Today:

11 Aug

Today, I will write a blog post, because I’m trying to post on a more regular schedule.

Today, I will plant myself in a chair and work.

Today, I plan to knock a major dent in these revisions.

Today, I would plant self in chair, work, and knock major dent into revisions even if I was purely trying to be disciplined.  Fortunately, today, I have enthusiasm and motivation to fuel my attempts at discipline.

Today, I will not spill my latte on my laptop and ruin it like I did that time during finals week my junior year of college.

Today, I will write tighter sentences than the one directly above this one.

Today, I will enjoy where I am in this process.  There’s always going to be someone way up ahead of me.  But I’m here.

Today, though, I reserve the right to not particularly enjoy where I am, physically.  This is due to unpredictable influxes of coffee shop roulette: it might be pure serenity, but there’s also the chance that it will be pure chaos and I’ll want to just smack someone.

Today, I will not smack anyone.

Today, I’ll work hard.

Tonight, I’ll work a bit more.  (Well, I’ll either work or read all the WriteOnCon stuff I missed from yesterday.)

And then, I’ll rest.

What are your goals for today?

17 Responses to “Today:”

  1. Megs - Scattered Bits Wednesday / 11 August 10 at 7:12 am #

    You go, girl!

    My sole goal for the day: today I will write one more sentence from Iveya. From the time she introduced herself and started a story, she only gives me ONE sentence a day. :rolls eyes:

    • Kayla Olson Friday / 13 August 10 at 8:25 am #

      Hey, Megs! I hope she gave you at least one sentence! :)

      • Megs - Scattered Bits Friday / 13 August 10 at 7:51 pm #

        Nope. I’m trying to be real nice to her and get any next sentence out of her, but she apparently didn’t like that I got her personal history out of her. I’ve never had a reluctant narrator before. Or maybe she just doesn’t like to feel rushed. Hm.

  2. Linda Cassidy Lewis Wednesday / 11 August 10 at 8:40 am #

    Great goals, Kayla, and I’m sure you’ll meet them all.

    Today, I will finish editing my submission for my critique group. I will. I will. I will.

    • Kayla Olson Friday / 13 August 10 at 8:28 am #

      I did meet them all. :) My stamina wavered toward the end of the day, and I ended up resting a little earlier than I meant to, but it was a fun and productive day. (Despite the detour I took to the doctor’s office, due to my fingernail injury)(which ended up turning purple, hence the doctor’s visit…it’s getting better now, though!)

      How did the editing go?

  3. Agatha82 Wednesday / 11 August 10 at 10:51 am #

    Today, I will only be online for half an hour in the afternoon instead of the usual 4 hours I spend gazing at blogs. Instead, I will work on my novel :-)
    (and my time is up, so I suppose I better log off)

    • Kayla Olson Friday / 13 August 10 at 8:29 am #

      Hey, Agatha! Thanks for spending your precious online time commenting here before signing off for the day!! :) Did you meet your goal, and work on your novel?

  4. Carol Ann Hoel Wednesday / 11 August 10 at 11:31 am #

    I am sure you will enjoy yourself today as you work with such enthusiasm! May your the reward of your work follow closely in your tracks.

    My goal for today is totally unrelated to writing. I’d rather be writing, but duty calls.

    Thank you for sharing.

    • Kayla Olson Friday / 13 August 10 at 8:31 am #

      Yes, it was very enjoyable! Got a ton of stuff done – somehow, I was able to focus better than usual for longer than usual. This is a good thing, and I’m hoping it will work again today! :)

      Will you get any time to write over the weekend? If so, hope you enjoy it! :)

  5. Melissa Wednesday / 11 August 10 at 12:20 pm #

    “Today, I will enjoy where I am in this process. There’s always going to be someone way up ahead of me. But I’m here.”

    LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS! It’s something that is so hard to overlook. Someone will ALWAYS be ahead of you, no matter what stage you are in. Querying? Someone scored an agent. Got an agent? Someone landed a publishing deal. Book on the shelves? Someone is working on #2.

    This industry is easy to get lost in. It’s imperative to remember to “live in the moment”!

    • Kayla Olson Friday / 13 August 10 at 8:34 am #

      YES! This is so true, and so helpful, yet so hard to remember sometimes. I’m glad you were encouraged by it, friend!! :) You had a pretty stellar writing day on Wednesday, if I am remembering my days correctly, and I’m SO EXCITED for where you are in this process.

  6. Lua Wednesday / 11 August 10 at 2:59 pm #

    Today I’ll eat less chocolate and more green vegetables…
    Right, like that can ever happen! :)
    But you are my inspiration Kayla, and good luck with your goals. I have no doubt you’ll meet them all!

    • Kayla Olson Friday / 13 August 10 at 8:37 am #

      Yeah, so that whole eat less chocolate and more green vegetables tends to just look like eat the same amount of chocolate and — if I’m lucky and remember — more green vegetables for me, haha.

      Guess it’s a good goal, no matter how many times we fail it, right? ;)

      Thanks for your kind words and your encouragement, Lua! Hope you’ve had a wonderful, productive, inspired week.

  7. J.C Wednesday / 11 August 10 at 3:02 pm #

    Today? try and put away the 5 loads of washing piled in the cot – the baby won’t sleep in it, so at least it’s good for something ;-)

    Hope you had an awesome day!

    • Kayla Olson Friday / 13 August 10 at 8:39 am #

      Ahhh! That’s SUCH a good goal to have. I could do with a laundry session, myself. Folding it and putting it away always seems to take so much longer than the laundry itself. Blah.

      Hope all went well with that, and that you had an awesome day, too! Have fun with your sweet girls (and sweet man, too)!!

  8. Chibi Wednesday / 11 August 10 at 10:38 pm #

    I had to laugh when I saw your “Today, I will not smack anyone”. How many times have I thought that to myself…

    I really like the new look, by the way. It’s very clean and inviting (and you’re right, the dark-on-light is much easier to read).

    • Kayla Olson Friday / 13 August 10 at 8:42 am #

      Hey, Chibi! May you have a smack-free weekend (and freedom from the desire to smack anyone, too!)! :)

      Thanks for the compliments on the new look! I’m quite liking it, too. It’s more refreshing than I expected to see such a bright screen on my blog. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

