Project: Edit | About Time For An Update, No?

2 Jul

My Novel

On this lovely, unseasonably cool (for Texas)(83°F), overcast Friday morning, a thought occurred to me: perhaps I should update you on, oh, the stuff that’s been consuming almost all of my working time as of late.

This morning, I went through my ancient posts and dug up something from aeons ago (late March).  Included in this fossil, I hashed out the plan for my index-card editing process.  Click here to check it out, since I don’t plan to re-hash.  (Plus, there are pretty pictures. And a Harry Potter quote to fill your token inspirational quota for the day.)

So, how is that stack o’ bright index cards working out?

BEAUTIFULLY.

According to my nerdily-detailed charts, I’m about 32% of the way through the stack.  I’m aiming to be chill about my editing speed, lest I freak out and think I need to go faster-faster-FASTERFASTERFASTER!!!!!! because we all know shouty-rushed-faster-than-thou writing doesn’t always (or, ever?) mean BETTER.

And I want BETTER.

So, rather than take the road more hastily traveled: I’m aiming for consistent diligence, doing as much as I can, when I can, with as much focus as my head and heart can handle.  I’m also trying to rest hard, in between, because if you just work as hard as you can, always and forever?  Say it with me: Burn. Out.

All that to say, things are going well.  The note card plan has helped immensely, and has carried me through the first three of my nine sections.  The upcoming fourth section is a huge chunk of work, and looks CHALL.EN.GING.  I’ve been reading over it this morning, sorting out some semblance of a plan, and will start overhauling it this afternoon.  (Or, possibly, twenty minutes from now.)

Wishing you all a lovely journey down your roads thoughtfully and purposefully — not hastily —traveled.  And, a happy holiday weekend.¹

¹On a (sort of) related note, I’m wishing myself a swift recovery from Ouchland (also known as the Torture Step + Abs class at my gym) and Hoarse-Voice Land (also known as the reason why, once again, I didn’t make a music video this week).  And yes, Merrilee — if anyone has a song request, I’ll see what I can make of it.  That is, if my voice will cooperate.

14 Responses to “Project: Edit | About Time For An Update, No?”

  1. Linda Cassidy Lewis Friday / 2 July 10 at 10:34 am #

    Thanks for the link to your index card thingy. With what I’m setting off to write now, for the first time I see I’m going to have to do serious pre-planning and organizing. I hope this doesn’t turn out to be just a an exercise in organized insanity. :-)

    As for your editing, Go, Kayla! … at a snail’s pace, of course.

    • owlandsparrow Friday / 2 July 10 at 10:53 am #

      You’re welcome! I’m glad the cards might be helpful. Looking at how I’m working now, I can hardly believe I wrote the first draft with no plan at all. Oh, well. I guess it takes a decent amount of work to be able to make a plan in the first place!

      Thanks for being a cheerleader for me! :) I’m excited about your new project (or, potential projects)!

  2. Chibi Friday / 2 July 10 at 1:01 pm #

    I’m well experienced with burn out, unfortunately, and I hope it’s something you can avoid. It’s a perilous trap everyone falls into when they forget about the “rest hard” part of the equation. It sounds as though your project is coming along wonderfully, at a pace you can maintain and handle. Kudos! I’m working on finding that balance myself, and hope I can be as successful at it as you have been.

    Oh, and I hope you feel better soon from the “torture” lol.

    • owlandsparrow Monday / 5 July 10 at 9:52 am #

      Hey, Chibi! Yeeeah, rest is sometimes HARD to do. I’m trying to make myself rest this weekend, today included since my husband has the day off. It’s not easy to rest, but I usually find I come back with much more energy and clarity after I do.

      Oh, man, as for the torture? I’m not sure if it went away, because I submitted myself to even MORE torture on Saturday morning: pilates. Which was WAY WORSE than before. Yesterday, I couldn’t even cough without hurting in a zillion places (some of which I didn’t even know existed…). It’s a little better today. The good thing is, I know I’m doing something right, I guess, because it’s a good sort of sore…Maybe if I keep going I’ll a) have something to show for it and b) not hurt so much in the future. :)

      Good luck with finding your own balance! I know that looks different for everyone, and it can sometimes be tricky to figure out. :)

  3. J.C Friday / 2 July 10 at 4:13 pm #

    ‘consistent diligence’ sounds like a good way to tackle just about anything. Glad to hear the edits are coming along so well!

