It’s Shiny + Bright,

7 Aug

in case you haven’t noticed.

My new blog layout, that is.  I figured I should at least acknowledge the change, since it’s the first time I’ve forced my blog to endure a makeover.

You should know: I am a creature of habit.

It was really hard for me to take the leap and actually change the theme — especially when I realized my old theme wasn’t available anymore.  Nothing like making a leap with no safety net, you know?  Nonetheless, I took the leap (obviously) and am pleased to say I’m adjusting well.

In case you are wondering why I took the leap, there are two reasons.  One: dark-on-light is easier to read.  Two: the fonts feel clean, the colors bright, and (I hope) the overall effect comes off as a bit more professional.  The only thing I don’t love are the faint pink dots in the background.  The bold pink date dots, though?  Love.

Along with the HUGE theme change, I thought I’d go ahead and call your attention to some fun additions to my blogroll.  Namely, the websites of Natalie Whipple, Kiersten White, Stephanie Perkins, and Laini Taylor’s über-awesome website (“Not for Robots”) for “people for whom writing is hard.” I’m loving these sites, and the people behind them — from what I gather via Twitter and their blogs — are adorable.  Their posts are always helpful and amazing.  On top of that, they do Twitter well.  You should follow them.

Okay.  I think that’s it.

Feel free to peruse things, if you’re in a procrastinatory mood.  Happy writing and happy weekend!

13 Responses to “It’s Shiny + Bright,”

  1. Najela Saturday / 7 August 10 at 10:59 pm #

    I really love this theme. It’s uber cute. =)

    • Merrilee Sunday / 8 August 10 at 4:12 am #

      Oh I love it! Finally I can read your blog without eyestrain :) This is beautiful Kayla, and reflects your bright personality much better :)

  2. Kerryn Sunday / 8 August 10 at 8:14 am #

    I love the dots! It’s super bright and shiny. I know the pain of trying to find a new theme that represents you and feels like home. Congrats on making the leap. :)

  3. Madison Woods Sunday / 8 August 10 at 9:45 am #

    I look at new the theme options when they come out, but always chicken out before making the swap. I, too, am a creature of habit. Yours is nice and easy on the eyes.

  4. Megs - Scattered Bits Sunday / 8 August 10 at 12:48 pm #

    Well, odd me, but I’ll miss the old theme. It was the theme that first drew me to read your site and frankly, this theme is broken in IE6, and since I work at the 33rd largest company in the US and they have IE6 still, I still don’t feel an urgent need to upgrade. But I like the colors and I’m glad you found one you like. (I have a ridiculously excessive enjoyment of intense colors, but I’m always fond of a white or off-white background. :grins: )

    Hope the writing is going well! I’m finally quite happy to be writing again and I’m on a two week semi-vacation (home chores and second job, but not the FT day-job), so I’m giving myself no pressure other than to write what I love and see what happens.

  5. Lua Sunday / 8 August 10 at 1:01 pm #

    I love it Kayla! It’s much easier to read and I love the soft pink background.
    I’m a person of habit as well but a little change is good every now and then ;)
    Thank you for the links, off I go to check them out!

  6. Laura Best Sunday / 8 August 10 at 8:16 pm #

    I’m liking it, Kayla!

  7. Kayla Olson Monday / 9 August 10 at 5:13 pm #

    Thanks for your feedback, everyone! It’s been a few days, and I still like the new theme a lot. It hasn’t been as traumatic as I expected it to be, and I’ve adjusted quite well. :)

    PS: Megs! I’m sorry to hear it’s broken on your browser. Broken how, exactly? And, as for the colors, I was drawn to the dark myself, obviously. :) I love gray, blue, and green, and really liked the artsy feel of light on dark. The more blogs I read, though, the more I found myself gravitating toward easy-to-read ones (and it seems others do, too). I hope you’ll keep coming back, because I think you’re cool and I like knowing you. :)

    PPS: Hi, Madison! Thanks for the comment – you’re the only commenter I haven’t seen before now, so you get a singled-out welcome!! :) Normally, I try to write back to each comment individually, but in this case, it would have just been the same thing over and over again. Hope to see you around again! Do you have a blog? Your name doesn’t link to one.

    • Kayla Olson Monday / 9 August 10 at 5:14 pm #

      (Um, wow. Four smilies? Guess I’ve been having a good day.)

    • Megs - Scattered Bits Wednesday / 11 August 10 at 7:11 am #

      Boxes occasionally (but not always) run over edges and links below the comment box are misaligned and screwy, things run right off the page. If I maximize it decreases the issue, but doesn’t make it go away.

      I guess the old theme was designed to work in the old IE and people are moving away from that on the assumption that everybody’s upgraded, but with the exception of the programmers that feel they have the right to ignore such things (which gives me the feeling that I can certainly ignore them), I don’t actually need the “upgrade” as this site and every site I actually care about is both readable and usable.

      Besides, family members have IE7 or 8. I never, never, EVER want that monstrosity. It loses most of the ease of use I like and throws in a lot of obstructions to good browsing that I hate. And I really, really, REALLY don’t like the tabs.

  8. Madison Woods Monday / 9 August 10 at 8:59 pm #

    Hi Kayla :) I am new here, found you somehow…can’t remember how – but I see familiar faces here!

    I do have a blog, and I’m logged in to it, so I’m surprised its not leaving a link: http://madisonwoods.wordpress.com – would love to have you stop in for a visit one day :)

  9. cynthia Friday / 20 August 10 at 8:32 pm #

    I LOVE your new theme. Wow, it’s just busting out all over. Good for you!

    • Kayla Olson Wednesday / 25 August 10 at 11:45 pm #

      Cynthia, thank you! :) I love it, too. It didn’t take long to adjust.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

