Eight

14 Sep

Since it’s still just-returned-from-vacation week, I have another not-too-serious post for today!  Linda tagged me in one of those Q&A posts where you’re supposed to fill it out and tag more people.  Five people, to be exact.  I may or may not follow that rule.  We’ll see.

I like this little Q&A because it’s only eight questions long.  It was fun to read Linda’s answers, so that convinced me to go ahead and participate, too.  So here goes!

one

If you could have any superpower, what would you pick?  Why?

It’s a toss-up between telekinesis and flying.  How awesome would it be to swish my finger/eyes/thoughts and knock something off a shelf?  Or summon my coffee cup from across the room?  (Side note: I wonder if telekinesis comes with the ability to control whether or not the coffee spills?  Or, if that’s a skill you can only acquire once you have the power?)

Flying is pretty self-explanatory, right?  Who wants to sit in traffic?  (Correct answer: not me.)  Plus, it would be sort of awesome to see things from above and feel the wind in my hair.  Sort of scary, too.  (And I’d probably end up with some wicked awful frizzed-out curls.  But oh well.  The awesome factor might just trump the scary and frizz factors.)

two

Who is your style icon?

Style icon.  Uh…style icon…  Can I say the J.Crew catalog models?  They always look fabulous and stylish, and I would love to put outfits together like they do.  I try.  I have a feeling I do not yet succeed.

three

What is your favorite quote?

“He made Him who knew no sin to be sin on our behalf, so that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.” (2 Corinthians 5:21)

In case you’re unfamiliar, this is a quote from the Bible.  I love it because it pretty much sums up Christianity in one smart, beautiful sentence.  It’s pretty much pronoun central, though, so here’s help if it’s confusing: the ‘He’ refers to God, the ‘Him’ refers to Jesus, the ‘our’ and  ‘we’ refer to any who believe, the last ‘Him’ again refers to Jesus.

four

What is the best compliment you’ve ever received?

Um…I don’t know.  I tend to get compliments on my singing voice and on my hair, but I think the one I’m most digging right now is the fact that Linda and Melissa pretty much enjoyed the draft I just finished.  This means the most because I’ve worked the hardest at the book (as compared with my singing and my hair).  It’s also the hardest compliment to believe, because I’m such a stinking perfectionist and I know it still needs work.  (I’m choosing to trust and believe them, though, since they were also honest about the draft’s weaknesses.)

five

What playlist/CD is in your iPod/CD player right now?

For being such a musical person, you’d be surprised at how much music I don’t listen to.  I haven’t listened to my iPod in months and hardly turn on background music.  If I do turn it on—resist the urge to laugh here, y’all—my playlist, lately, is a compilation of songs from LOST. This list includes Mama Cass, Petula Clark, Patsy Cline, and Buddy Holly.  I want some DriveShaft, but can’t seem to find it anywhere.

Classic favorites of mine include Patty Griffin, Sheryl Crow, and the entire RENT soundtrack.

six

Are you a night owl or a morning person?

Mornings.  Absolutely, no question.

seven

Do you prefer cats or dogs?

This is like asking if I like lattes.

Remy in the Drawer

Dexter the Kitty

How could I not be a kitty person, with these guys?

eight

What is the meaning behind your blog name?

(I copied this answer from the comment section of one of Linda’s old posts, where she asked this question.)

When I first started the blog, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to remain anonymous or not. I didn’t know who I’d meet, didn’t know if they’d have their names out there, didn’t know if it would be a good or bad risk to get mine out there.

So, I chose something else. “Owl and Sparrow” kind of just came to me, but I wanted to have some reason for it. It’s been so long since I came up with it, I’d almost forgotten I’d chosen it for a reason.

I chose the “Owl” half because owls are viewed in conflicting ways by different cultures. Some see them as a symbol of death and evil, others see them as a symbol of wisdom. As a writer who was just beginning to put her opinions out there, it was a good reminder for me that not everyone sees things in the same way. Some people might take offense to what I write, others might think it’s the best thing ever.

The “Sparrow” half of it, well, it’s also a reminder of conflicting images, and hope. Sparrows are common, nothing terribly special about them. In the Bible, though, Jesus says God knows and cares even about the sparrows – “Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from the will of your Father. And even the very hairs of your head are numbered. So don’t be afraid; for you are worth more than many sparrows.” (Matt. 10:29) This was a reminder of hope and worth, despite insignificance.

Putting the owl (wisdom/death) with the sparrow (humility/hope) seemed like a good thing to do. Plus, I just liked the words and how they sounded.

