The Verdict | Creativity Workshop Goals, Week 6

16 Jun

Last week rocked.

Somewhere in between going to Houston, meeting Melissa, learning how to make sushi, making more and more and more sushi, playing a last minute set on guitar/voice with friends, going on a date with my husband, organizing my kitchen, and having a five-episode Lost marathon complete with — yes — even more sushi, it managed to be a good week for writing, too.

Note that I did not say consistent, but it was, nonetheless, good.

Sporadically throughout the week, I worked on editing my novel and made decent progress.  On Saturday, I planned, wrote, and completed my workshop story.  It’s short and sad, but it is complete.  It was challenging, and I neither hate it nor love it.  On Sunday morning, I awoke to 6:15AM inspiration and started working on the trilogy I told you guys about last week.

That’s the part I feel most excited about when I look back on Week 6.  Fresh off of reading one of Merrilee’s posts, which introduced me to Phase Outlining, I decided to try it out.

I LOVE IT.  So far.

If you haven’t checked out the link I attached to Phase Outlining, you should.  It’s an interesting way to think of drafting a novel, and quite convenient for this stage of my writing.  Though I’m heavy into WIP edits and Creativity Workshop projects, I still wanted to get my new ideas out on paper.  Working with Phase Outlining, I’m not worrying at all about whether it looks presentable or not.  Basically, it’s a tool to get story ideas on the page that can later be expanded into a full draft.

Sunday morning was dark and dreary, perfect for working on that project.  I ended up with a great start — 2700 words — and don’t feel weighed down by it.  It could easily make me feel heavy, I think, either with guilt for working on it too much, or with frustration that I’m not working enough on it.  This is good middle ground.  I’m generating fast ideas that will be waiting for me when it’s time to improve them.

Alright, that’s enough for now.  Besides, I broke unwritten rules and double-posted today — here’s a link to that post, since you probably missed it, which is all about my new video (“Blackbird”).

Sorry if this post feels rushed.  After yesterday’s crazy productive day, I’m anxious to just read and relax.  If I’m feeling really ambitious, I’ll go to the gym.  Or, I’ll chill poolside, if not (more likely).

Have a great day, and I hope you guys are making good progress with the workshop, or your writing, or whatever else you may be working on at the moment.  Thanks for always being encouraging and supportive, all of you.  You make this even more fun than it already is!

6 Responses to “The Verdict | Creativity Workshop Goals, Week 6”

  1. Merrilee Wednesday / 16 June 10 at 5:17 pm #

    Glad to hear you found the outlining useful! I admit to having intentions of using it, but when I sat down to write, I just wrote. But I’m sure it will lend itself to a novel or novella in the future :)

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 17 June 10 at 8:16 am #

      Well, “just writing” is good, too! That was your original goal, after all! It’s definitely been helpful to me, since I don’t have much time to devote toward it at the moment. :)

  2. Megs - Scattered Bits Wednesday / 16 June 10 at 10:30 pm #

    Sounds like one of those marvelous productive weeks, girl! :) Happy for you.

    Um… for myself, I’ve been getting in all the results of online shopping trips. Very happy. Not very productive. :D

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 17 June 10 at 8:18 am #

      Thanks, Megs! Ooh, online shopping trips! I’ve had a couple of those. Unfortunately, most of them are to J.Crew, which means I either spend way too much money or none at all. (Mostly none at all.)(Which means no fun results to show for it, haha)

      Hope you enjoy your fun new things, and good luck on the writing! :)

  3. J.C Wednesday / 16 June 10 at 11:20 pm #

    I am going to check out that link seeing as you put it in there twice ;-) I don’t normally outline at all so didn’t check it out when Merrilee posted it. But hey, you never know, it might come in handy.

    Glad you had such a great week all around! May it long continue.

    • owlandsparrow Thursday / 17 June 10 at 8:25 am #

      I think I did that because, for some reason, I was like, Well, what if they think I mean this instance of the words Phase Outlining, and not the one in the last paragraph? And, I’ve always thought it was kinda hard to see my links, because of their white, only-slightly-more-bold text.

      But! Yes, you should read it, even though you don’t normally make outlines. I don’t outline, either, so I almost didn’t look at it. Reading through the description, it sounded more like intense note-taking and less like an outline, which I like. So, I tried it for fun, and like it so far.

      Hope you’re having a great week, too! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

