Fresh and Focused

17 Jul

It’s a sunny Saturday morning.

I’m in my favorite sweats and zip-up hoodie, sitting in this window seat with a stack of books, pages to be edited, and this long overdue blog post to write.

Oh, and because it’s a fun fact, this window seat just happens to be in the bed and breakfast where we had our wedding, three years ago this very week.

And they have coffee.  Like, good coffee, complete with a delicious breakfast.

Today is lovely.

I’ve been trying to pinpoint the reason I haven’t been blogging as much lately.  It’s not because I don’t want to, or because I don’t like it, or because I’ve forgotten.  It’s partially because time is flying by.  Much of it is due to more focus with revisions, as I’ve mentioned.

Mainly?  While tackling this huge project, my days — though productive and lovely — have started to look the same.  I’m kind of doing you a favor, I think, by not bombarding you with daily iterations of, “Oh, and today — just like yesterday, and tomorrow — I got up, had coffee, sat at (black chair by the window with Mr. Cat draped across my lap/desk with Crazy Kitten/favorite Starbucks table) and worked on making my scenes better.  I got stuff done — probably not as much as I wanted to, but still.  Progress.”  I don’t want to bore you.

I started thinking, though, that this is probably still information worth sharing.  Maybe someone might even find it encouraging.  Because, really?  Consistency and diligence and focus is kind of the goal.  And redundant as it may be to report, I’m actually doing well with this goal.  (I don’t mean to make anyone feel guilty by saying I’m doing well, by the way.  Not every goal is going so well.  Perhaps I should make another post altogether for goals I’m not doing so hot with.)(Creativity Workshop, I had good intentions.  Truly.  I did.)

Even with progress being made, it’s nice to break up the routine and write at a new place this weekend.  I brought stacks of work, even though it’s a mini-vacation of sorts, because I think there’s a certain freshness that comes from writing in a bright, clean, unfamiliar, quiet, complimentary-coffee-at-the-ready kind of place.  Words and ideas look fresh here.  Focus feels sharper.

I think this is largely due to the window seat.

Here’s to focus and freshness and summer sun. What do you guys do when you want to — or need to — to spice up life with a little freshness?  How’s everyone doing out there?

11 Responses to “Fresh and Focused”

  1. Linda Cassidy Lewis Saturday / 17 July 10 at 11:06 am #

    I’ve missed your posts. I saw you on Twitter so I knew you were alive, but still. :-)

    You read my blog, so you know how I am … or was. I’m getting back to normal now. (Hmmmm, normal is …?)

    Anyway. What’s your percentage done on your editing?

    • owlandsparrow Saturday / 17 July 10 at 11:16 am #

      Yay! You’re right, I’m totally caught up with your posts, and I’m SO glad to hear things are looking up for you again!

      I’m in the middle of Chapter 12, which feels like a lot. My charts tell me I’m 38% finished. This number is both encouraging and discouraging. It’s close to 40%, which for some reason feels close(ish) to 50%. This tricks me into thinking I’m more like halfway done, instead of just a bit past a third. At any rate, though, I’m happy with it. :)

      Thanks for missing me! I’m going to try to post more often, because I missed doing it, too. :) Not to mention the community I feel with you guys between the comment section (and Twitter, of course).

  2. Kerryn Saturday / 17 July 10 at 2:37 pm #

    It is a fantastic window seat. Love it!

    • owlandsparrow Saturday / 17 July 10 at 4:17 pm #

      I know, right?! SO fun. This is the most expensive room here, but they were running an $89/night special (about $200 less than it would normally be…) on all their rooms this week! I’ve gotten so much written!

  3. Merrilee Saturday / 17 July 10 at 5:19 pm #

    Now that’s a nice place to write!

    Focus and perseverance is important, especially when editing. Well done you for sticking with it and making daily progress.

    I miss your little update posts though, as you always had something fun to say or an insight to share.

    Would love to hear from you more often.

    • owlandsparrow Saturday / 17 July 10 at 5:45 pm #

      Yeah, I’m making a note to self: I need to be on the lookout for a yellow-curtained, trees-in-the-background, awesome window seat (sun optional. I love rain, too…) when we eventually go house-shopping, haha. I would get so much done!

      And thanks, Merrilee! I like writing those little update posts, too – it’s nice to know people enjoy them. :) Lately, I’ve tried to make writing/revising the first part of my morning, and let blogging take second place. I tend to let myself get caught up in the blogging, otherwise… That’s my hurdle at this point, because while I’m getting good at focusing on writing/revising first, and planting myself in the chair until the task at hand is finished, I get tired and then end up not blogging at all. I’m going to try to get better at balancing the two without sacrificing the quality of either. :)

  4. Megs - Scattered Bits Sunday / 18 July 10 at 11:27 am #

    I LOVE window seats. :writer envy: :joy to you in writing:

    Friday, I finally took a day off work. A real day. Where there was no OTHER work waiting (hounding, harrassing) in the wings. For the first time in ages I wrote over 1800 words and know exactly where I want to go next. I won’t bore you with the whole story, but I’ll let you know that your encouragement and what Juliette Wade said that I shared WEEKS ago and a long heart-to-heart with my grandmother all helped.

    I’m writing again, and it’s kind of freeing. I feel like someone gave me wings.

    • owlandsparrow Monday / 19 July 10 at 8:46 am #

      Oh, Megs, that’s wonderful! 1800 words and direction? Awesome! I’m so glad you’re writing again – and feeling good about it. Also, that my words had anything to do with it. :) Keep me posted, my friend!

  5. Lua Monday / 19 July 10 at 12:44 am #

    Oh that window seat looks lovely- and such an inspiring place to write! :) I’m glad you’re feeling fresh again, I’ve missed your posts. When I need to freshen up a bit, I usually have a ‘me’ day and spend all day on my couch (next to the window) read and cuddle with my dogs!

    • owlandsparrow Monday / 19 July 10 at 8:51 am #

      Thanks, Lua! I miss the window seat already, haha. I’m about to head to plain old Starbucks this morning to write. (However, as far as Starbucks stores go, this one’s my favorite in the US. It’s huge and has nice colors, plus I’m friends with the whole staff.)

      And, I agree – reading on the couch with pets is such a nice way to freshen up. I just wish my cats would cuddle more. That, and not bite/scratch me. Oh, well. Mr. Cat likes to be around people, so having him a few feet a way is comforting, too. :)

  6. cynthia Wednesday / 4 August 10 at 3:38 pm #

    Wonderful window seat–perfect for reading and writing. Nice to catch up with all you’ve been doing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

