Merrilee Faber’s Creativity Workshop

23 Apr

Something really cool just landed in my lap, and no, it’s not a spilled glass of iced water.

It’s an opportunity.

A challenge.

A here’s-a-chance-to-grow-in-your-skills-and-discipline-and-creativity sort of opportunity-slash-challenge, dropped down from the sky courtesy of the amazing Merrilee Faber.

Basically, she’s taken the initiative to organize and put on a fourteen-week Creativity Workshop (one week of intro, thirteen weeks of workshop) from May 2 – August 5.  There’s a whole slew of awesomeness wrapped up in this opportunity, including a wide range of applicable topics to be covered by Merrilee and the various guest bloggers she’s lined up. Here in a minute, I’m going to direct you to her two most recent posts for more information.

To quote Merrilee, “It is a workshop about teaching yourself to be creative when you need to be, not at the whim of the muse or the tides or the phase of the moon.”

I don’t know about you guys, but this sounds great to me.  For more information about what kind of work is involved, what kind of topics will be covered, who the guest bloggers are, and to sign up, follow the links below.

A brief overview (the what, the why, and other answers to questions)

More details, schedule, and sign-ups

Let me know if you decide to join Melissa, Cassie (JC), yours truly, and — of course — Merrilee, as we brave this adventure.  I fully expect it will rock.  In fact, it will probably rock so hard that I’ll spill iced water all over my lap and then be inspired to write something creative about it.

22 Responses to “Merrilee Faber’s Creativity Workshop”

  1. Stephanie Moore-Fuller Friday / 23 April 10 at 12:43 pm #

    Thanks for this pointer! I am definitely going to check that out.

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 29 April 10 at 3:17 pm #

      Hi, Stephanie! Thanks for stopping by – did you decide to take part in the Creative Workshop, too?

  2. Melissa Friday / 23 April 10 at 12:54 pm #

    I am SO excited about this! & I’m twice as excited you will joining us!! WHOOO FUN!

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 29 April 10 at 3:18 pm #

      YESSSSSS! Hope you had a great night writing yesterday! I’m so excited about this workshop!

  3. AshN Friday / 23 April 10 at 1:45 pm #

    I’ve joined this, and am super excited to get started. I need a nice boot in the ass when it comes to writing productivity…

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 29 April 10 at 3:20 pm #

      Hey, Ash! Thanks for stopping by, and for leaving a comment! Not only am I excited to grow in my writing and discipline, I’m excited to get to know new friends. I’ve seen you (and Chibi) around on Merrilee’s blog, but I’m glad to get to know you guys better. :)

  4. J.C Friday / 23 April 10 at 1:58 pm #

    Yes, I’m with Melissa – was definitely excited to sign up, even more so to participate with you lovely ladies! I can’t wait to get stuck in.

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 29 April 10 at 3:22 pm #

      This is going to be awesome. Challenging, but awesome. I’m glad you’re doing it, too – how much longer before your sweet baby arrives?

      • J.C Thursday / 29 April 10 at 5:32 pm #

        9 weeks give or take a couple… so while I won’t be able to actively participate in the entire workshop I’m going to give it my all until I go into labour! lol and then it’ll be nice to come and check up on how everyone is doing til it finishes :-)

  5. Linda Cassidy Lewis Friday / 23 April 10 at 2:56 pm #

    I’m going to try this. I need the discipline.

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 29 April 10 at 3:23 pm #

      YAY! :) This is getting better and better. First JC, then Melissa, now you, too? So great.

  6. Merrilee Friday / 23 April 10 at 5:04 pm #

    Ladies, lovely to have you aboard. I can feel the energy levels of the workshop go up already.

    I look forward to dishing out encouragement and ass-booting where necessary :)

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 29 April 10 at 3:24 pm #

      Seriously, Merrilee, thanks for putting this thing together. I’m looking forward to it, kicks in the butt and all. Oh, yeah, and encouragement. ;) You’ve put together such a great schedule and line-up of guests – can’t wait.

  7. joyofdawn Monday / 26 April 10 at 5:38 pm #

    I’m going to try. It sounds like an interesting challenge for my writing! Thanks for posting about this!

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 29 April 10 at 3:26 pm #

      Very cool that you’ve signed up, too – I checked out your goals the other day, but didn’t get a chance to comment. :) Thanks for the shout-out in your post, by the way.

      • joyofdawn Thursday / 29 April 10 at 4:30 pm #

        Oh, your welcome! :) Coming up with goals was inspiring. It helped me to see what directions I haven’t been before and place other things into perspective.

  8. Leigh Kay Tuesday / 27 April 10 at 3:32 pm #

    I had to click first on the specific title of one of your blogs, THEN I can do this! Yay…you’ve walked me through it successfully. :) Miss you

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 29 April 10 at 3:27 pm #

      Sweet! Glad it worked. I miss you, too, Leigh! Congratulations on your internship (though I’m not 100% sure I remember what you’re doing in this internship, haha)!

  9. Chibi Tuesday / 27 April 10 at 9:51 pm #

    I’ve joined as well. I really need some short stories to add to my portfolio, but I never seem to have the time to write them (I bet you can guess one of my goals). I’m hoping Merilee’s workshop is just the kick in the pants I need.

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 29 April 10 at 3:30 pm #

      Like I told Ash, I’m excited to get to know you guys better. Sounds like we’re all gearing up for the challenge and preparing ourselves for inevitable pants-kicks, haha. I’ve never focused on short stories, so writing them will be a new challenge in and of itself. That’s one of my reasons, too. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bird By Bird | Concrete Creativity Workshop Goals! « Owl and Sparrow - Thursday / 6 May 10

    [...] Faber’s Creativity Workshop, which began this week.  (If you’re in the dark on this, click here.)  A few days ago, I set some general goals — now, it’s time to streamline them into [...]

  2. The Verdict | Creativity Workshop Goals, Week 4 « Owl and Sparrow - Sunday / 30 May 10

    [...] around here and have no idea what the Creativity Workshop is (also known on Twitter as #CreateWS), click here for a post about the workshop itself, and click here for a post about my goals for the workshop. tweetmeme_url = [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

