Today: You. Me. Manuscript.

30 Jul

Dear Bright and Shiny Friday,

I have big plans for you.

Before you ask, the answer is no to the following: no, it’s not time for Survivor to come back on yet.  No, we are not going to the Bahamas¹ today and, unfortunately, no, we won’t see any oceans.  Or mountains, for that matter.  No, we aren’t going on a J.Crew shopping spree, or to a spa, but those things *could* be arranged — IF you cooperate with me today.

Which you will, because what I have in store for you, Bright and Shiny Friday?

Is SO much better.

Get this, Bright and Shiny Friday: you.  Me.  Manuscript, pens, highlighters, note cards.  Laptop, of course.  Library table, those way-more-comfortable-than-they-look chairs, and that cute little lamp that’s attached to the middle of the table.  And because Library is cool, yes we can — and will! —  bring a non-fat latte and some goldfish crackers, maybe even some nonperishable food items for lunch, since we’ll be there, like, all day.²  Another reason Library rocks?  They’re not even making us pay rent, even though we’re totally moving in for the day.

Because today?  Is Kayla + Bright and Shiny Friday’s Revision Mini-Boot-Camp Day!  You know, as if someone were actually running it.  Except they’re not.  I just decided we could use a little extra conditioning today.

What?

No, I’m not torturing you.  There will be lattes!  And goldfish!  For a while, anyway.  And, after it’s over, there will be that rewarding feeling you get when you sit there, work hard, and have something to show for it.

Be ready in ten minutes.  I just need to pack my three bags.

Love,

The Girl With The Strange Messy Bun For A Hairdo  (a.k.a. The Girl Who Has Set Aside Caring About Her Hair Today In Favor Of More Time For Mini-Boot-Camp)

¹Yet. That’s five weeks away.

²I wonder if there’s easily accessible hot water there?  I could so bring the French press and some pre-ground coffee beans?

12 Responses to “Today: You. Me. Manuscript.”

  1. DiscoveringMyVoice Friday / 30 July 10 at 9:24 am #

    Sounds like you have a great day ahead of you! I hope it’s super productive! I plan on spending my day in a similar manner. Also, I’m totally jealous of your Bahamas trip. Have a great day. Miss you!

    Kathryn

    • Kayla Olson Friday / 30 July 10 at 4:14 pm #

      Thanks, Kathryn! :) It’s been great so far. Worked from about 9-2 in the library, took a relaxing lunch break, and am back to work again. Hope yours is going well, too!

      Yeeeeeah, we’re pretty excited about the Bahamas. Andrew’s never been on a cruise, and the only one I’ve ever been on was an incredibly awkward experience (first kiss + church trip = not the best idea I’ve ever had, lol).

    • Kayla Olson Friday / 30 July 10 at 4:16 pm #

      http://discoveringmyvoice.wordpress.com/ <– A link to Kathryn's blog. You guys should all check it out. I noticed there have been a few clicks on her name today, but unfortunately, her name's attached to an old link! :)

  2. Chibi Friday / 30 July 10 at 11:29 am #

    You know, when it’s all said and done, I think I’d much rather go work in the library than a coffee shop. It’s quiet, but many libraries have all the accessibilities that a coffee shop does (or at least, my university’s library did) – and yes, they did offer hot water water for free, though you would have to pay like $.25 for a cup. I hope your day is as productive as you need it to be. Good luck!

    • Kayla Olson Friday / 30 July 10 at 4:23 pm #

      So funny — when I read this earlier, there were the LOUDEST kids behind me, and an equally loud guy talking on a cell phone at the next table over. As if people had never heard of the concept that libraries are supposed to be quiet, you know?! Anyway, though, that got better. Before I knew it, I’d been there for five hours. With the exception of that half an hour, it was pretty quiet.

      Now I’m in my Starbucks, and it’s actually quite peaceful today. They’ve got free internet and it’s, like, two minutes from my apartment (versus about ten minutes to the library), so unless it’s unusually loud, it tends to work out quite well.

      I’m totally going to check the library about hot water next time – I was just kidding, but wow! Now that I know some libraries actually offer that, I am going to have to take advantage of it, haha. Hope all is well for you, too! :)

      • Chibi Sunday / 1 August 10 at 12:11 pm #

        Ok, it’s quiet MOST of the time lol. I guess, especially during summer vacation, you can’t expect it all the time. And yes, my university’s library really did offer free hot water. You didn’t even have to ask about it; they had a small cafe on the first floor, and the water was in one of those large coffee thermoses on the counter. I never had a use for it, but I know a lot of people did. It’s worth a shot.

  3. Elena Friday / 30 July 10 at 8:33 pm #

    This post made me realize just how ungrateful novels can be. They seem to have no idea how much time we spend obsessing over them! I hope it enjoyed the field trip today.

    • Kayla Olson Saturday / 31 July 10 at 9:33 am #

      Haha, it did enjoy the field trip (as did I), but it was a bit stubborn. ;) I’d hate to see how it would have behaved had I not coerced it to participate in my little mini-boot-camp day!

  4. Lua Saturday / 31 July 10 at 12:37 pm #

    Oh I loved the way you described the library Kayla- you’re absolutely right, those chairs are way more comfortable than they look! :)
    Hmm a Revision Mini-Boot-Camp Day? Might be a good idea for me and my manuscript since my revision process is not going as fast as I hoped it would…

    • Kayla Olson Wednesday / 4 August 10 at 12:23 pm #

      Yes! The ones in my library, at least, are wooden with no cushions, but something about the shape makes them really pleasant to sit in. I’m headed back there this afternoon for a writing date w/a friend. I’d definitely recommend a Mini-Boot-Camp Day! It’s mainly helpful with my mental approach. Like, if I set out to spend eight hours in one place, I’m more likely to stay five or six (as opposed to staying until I get tired naturally…which might be only two or three hours after I sat down, haha). :)

  5. Rowenna Sunday / 1 August 10 at 7:49 pm #

    Oooh I love those days–dates with your manuscript days :) Hope it was not only productive, but enjoyable and inspiring, too!

    • Kayla Olson Wednesday / 4 August 10 at 12:25 pm #

      It was productive, enjoyable, AND inspiring, if you can believe that! haha I tackled a huge scene that day, and had the stamina to do more than I normally would have.

      I credit the goldfish crackers for that. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

