  Earlier in the week, I mentioned how tedious last week’s work was, what with all the data entry and whatnot; now, I’m totally glad I took the time to do it.

I’m still not at the start-to-actually-change-things point in my editing, but that’s okay.  Right now, I’m sorting through all of my thoughts, scene by scene, evaluating the magnitude of work required for each.  

Time for a game.  Guess what I did?

A.  Bought a hot pink magic wand¹ and straightened my hair, which made me feel pretty, which gave me confidence, which reinforced that not only CAN I write this novel, but I WILL write it, and well.

B.  Spoke before thinking and decided the perfect way to spend Spring Break would be in Minneapolis, on a mission trip with my church.  Thought about it some more, decided it was still an awesome idea, and committed.  Decided to throw manuscript in the trash.

C.  Made another spreadsheet, on which I am assigning numerical values to each scene; each numerical value corresponds with priority level. (1 = This is a MAJOR ISSUE; 7 = this scene is weak, but can wait to be dealt with because it doesn’t affect the plot. Etc.)  Am one-third of the way through with this step in the process.

D.  All of the above! 

E.  All of the above!  (Except for the whole throwing the manuscript in the trash thing.)

If you guessed E — you have won your very own copy of LOST: Season 7 on Blu-Ray!  I’ll ship that to you right after they decide to not end the series after Season 6, after it is produced, filmed, and packaged for our at-home enjoyment.  Okay?  Okay.²

So, yeah.  That’s where things are right now.  The next step is, obviously, to finish prioritizing: hopefully I’ll finish, or almost-finish, this weekend.  That way, next week will be The Week Where I Start to Fix Stuff.

Perhaps this is an abrupt ending to a post, but well, my hands are FRIGID BLOCKS OF ICE due to this Starbucks’s identity crisis (is it a meat locker? an igloo? a coffee shop on Antarctica?).  Better go outside into the 39°F weather to thaw out.

Peace and hot chocolate and electric blankets to you all.

Revision Update, Phase Two | Sorting through notes, assigning priority to scenes based on the magnitude of work needed.  Am 1/3 of the way through the scenes, so that leaves (obviously) 2/3 to go.

¹Known otherwise, to Muggles ’round the world, as a flat-iron.  

²Disclaimer: Should they, um, decide to actually do the impossible and make a Season 7, despite concrete, set-in-stone evidence to the contrary?  Fulfillment of this absurd promise is contingent upon my improbable inheritance of riches.

14 Responses to “Prioritizing, Yo.”

  1. Merrilee Friday / 26 February 10 at 3:34 pm #

    Wonderful! Keep it up Kayla :D

  2. Linda Friday / 26 February 10 at 7:56 pm #

    Oh, shoot, I thought I had a chance at a free Season 6 Blu-Ray! :-)

    I have been far too disorganized this last week and made very little progress on my editing. I’m stumped by my needed insert scene. You have such self-discipline.

    • owlandsparrow Saturday / 27 February 10 at 1:32 pm #

      Sometimes time is progress, you know? I bet something amazing will come to mind here soon, and you’ll wonder why you couldn’t think of it before. We all have those weeks. :)

  3. DiscoveringMyVoice Saturday / 27 February 10 at 9:10 am #

    I want to see pictures of the hair!

    • owlandsparrow Saturday / 27 February 10 at 1:34 pm #

      Kathryn! I miss you. It’s my facebook profile picture right now. In case anyone else wants to see it…click here!

  4. islesam Saturday / 27 February 10 at 1:12 pm #

    I want to go to Harry Potter world at Universal SO BAD & your hot pink wand is not helping! WANT NOW!

    • owlandsparrow Saturday / 27 February 10 at 1:38 pm #

      I want to go, too!!! I bet they do a great job making it come to life.

  5. joyofdawn Saturday / 27 February 10 at 4:48 pm #

    Wow! Sound like everything is going good!
    Oh, and I’m all for the hot chocolate!! Just got a LOT of snow over the past two days and it is still coming! How beautiful it is too! Stay warm!

    • owlandsparrow Friday / 5 March 10 at 9:26 am #

      Man, I wish we still had snow! (Admittedly, though, this 65 F weather has been lovely!) Hope all is well with you! It’s been a crazy couple of weeks for me, but things are still moving…slowly, but moving. ;)

  6. jenniferneri Sunday / 28 February 10 at 9:54 am #

    My upcoming week is to spend organizing in this way. I just finished mapping my plot, and now I have to diagram it, go through notes in book, and fix staggers and all. I was not looking forward to it, but once I get going it’s interesting to see novel in this way. Good luck and have a nice week off.

    • owlandsparrow Friday / 5 March 10 at 9:28 am #

      Hey, Jennifer! Did your week of organization go well? How’s all of your stuff coming along? I agree, it’s so interesting to see a novel in that way – doesn’t change the fact that it can be tedious at times. Hope this week has been great for you!

  7. Laura Best Friday / 5 March 10 at 6:01 am #

    I wanted to shout Nooooo when I read the part about you throwing your manuscript in the trash. What a relief when I realized you hadn’t. For a brief second I thought I must have read that wrong.

    It sounds as though things are going great. Good for you!

    • owlandsparrow Friday / 5 March 10 at 9:33 am #

      Oh, Laura, you totally made me laugh…thanks for caring so much that you nearly shouted in agony! haha ;) No, I could never just trash it, of course.

      Things are going okay – not bad, just busy lately. I haven’t gotten nearly as much done (on ANYTHING I care about) as I want to. Luckily, I have lots of hours today, so hopefully I can make some sort of progress on something.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

