Back to Work.

19 Aug

After a weekend of being at places like this:

The whole family at my parents' ranch.

And this:

(My dad is good with green things.)

To do things like this:

She looks like me, but she's not me.

And this:

Why, yes, that IS my (hot) husband!

It’s been hard to do this:

But, never fear.  The pink pen, black pen, fuchsia highlighter, colored tabs, neon cards, tiny post-its and full-sized post-its have been put back to work again.  Progress is moving along quite well, thankyouforasking–I’m now 76.1% through this draft.

Which is also why this is mainly a picture post: I’m itching to get started on edits this morning.  Now that my energy has returned, I am SO taking advantage of it.  After the Schützenfest¹ (pictured above), I was TIRED.  Motivated, but without energy.  Tuesday was a little better, Wednesday was a lot better, and today?  Well, today might just be amazing.

But only if I get started.  And pour more coffee.

¹Schützenfest: (n.) An annual (starting this year) celebration completely made up by my adorable father, who decided the best way to bring the family together was to shoot things and give it an awesome, umlauted name.  It worked.  We had a target contest (complete with detailed Excel scoresheet made by my dad)(it runs in the family) and a skeet shoot², drank Shiner and ate amazing food, and stayed out in the sun all day.  Miraculously, I walked away with 6th place and a bullseye in the target contest (out of 12) and only got sun-scorched on my right side.

²Skeet shoot: where one person sends neon orange disks flying and you try to shoot them with a shotgun.  My husband rocked this.  I did the opposite of rocking it.

12 Responses to “Back to Work.”

  1. Carol Ann Hoel Thursday / 19 August 10 at 10:11 am #

    Being away from your work for a time makes you love it with more gusto when you come back refreshed! Keep going! Thank you for sharing.

    • Kayla Olson Wednesday / 25 August 10 at 11:49 pm #

      That’s so true! It took a few days to get back in the swing of things, but it wasn’t long before I got back into it. Thank you for the encouragement, and you’re welcome! :)

  2. Agatha82 Thursday / 19 August 10 at 1:37 pm #

    Your dad sounds great. Love that Schützenfest :-)
    Don’t worry you’ll get back into things, takes a bit of time sometimes…

    • Kayla Olson Wednesday / 25 August 10 at 11:51 pm #

      He IS great. He’s wonderful, fun, super-smart, and more good things than I have time to type. More than half of the fun of Schützenfest was watching HIM have fun! :)

  3. Lua Friday / 20 August 10 at 10:25 am #

    haha love the pictures Kayla, especially the work place :) It’s nice to have a little break before going back to work!

    • Kayla Olson Wednesday / 25 August 10 at 11:56 pm #

      Thanks, Lua! Breaks are fun, but I always enjoy returning to my novel (and the organized chaos pictured above)!

  4. Melissa Friday / 20 August 10 at 4:37 pm #

    Anything that entails “drinking shiner” as an event or requirement is something I can appreciate. I may need my own [name]fest. Like… soon.

    FINISH YOUR BOOK. WANT TO READ!

    • Kayla Olson Wednesday / 25 August 10 at 11:58 pm #

      Hmmm. Perhaps you are having Mockingfest as we speak? Shiner included?

      [Insert longer comment here. Andrew just finished three chapters of Catching Fire and it's my turn again. It's midnight and I have a long way to go - you understand, right?] ;)

  5. Molly Sunday / 22 August 10 at 4:04 pm #

    Hey Kayla!

    I wanted to pop in here primarily so that I could thank you for your awesome comments on my blog. It’s nice to know that I’m not the only person who reads my stuff. ;) But besides all of THAT, I love your blog, especially the bright pink dots for the dates. Love the pictures- my dad is good with green things too. :) Well, I’d better get writing. Good luck with your manuscript! (Oh, and I’m with Melissa. I want to read it too!)

    • Kayla Olson Thursday / 26 August 10 at 12:03 am #

      Molly!

      Like I told you on Twitter, your comment/tweet rocked my Sunday. Thanks for saying nice things about my blog and manuscript. *blushes* The pink date dots are relatively new, and they’re one of my favorite parts of this layout. :)

      I’m trying to be good with green things. My dad gave me some plants, but alas: the Texas sun has scorched all but the most resilient ones. Now I have a couple of green things and a few brownish shriveled things. Sigh.

      Hope school and writing and reading are going well!

  6. jenniferneri Monday / 23 August 10 at 4:40 pm #

    weeeeeeeee.
    how did it go??
    fun pics.

    • Kayla Olson Thursday / 26 August 10 at 12:04 am #

      Hey, Jennifer!

      It went really well, thanks! I got a ton done that day, and the next day, too. This week has been productive in a different way, but productive nonetheless. :) Yay!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

