My Good Intentions? Totally Smoke-Monstered.

5 Mar

So.

You could say my life has been like Season Six of LOST lately, that I am stuck in a strange sideways world where things are mostly good but a little off, a little unusual.

You could also say my life has been like this week’s episode of LOST, where [MAJOR SPOILER ALERT AHEAD] [NO, SERIOUSLY, LIKE IF YOU EVER WANT TO WATCH LOST AND HAVEN'T, YOU TOTALLY DON'T WANT ME TO SPOIL THIS FOR YOU] [RACHEL, IF YOU'RE STILL READING, YOU'RE IN TROUBLE BECAUSE THESE SHOUTY ALERTS ARE MAINLY FOR YOUR BENEFIT] the Smoke Monster wreaks havoc on the Temple-dwellers, carrying them kicking and screaming to their own demise.

Okay, so it’s not totally like that.  Kind of, though.  I do feel like I’ve been swept up into a Bizarro World, and that my time has been Smoke-Monstered (and in this analogy, all of my good intentions = the doomed Temple-dwellers).  Usually, I’m the super-organized Queen of Self-Discipline, which makes it all the more annoying that I can’t put my finger on exactly where the time went.  Also usually, whenever I can’t put my finger on exactly where the time went, it’s safe to say I was perusing blogs or reading helpful articles about writing, but alas, I’m far behind on all of that stuff, too.

Fortunately, today is gorgeous and I have a large chunk of hours awaiting me.  I’ve planted myself (along with a too-thick stack o’ stuff) at Starbucks, and I’m going to WORK.  

And, oh, how much more productive I’d be if only I could get that episode-closing creepy-chilling rendition of  “Catch A Falling Star” out of my head.

Revision Update, Phase Two | Time has been ambushed by the Smoke Monster, and my good intentions are trapped in a pit à la Crazed Claire.  No progress has been made (gasp!) since last update, but luckily?  No progress also means no backward progress.  Time for a step forward.

10 Responses to “My Good Intentions? Totally Smoke-Monstered.”

  1. J.C Friday / 5 March 10 at 12:44 pm #

    Good luck pushing ahead, sometimes we just have weeks like that though it IS more frustrating when you can’t pinpoint where the time went (At least with kids I can usually, genuinely say that they ate all my time). Even getting small chunks done is better than nothing :-)

    • owlandsparrow Tuesday / 9 March 10 at 9:59 am #

      Things have begun to turn around, and it’s a much nicer place to be. :) Not as overwhelmed anymore (at the moment) and I’m encouraged. Thank you!!

  2. Merrilee Friday / 5 March 10 at 5:06 pm #

    Good luck Kayla! Hope you have a productive day :)

    • owlandsparrow Tuesday / 9 March 10 at 10:00 am #

      Thanks, Merrilee! It turned out to be a frustrating day, but when I started to work again on Monday, something clicked and it’s been good ever since. I’m about to dig back in today…whee!

  3. Linda Friday / 5 March 10 at 6:45 pm #

    Well, I’m laughing … because crying makes my eyes puffy. I totally sympathize. I thought I could power through my latest edit way before now. I still have five chapters left and I already know I’m going to be adding a scene in one of them.

    Truly, I’ve limited Twitter drastically, and have only read my “front row” blogs. It’s just real life sucking up my time.

    So, I wish your days to lengthen to 26 hours, so you can fit more in. Hey, now that the temple’s empty, maybe you could hide out there for some peace and quiet.

    • owlandsparrow Tuesday / 9 March 10 at 10:05 am #

      Crying makes my eyes puffy, too, and it’s totally annoying. That happened one day last week, and – oops – I had an eye doctor appointment right after I woke up with puffy, irritated eyes. Fortunately, I brewed some tea, chilled the tea bags, and used them to make the swelling go down a bit.

      Oh, real life…the smallest things can end up taking the most time. After Friday, though (the day I wrote this blog post), I realized that a good portion of my ‘work time’ had been spent just sitting there, thinking about things. I guess that’s good and bad – good because I’m thinking and focused, bad because nothing tangible got done.

      Good luck with your last chapters and new scene/s. Can’t wait to read it!!! :)

  4. Mercedes Friday / 5 March 10 at 6:52 pm #

    So now I totally want to watch Lost. FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER.

    • owlandsparrow Tuesday / 9 March 10 at 10:11 am #

      YES! A convert.

      Seriously, though: great show. If you start watching, there are a few things you need to know:

      A) You MUST start from the beginning, and you cannot skip episodes (no matter how tempting). The recaps don’t do the show justice, and part of the fun is in the details.

      B) If you do get addicted, it’s perfectly normal to watch, oh, four episodes in a row. A friend of mine watched all of Season 4 in one weekend. (I would not totally recommend this: your brain will hurt).

      C) It takes a while to catch up, but it’s worth it, in my opinion.

      Let me know if you start watching!! Linda (the commenter right above you) likes it, too. Good to see you here again, by the way – thanks for stopping by! :)

  5. Kathleen Wall Thursday / 11 March 10 at 12:55 pm #

    I hope things are moving along better in the nearly week since you wrote this! I know I’ve had days/weeks/months where I wonder what I’ve been doing with myself. Best of luck!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Where Did The Time Go? « Owl and Sparrow - Thursday / 11 March 10

    [...] been planning to write a good long post about my editing progress this week — after that whole Smoke Monster incident, after all, you might have worried that I’ve been sulking in despair, ignoring the world and [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

