It’s Time.

11 Oct

My don’t-touch-that-manuscript-lest-it-burn-you break is over.  It’s finally cool enough to handle.

This afternoon, at precisely 3:30pm, I will pick it up again.

There will be coffee, comfy sweatshirts and pants, note-taking devices of all sorts.  Fresh eyes.  Peace and quiet.

I will read.  Think.  Focus.  Evaluate.

Today, I am buzzing with quiet anticipation.  To finish a draft feels exhilarating, but to start the process of making it even better?  Well, that’s both exciting and scary.  Mostly exciting.

Deep breath.

It’s time.

12 Responses to “It’s Time.”

  1. cherilaser Monday / 11 October 10 at 11:15 am #

    Good luck with your editing! That is truly the most important element of our craft, because the success of any story–no matter how compelling the idea or how well written–depends entirely on the editing.

    That subject has been covered in great depth through my blog, which I invite you to visit. Meanwhile, I’ll be thinking of you today at 3:30!

    All the best,
    Cheri

  2. elenasc Monday / 11 October 10 at 12:03 pm #

    Good Luck!!!

  3. Agatha82 Monday / 11 October 10 at 12:54 pm #

    Good luck with it, I am afraid I detest editing, the most fun I have is writing the first draft… but sounds like you’re really looking forward to this, so enjoy!

  4. Merrilee Monday / 11 October 10 at 4:26 pm #

    Woo! Very exciting time!

  5. Megs Monday / 11 October 10 at 7:54 pm #

    I’m rooting you on!

  6. Melissa Monday / 11 October 10 at 9:37 pm #

    so i uh… i should probably finish those crits now, huh?

    • Melissa Monday / 11 October 10 at 9:39 pm #

      BTW – HURRAY!!!!!!!

      I’ve been meaning to tell you this in my emails with the chapters, but always forget. so I’ll do so now.

      Your writing became visibly stronger as the book progresses. I’m sure you’ve noticed I don’t have nearly the same amount of comments in the last third of the book that I did in the first. Seriously, all your hard work really shows.

  7. joyofdawn Wednesday / 13 October 10 at 12:02 pm #

    How exciting!Hurray!I know you’ll do great.

  8. Liza Kane Wednesday / 13 October 10 at 5:23 pm #

    Enjoy! *busily planning and writing to get where you are*

  9. Laura Best Saturday / 16 October 10 at 5:39 am #

    It is a wonderful feeling picking that manuscript up after it has set for awhile. It’s as if we’re reading it for the first time and sometimes wondering if we actually wrote those words… Have fun!

  10. Kayla Olson Monday / 18 October 10 at 10:58 am #

    Thank you, everyone, SO MUCH for your encouragement! It was awesome to get back to work knowing I had such supportive friends rooting me on. :) Things are going well – I’ll probably post a related update soon.

  11. cynthia Tuesday / 19 October 10 at 8:49 am #

    Oh, I love this phase… Wonderful post–especially the mention of “note-taking devices of all sorts.” Good luck, Kayla!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

