Somewhere, Over The Rainbow…

17 Apr

Well, what have we here?  Gorgeous gray skies, peaceful rain, and…a new post?  What? What?!

Close those jaws, friends.  That way, despite the hum of the computer and the whirr of the fan, you might — if you listen hard enough — actually hear me saying I’m sorry for being such a lame blogger as of late.  I know there’s at least one of you who cares. (See Melissa’s all-caps comment on my last post, if you don’t believe me…)(Side note for Melissa: Thanks for the kick in the butt, my friend!  It worked.)  Sorry, y’all.

So, anyway, those lame days?  Are over.  I don’t want to be lame.  (Who does, right?)  I hereby announce my plan to blog on a regular basis again!  Blogging is fun and I love all of you sweet blog-friends, so it won’t be too hard.

The hardest part, actually, was figuring out what to say after two meaty posts in a row.  It’s kind of hard to let myself switch gears from posts like “Here’s everything you ever wanted to know (and more) about my editing process” and “Here’s my treatise on beta-reading,” and go back to mundane minutiae.  Gone are the days where I write about butter knives.  (Yes. That day did, indeed, exist.  No link for you; if you really want to read it…well…have fun on that little scavenger hunt.) Butter knives aren’t interesting or relevant to much of anything — this blog has totally become more “thoughts on writing” than “thoughts on things.”  Back in the early days, I wasn’t sure what it would become, and I’ve got to say: I like being writing-focused.

That said, I need to allow myself to hang out in the deep-ish part of the pool, too.  I don’t have to pressure myself to be in diving board territory every single time.  (Don’t get me wrong, though: I don’t plan to hang out in three-year-old territory, either.)

So, I was totally going to write a whole post about Patty Griffin — my favorite musician, whose concert we attended last night¹ — and what her music has taught me about writing.  This post has morphed into something longer than I planned for, though, so I think I’ll save that for tomorrow or Monday.

Not to get all sappy on you guys, but thank you so much for being faithful blog-friends to me, even though I’ve been…you know…not so very present as of late.  You guys rock.

Mr. Cat says hello, by the way.  He’s missed you guys, too.²

¹Eeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!

²As for Mr. Dexter the Kitty, he doesn’t know what’s going on.  He’s made a recent habit out of scratching paint chips from the windowsill and scarfing them down like kitty treats.  Paint chips + terror kitten = a really spazzed out alarm clock for us on some mornings.

9 Responses to “Somewhere, Over The Rainbow…”

  1. Megs - Scattered Bits Saturday / 17 April 10 at 8:10 pm #

    I have MISSED you! Good to see you back and blogging again. :waves at Mr. Cat: I know for me, I have to mix up lighter posts with heavier posts or I just can’t keep up with it. Any time blogging becomes a pressure, I have to remember that I started my blog to simply reach out, communicate, and have fun—not to be the wise, deep writer (though it’s nice any time I actually pull off being one :grins: ). And even though you aren’t writing about butter knives (I promise not to dig for it), it’s nice even when we hear about Starbucks coffee and rainboots, so never fear! We just love you for being you, alive, and writing. That in itself is inspiring to me.

    Happy writing, blogging, and hopefully, more restful mornings!

    • owlandsparrow Monday / 19 April 10 at 8:02 am #

      I’ve missed you, too! It’s good to be back and blogging again! :) That’s so true – I started mine to ‘reach out, communicate, and have fun,’ too. I’ve always tried to mix up the depth a little bit, but somewhere between those two looooooong posts and a few extremely productive weeks, blogging felt…well, harder than normal.

      So: thanks so much for all your kind words, all this sweet encouragement!

      PS: I’m glad you’re blogging more, too. Though I haven’t posted often lately, I’ve been a lurker, and I’ve been hungry for more Megs posts! :)

  2. Merrilee Saturday / 17 April 10 at 11:10 pm #

    Hey Kayla! Good to see you back on my screen :) I hope this does signal a return to regular posting :)

    And don’t worry about meaty – you can have little days too :)

    • owlandsparrow Monday / 19 April 10 at 8:09 am #

      Merrilee! Hi! Thanks for your support and encouragement! (Wow, it’s exclamation point city up in here this morning!)

      Man, as I type this, I see my “check out the old posts” block in the sidebar – didn’t realize just how bad my posting was for March and April. Five posts, total, so far. Sheesh. I’m excited about posting regularly again, whether meat or marshmallow. :)

  3. Linda Cassidy Lewis Sunday / 18 April 10 at 11:33 am #

    Well, I was glad to know you were too busy to blog … for my sake and yours. :-)

    I certainly understand the need to back off sometimes. Even when I try to have several posts queued up, inevitably one or two of them end up being something I no longer want to say, or a more exciting topic occurs to me and I want to blog about that NOW. (Read exciting with a grain of salt.) And finding that balance between heavy and light is always a challenge.

    I’m subscribed to your blog, so no matter when you post, I’ll read. :-)

    • owlandsparrow Monday / 19 April 10 at 8:16 am #

      Haha, I bet you were glad, Linda! ;) Honestly (well, you know this for sure, so I guess I don’t need to qualify it with “honestly,” but whatever), these past few weeks have been so productive, it was amazing. Every day was so similar, as far as work was concerned – great days, but full of similar activity. I thought it might be boring to post – Hey, guys, I’m beta-reading some more…and it’s awesome… and Hey, guys, I’m editing some more…and it’s awesome…. My little creative brain took a nap while my analytical brain ran a marathon. ;)

      Good idea, to have several posts queued up. I’ve never tried that – usually because I end up posting whatever I write as soon as it’s done. It would be good to come up with some smaller posts, though I can definitely see myself in the “Nah, I would rather write about (insert everything but what I’ve already written about) today,” category.

      Alright. So many words, so early! Have a great day!

  4. joyofdawn Monday / 19 April 10 at 7:20 am #

    Glad you’re back! I pounced on your post as soon as I saw it! :D I always enjoy reading what you post, exspecially when it is information that helps with writing. :)

    Love how you make rainy days seem so exciting. Don’t suppose you’re getting threatened by snow flurries down there? :)

    • owlandsparrow Monday / 19 April 10 at 8:23 am #

      Hey, good to see you again, too! Thanks for pouncing, and for saying nice things. Nice things are always nice to hear (or read, or whatever). :)

      Rainy days ARE so exciting! It’s been so beautiful this spring so far – I’ve actually almost become a sunshine girl, too. Alas, no snow flurries. You know how much I LOVE snow, but I’m actually sort of glad it’s not that cold – I just replaced all my potted plants that froze. It would be so sad to have them freeze again!

      Good to see you again – happy spring, and happy writing!

  5. Melissa Monday / 19 April 10 at 11:31 am #

    You, madam, are very welcome :)

    Glad to see you back, even if it isn’t particularly chewy. Some days I just feel like a salad, y’know?

    & I have no idea who Patty Griffin is, aside from “singer.” So you should enlighten me sometime!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

