Scrivenerlicious.

25 Oct

Unless you have eyes like an…um…something that can see really well and is not a cliché, you might want to click on this to make it bigger.  The whole blog post is on that beautiful orange index card, yo.

PS: Special thanks to @bethrevis and @LizaKane who totally talked me into this software. (Not that I needed much convincing. Just a little nudge.)

PPS: You can check Scrivener out here.  Be warned: if you don’t have a Mac, you might be investing in one once you see this software. (UPDATE! Don’t despair or go broke just yet!  Check out the comments – the ever-awesome @melissaiswrite has provided a link for the soon-to-be-released version for PCs!)

22 Responses to “Scrivenerlicious.”

  1. Melissa Monday / 25 October 10 at 10:59 pm #

    I am not, nor probably ever will be, a Mac user.

    Scrivener Windows Beta: http://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivenerforwindows/

    BOO MACS!

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 26 October 10 at 11:52 am #

      Thanks for the link!

      PS: My dear, sweet, faithful laptop would like you to know you hurt his feelings with your enthusiastic “BOO MACS!” comment. He thinks he’s a “mighty fine and lovely computer,” (his words, not mine) and feels you have “unfairly discriminated against him without trying to get to know him.” (Again, his words.) But, c’est la vie. I did rise to your defense, though – I told him you may have had some unpleasant experiences with some of his dastardly brethren, and that you have every right to feel that way.

      PPS: I have editing brain right now. Hence, the paragraph right above this one.

  2. Liza Kane Monday / 25 October 10 at 11:12 pm #

    First of all, I love that I’m a “tag” ^_^
    Second of all, seeing all the pretty color coded index cards just gave me the chills.
    (PS, the hubs just eye rolled at me: “you have a REAL bulletin board with REAL index cards, you know.” Silly hubs. He’s lucky he’s pretty *pats head*)

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 26 October 10 at 11:56 am #

      But – but – those real index cards don’t have the ability to expand into MORE index cards, and bulletin boards? They fill up easily. Plus, you can edit those cards instead of making brand new ones, change the status/labels with the click of a button, and rearrange the entire document just by switching the cards around! #virtualindexcardsFTW

  3. Agatha82 Tuesday / 26 October 10 at 2:49 am #

    Yes, gorgeous software, found out about it a while ago and then, I sadly noticed you must have a Mac for it and I don’t nor do I have the money for one…sniff

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 26 October 10 at 11:58 am #

      Did you see the link Melissa posted? There’s a Windows version coming out in 2011. It’s not as slick (yet) as the Mac version, but nonetheless, it’s an option. :) Plus, if you get to 50K words with NaNoWriMo, you are eligible for a 50% discount, which would help with the money issue. There also might be a free trial…I know there’s one for Macs, don’t remember about PCs, though.

      • Agatha82 Tuesday / 26 October 10 at 1:49 pm #

        Oh no, I didn’t see that, thank you will check that out. Can wait until 2011, it’s only around the corner :-)

  4. Carol Ann Hoel Tuesday / 26 October 10 at 7:33 am #

    Amazing software that delights you! Glad you found it. I don’t have a Mac but have heard lots of good things about them. Blessings to you, Kayla…

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 26 October 10 at 12:01 pm #

      Thanks, Carol! Yes – my Mac and the software are both lovely. They make for a clean, organized workspace. I’m also enjoying Scrivener’s versatility: I’m using it in two totally different ways right now, since I have one project in heavy edits and another that’s just a fledgling first draft. The tools are the same, but I’ve figured out ways to tailor them to my needs for each project. It’s fantastic. :)

  5. Corinne Duyvis Tuesday / 26 October 10 at 9:45 am #

    Ooh, I love Scrivener! Sadly, I haven’t been able to use it as much as I’d like; I hop back and forth between my Mac desktop and Windows laptop constantly, and I don’t want to be restricted to writing on the Mac only.

    Which meant I was really excited to see a Windows version come out — but it won’t work on mine, since I have XP.

    Insert lots of flailing.

    I’m glad the program is so helpful to you, though! May you enjoy all the sudden productivity ;)

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 26 October 10 at 12:07 pm #

      Hopefully they’ll get the bugs worked out soon so you can use it on both computers (and so you don’t have to flail anymore!!)! I only work on one laptop, but I can see how limiting it would be if you consistently went between Mac & PC.

      And YES! Sudden productivity is right – I tend to be productive, but this is more than even I am used to. Something about it makes it easy for me to see what needs to be done next, and then, makes it easier to actually accomplish it. Plus, the pretty/fun factor means I’m more likely to want to stare at it for hours on end. :)

  6. beth Tuesday / 26 October 10 at 11:12 am #

    Bwahahaha! I knew you’d love it! Isn’t it great??

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 26 October 10 at 12:14 pm #

      SOOOO GREAT!!! I could go on and on about this. (Obviously, I kind of have…)

      Thank you so much for your enthusiastic recommendation – like I told Carol, I’m loving its versatility. I’ve developed one system for my massive revision-in-progress (RIP sounds way more depressing than WIP), and another for the fledgling first draft of my other project.

      Oh, man. I’ll stop here, but know I could go on. :)

  7. Merrilee Tuesday / 26 October 10 at 5:13 pm #

    I just succumbed to the beta and I’m hooked. Bring on 2011!

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 26 October 10 at 10:24 pm #

      Sweeeet! Yeah, I succumbed to the free trial for Macs and was hooked, too – so glad I did! Hope you enjoy yours, too!

  8. Linda Cassidy Lewis Wednesday / 27 October 10 at 11:39 am #

    I’ll save my money for the Windows version. I tried out the beta last evening, but importing was disastrous and cut and paste resulted in different formatting, which is not correctable in the Windows beta version.

    So I’ll just play with it until I can get the real version. Then I’ll work.

    Thanks for the post, and thanks Melissa for the Windows link.

    • Kayla Olson Wednesday / 27 October 10 at 11:48 am #

      Wow, that DOES sound disastrous! Good to know – thanks for sharing! Importing on the Mac version worked like a charm, so hopefully the non-beta Windows version will follow suit. :)

  9. Megs Sunday / 31 October 10 at 2:23 pm #

    Just downloaded the beta for windows. I’m barely back in from Texas, but I HAD to get it so I can start my November writing marathon (not quite nano). :grins:

    • Kayla Olson Sunday / 31 October 10 at 4:58 pm #

      Where were you in Texas and why didn’t I get to meet you?! That would have been AWESOME. Next time!

      So excited you downloaded it! It should be super-helpful for your short story projects!! Wheeee! :)

      • Megs Monday / 1 November 10 at 7:41 am #

        San Antonio Independent Christian Film Festival and Filmmakers Academy.

        My brain was so full and the course was so intensive that we barely had time to do anything other than the program, eat (sometimes), and sleep (not enough). It was awesome. :huge grin:

  10. Kerryn Angell Sunday / 31 October 10 at 3:36 pm #

    I have long been ogling Scrivener and sharing it with every Mac user I knew was a Mac user. I vainly checked back a couple weeks ago to find a Windows Beta being release in October. You can get it now for Windows! I’ve worked through the tutorial and begun to play and I agree that it’s fantabulous.

    For those Mac users there is some competition for Scrivener in the form of Storyist. Just saying. Cos I’m jealous.

    • Kayla Olson Sunday / 31 October 10 at 4:59 pm #

      Oh, I hadn’t heard of Storyist before…glad to have an alternative listed here! I’m so glad there’s a Windows version of Scrivener coming out for all of you non-Mac people, because it’s super amazing. Very cool that you’ve been playing around on it — it only took me about ten minutes before I was hopelessly hooked. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

