A New Queen

8 May

Oy.  It is a dark and early morning, that’s for sure.  A loud one, too.

With two five-thirty a.m. text messages and a veritable R&B concert directly over our heads, I’m finding it a little bit difficult to do what people do on Saturday mornings (i.e. not wake up at five-thirty a.m.).

The text messages?  Totally understandable, and welcome even.  They were from my sweet mom, whose play¹ competes today.  She’ll be busy all day, wanted to know when we’d get to town (it’s a four-hour drive for us), et cetera.  Plus, I know she’s not the most dextrous texter — between her lofty texting ambitions and (probably) a ten-minute internal debate before bothering us so early, the texts are more endearing than they are a nuisance.

As for the music², I can’t say the same: this new queen on the block has just ousted her previous contenders people-who-drive-and-act-like-jerks-in-parking-lots, things-spelled-incorrectly-on-purpose-à-la-Kwik-Kutz-or-Sassy-Katz³, and pounding-bass-speakers-who-take-my-concentration-and-dangle-it-over-the-edge-of-a-cliff from their comfy, coveted spots on the Throne of Pet Peeves.  (Those three have shared the Throne so long its velvet has worn down in a few places.)  Technically, what’s happening today is the third pet peeve after it’s had about eight fully caffeinated espresso shots, therefore I’m counting it in a category that’s wholly other, and am convinced it supersedes the annoyance of a mere pounding bass.

It’s starting to get light outside.

Sweet little birds are singing.  It’s impossible to tell whether they are trying to sing karaoke or drown out the noise.

Hey, wasn’t it just last week where I mused about the delight of not having much to rant about?  (Yes. Yes it was.)

On a brighter note (one not being melismatically forced down my ears) that’s totally unrelated to anything else in this post, Jen Lancaster’s book reading/Q&A/signing was a treat last night.  The excerpt she read was funny, as was the Q&A.  She then managed to stay personable and look genuinely thrilled to be there while she signed books for three hours (I know this because we got there late and were therefore relegated to Group H on a scale from A to I).  Tyra Banks would be so proud — Ms. Lancaster welcomed photos all night, and has perfected the whole find-the-light and smile-with-your-eyes thing they’re always trying to get contestants to do on Top Model.

I feel sufficiently unburdened by my loud morning, so I shall roll with it and get a head start on today.  Breakfast, latte, and packing, here I come.  Oh!  Before I forget, I should let all you #CreateWS people know, due to our weekend trip, my Sunday workshop post won’t be happening until laaaaaaate Sunday (which might actually turn into eaaaaarly Monday)(especially if my neighbor has anything to do with it).

PS: I’m experimenting with a Tweet button at the bottom — thanks, Linda! — not that I really expect you guys to go reTweeting this totally unhelpful little post.

¹She’s directing high schoolers in a one act play competition.  They made the state-level competition, which is a Big Deal in Texas because it takes stellar performances at three or four competitions in order to do what they’ve done.  I’m proud of her, and proud of her cast!

²(Noise.)

³Yes, it hurt to type that.  Hurts more to leave it in there and not delete it, knowing a good many of you may very well cringe upon reading it.

8 Responses to “A New Queen”

  1. Melissa Saturday / 8 May 10 at 9:10 am #

    I wish I could have met you guys out there!! Best of luck to your mom – UIL One Act is some intense competition!! My school won state a few times in the 4A division & it was crazy. UIL anything is intense. We’re a big state. There are a lot of people to beat!

    & this is amazingly well put together for someone who was awoken at 5:30 am by awful music :p

    • owlandsparrow Saturday / 8 May 10 at 9:21 am #

      Haha, thanks! :) I wish you could have, too, but we’ll do it some other weekend when a) we have more time to plan, and b) we have more freedom to do exactly what we want to do, when we want to do it. It will be a blast, when it happens.

      This is the best my old high school has ever done in One Act (not coincidentally, they have the best director EVER!). We hardly ever made it past the first round back when I was in school.

      Anyway! Time to head out the door – have a great weekend, and a fun Saturday with Cairo! :)

  2. Linda Cassidy Lewis Saturday / 8 May 10 at 10:54 am #

    I second Melissa’s opinion. You write extremely well at dawn with such distractions. I think I will quit complaining about the annoying exotic bird calls in my neighborhood. :-)

    I expect you won’t read this until you return home, so I hope you enjoyed your weekend and your mom’s school won the competition. And may your Monday dawn silently.

  3. Chibi Saturday / 8 May 10 at 10:56 am #

    Ugh, there is nothing more irritating than being woken up by a loud noise. Believe me, my dad is doing a lot of (loud) work to the house at the moment, so I know this for a fact. I’m glad you enjoyed the book signing. It’s such a rare treat to be able to bask in a favorite author’s presence like that.

  4. amber Saturday / 8 May 10 at 12:07 pm #

    Ah, UIL one act… it’s been a long time…

  5. J.C Saturday / 8 May 10 at 1:39 pm #

    Hope you have a lovely trip and that your Mom’s group does really well! 530… sadly, I know that time of the morning very well. Thankfully it’s almost never occupied by loud music though! Can’t be pleasant at all.

  6. Megs - Scattered Bits Monday / 10 May 10 at 10:25 am #

    Oy! You have my prayers for peace. (THAT’s at the top of my pet peeve aisle of thrones. :shudders in sympathy: ) May the play go well!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Verdict | Creativity Workshop Goals, Week 1 « Owl and Sparrow - Monday / 10 May 10

    [...] I head off to productivity land, I just wanted to let you know that the (high school one act) play my mom directed placed third in the state!  They were incredible. Her star actress — whose name, appropriately, [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

