Lobster On My Head, Among Other Things

15 Jun

I feel like I have a lobster on my head.  Not due to humiliation, I’m glad to say (though I can’t say the same for Mr. Cat), but due, rather, from an insanely productive day today.

It’s left me with both a headache and a sublime sense of accomplishment.  (I wish the sublime sense of accomplishment would neutralize the whole head-pounding aspect of things.)

It’s been a while since I’ve had a writing day as exhausting as this one.  Seriously.  I woke up at 7am, put the coffee on, and set out to tackle a scene I’ve been sort of dreading.  This scene is a monster, and it takes up an entire chapter.  It’s the first big turning point in my novel, which involves action, mystery, and a whole slew of odd stuff that is difficult to communicate.  Creepy residents with ulterior motives, warriors who have a hunger that’s sort of tricky to express in words, all of whom live in a logic-bending world where the rules of nature as we know it don’t exactly apply?

Oy.

My old version was completely wooden, and read like index cards.  It needed a total overhaul.  Ever since I came up with my ideas for this part of the book, they’ve felt extremely intangible and intimidating.  Somewhere between the second draft and this one, though, I was blessed with the ability to see it, feel it, and — I think — communicate it.

It took all day to do it (interrupted only by lunch, an ice-cream-and-coffee-break, and a quick detour to the Victoria’s Secret Semi-Annual Sale…) but 2700 words later?  Done.

Now my head is spinning and I am misspelling easy words like need (nead) and which (whic) and misspelling (mispelling).  Pathetic.

Oh, well.  Small price to pay for finishing — and feeling way satisfied with — this monster of a scene.  Tomorrow, I think I shall rest.  Expect my belated Creativity Workshop wrap-up for Week 6, and I’ll either post my cover of this week’s song (“Blackbird”) tomorrow or Thursday.

Now, to chill.

9 Responses to “Lobster On My Head, Among Other Things”

  1. Megs - Scattered Bits Tuesday / 15 June 10 at 6:57 pm #

    Wow. You go, girl. Sounds like one of the awesome days that’s nice to look back on and rest up after. Congratulations!

    • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 16 June 10 at 12:40 pm #

      Thanks, Megs! Yes – resting up is my plan for all of today, haha. Blog posts and reading and maybe a trip to the gym. Or the pool. We’ll see! :)

  2. J.C Tuesday / 15 June 10 at 7:21 pm #

    Sounds like an excellent day! Well done :-)

    • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 16 June 10 at 12:41 pm #

      Hey, Cassie! Thanks! And, thanks again for your encouragement on Twitter yesterday! It was timely and much-needed at the time. (The ice cream and coffee helped, too, but I shall attribute my pressing on mostly to you!) :)

  3. joyofdawn Wednesday / 16 June 10 at 8:41 am #

    Excellent! Congrats!
    Completing a dreaded scene in one day!! I’m feeling modivated and it is raining. :) Hope the headache is gone.

    • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 16 June 10 at 12:42 pm #

      Thank you! Yeah, I had been trying to write that scene for a week or so, but it turned out I needed to add a couple of scenes first. Then, I kept getting distracted and could not summon the focus I needed for that particular scene…until yesterday! So glad it worked out.

      Good luck with your writing today – rain and motivation? My kind of day! :) The headache left, eventually, but is coming back now. Perhaps these new contact lenses are the culprit. :/

  4. Linda Cassidy Lewis Wednesday / 16 June 10 at 12:04 pm #

    I’m envious of your day. I ended up with a headache but nothing written! :-)

    You’re so inspiring when you write about your work.

    • owlandsparrow Wednesday / 16 June 10 at 12:45 pm #

      Aw, thanks, Linda. :) I’m glad I can be inspiring, at least a little bit! Sorry to hear about your headache, I know all too well how annoying and distracting those can be! Hope today is productive, fun, and headache-free for you!

      (PS: I really enjoyed your latest blog post, by the way, in case you couldn’t tell from my epic comment.) :)

  5. Merrilee Wednesday / 16 June 10 at 5:18 pm #

    Good for you! That sounds wonderful :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

