Blackbird

16 Jun

For fun, and because perhaps you’ll like it, I made another video.

This week’s cover is “Blackbird.”  I love to sing it.  I love to play it.  Singing and playing it at the same time, however?  More difficult than expected.  However — a few callused fingers later, I did it.  It’s not perfect, of course.

You can click right here to watch it, if you want to.  I posted the lower quality version again, in case you lucky people in possession of iPhones would rather use those than your computers. (PS: Click here for last week’s song, if you missed it.)

Also: I’m being a rebel today and doing two posts in a row, since I’m late on reviewing my Creativity Workshop week.  That will post this afternoon.

For now, that’s all.  Here are the lyrics, just for you.

“Blackbird”

by Lennon/McCartney

Blackbird singing in the dead of night

Take these broken wings and learn to fly

All your life, you were only waiting for this moment to arise

Blackbird singing in the dead of night

Take these sunken eyes and learn to see

All your life, you were only waiting for this moment to be free

Blackbird, fly

Blackbird, fly

Into the light of a dark black night

8 Responses to “Blackbird”

  1. J.C Wednesday / 16 June 10 at 4:09 pm #

    Beautiful :-) I love that song and you sing it so well.

  2. Merrilee Wednesday / 16 June 10 at 5:22 pm #

    Lovely Kayla!

  3. owlandsparrow Thursday / 17 June 10 at 8:25 am #

    Thanks, Cassie & Merrilee! :)

  4. DiscoveringMyVoice Thursday / 17 June 10 at 12:34 pm #

    Kayla! If you weren’t one of my most favorite friends I would hate you for being so lovely and wonderfully talented! This is beautiful! Also, thanks for the blog motivation. I think a revival of my sad little blog is coming soon! Miss you!

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 17 June 10 at 1:16 pm #

      Awww, thanks, Kathryn! :) And, you’re welcome. I hope a revival of your blog is coming soon!! I will read everything you post. I miss you, too! Wish I was at Rue de la Course with you today – that would be such a great place for working on these edits!

  5. Linda Cassidy Lewis Thursday / 17 June 10 at 7:30 pm #

    I got a chance to listen yesterday, but not to comment. What can I say? You, your voice, and your playing are gorgeous. Such a treat.

    • owlandsparrow Friday / 18 June 10 at 3:13 pm #

      Linda, thank you! :) You’re too sweet. Thanks for coming back to comment, I know you’ve been trying to cut back on commenting/Twittering/etc., so I appreciate it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Verdict | Creativity Workshop Goals, Week 6 « Owl and Sparrow - Wednesday / 16 June 10

    […] that’s enough for now.  Besides, I broke unwritten rules and double-posted today — here’s a link to that post, since you probably missed it, which is all about my new video […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