So, there you go.

Alright.  End of Q&A session.  Two bits of stuff I shall close with: first, I don’t feel like tagging anyone but would love to read y’all’s answers.  Participate if you want to, let me know in the comments when you post, and I’ll update this post with links to your websites.  Second: I realize there are two Bible verses in this post, and that many of you are not Bible-believing people.  Please don’t read my answers as here-why-don’t-I-just-shove-the-Bible-in-your-face sort of answers—I merely chose to answer honestly, and that’s what came out.

Happy Tuesday, friends!  Again, let me know if you post your own answers, and I’ll link to you.

(UPDATE: So far, LCD and Agatha82 have posted their own answers.  Check out their blogs, if you haven’t already!)

Coming up this week: FINALLY, the rest of my comparison series.  For reals this time, yo.

11 Responses to “Eight”

  1. LCD Tuesday / 14 September 10 at 12:55 pm #

    I loved the bit about the kitties, and the pics. :) And now I must look up animal symbolism. Here’s my post with my answers to the questions. :D

    http://chaosoflcd14.wordpress.com/2010/09/14/eight-questions/

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 14 September 10 at 7:16 pm #

      Thanks! I really enjoyed your answers, too! Thanks so much for commenting! :)

  2. Agatha82 Tuesday / 14 September 10 at 1:50 pm #

    I was tagged before and replied on my post but I loved how many people chose flying. I could not because I’m petrified of heights lol. I have to say that I loved how you came up with your blog name!

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 14 September 10 at 7:19 pm #

      Yeah, it’s sort of weird that I even chose flying — the older I get, the more afraid of heights I am. Still, though. It would be pretty cool. And thanks for the compliment on my blog name (or, on the way I came up with it, rather). Wayyy back in my very first post, I mentioned I would one day explain how I came up with it. Over a year later, the explanation is finally here, haha. (I never really had a good reason to write about it until now, I guess.)

  3. Linda Cassidy Lewis Tuesday / 14 September 10 at 5:24 pm #

    As for #4 … hmmm, you interpreted all my “I love your book” comments as “pretty much enjoyed”?! Interesting.

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 14 September 10 at 7:16 pm #

      I was erring on the side of modesty, hehe. But now that you mention it, all those “I love your book” comments pretty much rocked my world. ;)

  4. thorsaurus Tuesday / 14 September 10 at 6:35 pm #

    One: Invisibility, for those mornings when I just don’t feel like shaving.

    Two: What’s a style icon? My friends call me Papa Smurf, does that count?

    Three: “The opposite of love is not hate, it’s fear.” -the Dalai Lama. A compelling meditation,no matter what religion you subscribe to.

    Four: You’re a good father and a good husband. (You’re a good writer is a distant second.)

    Five: My IPOD is on shuffle, “The Longships” by Enya just started.

    Six: I’m surely a night person. I love the book, “The Midnight Disease.” It explains, among other things, the connection between night owls and writing addictions.

    Seven: Dogs. Big dogs. My Avalon is a Newfy-Lab mix. She’s five months old and already 51 lbs. (Just weighed her this morning on the Wii.)

    Eight: Edited by Mjollnir. Mjollnir was Thor’s hammer in Norse mythology. It always struck true. That’s how I strive to write. Why Norse? My lineage is mostly Scandinavian.

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 14 September 10 at 7:26 pm #

      Awesome answers, John! (Did a little research to find your name, rather than just call you Thor, hehe)(Although Thor is a pretty sweet name, by the way.) I especially like the quote, the compliment, and the way you came up with your blog name!

  5. Thorsaurus Tuesday / 14 September 10 at 9:53 pm #

    Thank you, it was a fun list. I liked the reasoning behind your blog name as well.

  6. Melissa Friday / 17 September 10 at 9:42 am #

    Um, DO BELIEVE US! Despite the novel’s weaknesses, it’s amazing and you have written a great novel that will be totally loved and adored by countless persons. Seriously. I’m still jealous at your attention to detail. You’re so lyrical & pretty. I would never think to describe colors as kelly green or teal – not until I really sat down and went “THINK MELISSA, GOSH DARN IT! MAKE IT PRETTY!”

    Basically, your hard work makes you look fabulous. Kudos, yo.

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 21 September 10 at 12:50 pm #

      I already said thank you to this in private, but just so the world knows?

      MELISSA IS AWESOME AND SHE ROCKS. Which is why I’m doing my best to believe her. Because she would never lie to me and ohhhhhhhhhhh why can’t we live closer and go on writing dates and stuff?
      :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

