The Verdict | Creativity Workshop Goals, Week 3

24 May

As you might imagine, on the morning after the Lost series finale, my head feels like popcorn popping in a microwave.  (I won’t spoil anything, promise.)  Ben Linus.  Smoke Monster.  Time.  Death.  Life.  Jack, Kate, Sawyer.  Locke.  Flocke.  Lemon-raspberry tart, jungle plates, apple crisp.  Guacamole, cabernet.  Vacuum.  Dishes.  Seating arrangement for nine in a tiny apartment living room.

Now that all the planning is over, the processing of what just happened? has begun.  Thus, I’ve already succumbed to the distractions of message boards, EW.com, and a let’s-discuss-this! phone call with my mom.  Finally, I tore myself away for productivity’s sake.  For now.

You might have guessed it already, but I, um, didn’t quite meet my Creativity Workshop goals this week.  Yeah, yeah, yeah, I blasted off with a full tank of fuel back on Tuesday, when I posted about the flamin’ ladybug story — trouble was, much as I REALLY REALLY REALLY wanted (and still want) to spend time on it, it was an altogether strange week.  Admittedly, the most I did on my story this week was to plan it and get way excited about it.

Though party-planning and general I’m-so-excited-yet-sorta-sad-that-I-get-to-find-out-how-Lost-ends bubbly feelings dominated the weekend, that’s not the only reason I was unproductive.  A few of the weekdays were just plain difficult, in terms of some personal stuff going on, and my willpower lacked its usual oomph.  On the days where the oomph was alive and kicking, I made some great progress on my novel edits and at the gym.  I was thisclose to completing a section of the novel, so when it came time to work, I gravitated toward that.

The good thing?

I’m not discouraged.  Still excited, actually, and encouraged that I made progress with the novel and the gym.  It’s really tempting to write the ladybug story this week instead of doing the third story in the set, but: no.  That would put a bad habit into motion, I think.  As excited as I am about it, I shall shelf it for now, knowing I have a great idea to come back to in the future.  Instead, it’s time to press on.

It’s especially tempting to write the ladybugs when I look ahead to this week’s project: Little Bo Peep and severed tails.  What in sideways world am I going to do with that?

No.  Clue.

(Yet.)

Okay, dudes.  I’m feeling that good old oomph right now, so I should strike while it’s hot.  The first goal of the rest of this week: get writing stuff done before I allow myself any more Lost message-board perusal.  Then, I’ll tackle the rest of the week.

PS: That picture of Benjamin Linus and his #8 bunny is a limited edition screenprint made by Todd Slater.  I want this.

7 Responses to “The Verdict | Creativity Workshop Goals, Week 3”

  1. Melissa Monday / 24 May 10 at 1:32 pm #

    You still accomplished more than I! Cinderella was a big hole for me; I didn’t want the “normal” fairy retelling to occur and it didn’t carry the BANG that 12 Dancing Princesses did. Then again, I put forth zero effort into it.

    I have never seen a single episode of Lost. My favorite tweet about the finale? “Dear Lost People – what the HELL have you been watching?!” I giggled. & thought of you. I hope it was all you ever wanted :)

    Good luck with the planning & my sympathies on the personal junk. You always know where to find me…..

  2. J.C Monday / 24 May 10 at 3:15 pm #

    Hope this week goes well – as you say, you have a story you’re excited about to write at some point in the future which is always a good thing!

    What will fill the void that now exists where Lost once was?

  3. Megs - Scattered Bits Monday / 24 May 10 at 4:47 pm #

    You go, girl! I’ve had those weeks, but coming back from them can be so invigorating when I just grab my enthusiasm and run with it. Good luck!

  4. Merrilee Monday / 24 May 10 at 7:55 pm #

    Yeah, I am generating a pile of unfinished stories as well. This is going to come back and bite me post-workshop. But I love the idea of Bo Peep and the severed tails. It reeks of eeevil :)

  5. Chibi Monday / 24 May 10 at 11:35 pm #

    Eh, who can be expected to focus when it’s series/season finale week(s)? I know it doesn’t matter what I’m doing: when it’s time for one of my shows, my butt is outta that chair and in front of a television. I haven’t finished a story yet for the workshop, so I suppose that is my ultimate goal for the week (first I guess I have to come up with the story). Good luck on keeping yourself away from those message boards. I know firsthand how hard that can be!

  6. Laura Best Tuesday / 25 May 10 at 8:20 pm #

    There are a lot of distractions out there. I totally agree. I don’t watch a whole lot of tv and didn’t have the pleasure if seeing most of the episodes of Lost but the ones I did see pulled me right it.

    I’m steadfast in my resolve to complete revisions and today I feel as though I’m right on track. Notice I did say today..

  7. joyofdawn Thursday / 27 May 10 at 7:48 am #

    Still having a hard time with Lost being over. Somehow it looked like it was starting all over again. I had to wait until Wednesday to watch it on Hulu but it was worth the wait!

    Hope your having a better week! Your nursery rhyme stories sound so neat!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