    • owlandsparrow Monday / 5 July 10 at 10:01 am #

      Thanks, Cassie! Yes, it seems to be key in everything from exercise to writing. Too much and you get sick of trying, too little and you hardly make progress…and inconsistency is just a recipe for one step forward, two steps back. So, consistent diligence it is!! Not to be confused with constant diligence, haha. That can be tempting sometimes, for valid reasons (“But I have time, and I have work, so…shouldn’t I use my time to work?”).

      Hope all is well with little Natalie, and visits from family! I read your comment on “Lemons & Things” about how your husband is NOT a baker, lol. Doesn’t he know that you so deserve a tart? Even if he’s not a tart-making sort of dude? ;) My husband doesn’t cook much, but he doesn’t mind it – he’s pretty good at following recipes, because he’s a “give me the step-by-step instructions and I can do anything” sort of guy.

      Once, when I made spontaneous dinner plans with a friend, I left instructions – “We have all these ingredients, the recipe shouldn’t be too hard, if you want to try to make it.” Well…I got home, like two hours later, and he was still in the kitchen. Not because he had trouble – just because I, uh, didn’t read the (much more complicated than I thought) recipe before I suggested it. He had to boil stuff, puree it in the blender, strain it, mix it with some other stuff. Turned out well, though, haha.

  4. Merrilee Saturday / 3 July 10 at 1:03 am #

    Great progress Kayla, and I agree that speed is not always better!

    • owlandsparrow Monday / 5 July 10 at 10:03 am #

      Thanks, Merrilee! I believe we had a similar discussion back around NaNoWriMo time, when I was trying to decide whether or not to take part. Speed can be good, but probably not for a third draft where I’m trying to improve the quality of the thing. :)

  5. Lua Saturday / 3 July 10 at 2:24 pm #

    I loved your post about the index cards Kayla- I just began my revising & editing process and that was really helpful :)
    Like you, I’m taking my time with it… Of course, there is a part of me wishing I could finish and polish all in one week but like you said; “because we all know shouty-rushed-faster-than-thou writing doesn’t always (or, ever?) mean BETTER.”

    • owlandsparrow Monday / 5 July 10 at 10:09 am #

      Hey, Lua, and thanks! :) I’m so glad you found that index card post helpful! It’s been wonderful for me, so far, because my manuscript is such a thick sea of words – I needed a way to physically see where I was, and where I was going.

      Ha, I think that part of us – “wishing I could finish and polish all in one week” – is always going to be there to tempt us. I totally feel you on that, like if you just drop everything for a week or two, do nothing else, and FOCUS, it could just…get it done. For me, though, that’s hard, and too simple an approach. I always forget to account for the emotional aspects of writing, that sometimes it just takes it out of me to dive into certain types of scenes. That’s where I get slowed down, but I think it’s a worthwhile reason to take my time.

      Anyway. :) Best of luck with your revisions!!

  6. Laura Best Sunday / 4 July 10 at 6:28 am #

    Enjoy your holidat weekend!

    • owlandsparrow Monday / 5 July 10 at 10:11 am #

      Thank you, Laura! We had a nice, but BUSY, weekend. Sweet husband plays the upright bass, and he had a gig on Friday night, Saturday night, Sunday morning, and then we played for our own church last night. Then: some of the best brisket I’ve ever eaten, and fireworks. It was fun! He has today off, though, so we’re going to REST.

      Hope you had a lovely Canada Day, by the way!! :)

  7. Megs Monday / 5 July 10 at 11:49 am #

    Admittedly, I’m still stuck on ‘cool’ and 83F… and being very glad I’m not in Texas!

  8. Megs - Scattered Bits Monday / 5 July 10 at 11:52 am #

    I’m glad you’re doing well on writing/revising. I took an accidental hiatus, but trying to get my bum back into gear. :D (and comment better/more too!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

