November Eve Eve

30 Oct

It’s that time of year again—November Eve Eve!

The day before the day before November starts, and crazy hopeful writers everywhere pick up their pens (oh, who am I kidding, they take to their keyboards) and write like mad for a month.

It’s the day before the day before the day outlines will be shelved in favor of that One Magnetic Idea, the Hugely Huge One that requires a ton of planning but who cares?! I can totally write a zillion-word (50K is for wimps, yo!) epic masterpiece trilogy in a month with no prior thought whatsoever—it’s November, and that means my brain and fingers and keyboard are infused with MAGIC!

It’s also the last day where sleep is an option, because Halloween?  Pretty much backs up to November.  Bubble-clad Lady GaGas, sparkly-sexy vampires, Princess Leias, Voldemorts, and Pippi Longstockings everywhere will flock from parties to coffee houses, bust out their laptops at midnight, and FALL ASLEEP IN THEIR BOTTOMLESS CUPS OF COFFEE WRITE!

So…am I doing NaNoWriMo?

Heck no.

I’m a NaNo cheerleader, which is every bit as important!  This is a PSA to everyone who’s tempted to think November is only for participants.  No, my friends!  The participants need cheerleaders!

Who else is going to remind them to eat?  Reassure them that it’s TOTALLY OKAY if they actually heed the Inner Editor (not to be confused with the Inner Critic) when she speaks her mind?  That doing the Halloween-party-to-coffee-shop thing at midnight, dressed in bubbles, is a bad idea in more ways than one?  That sacrificing quality for mere quantity only leads to editing misery?  To be their Harry Potters when they are Dumbledores in Voldemort’s horcrux cave (“Make me finish this no matter how much I protest!”)?

No, friends—November Eve Eve (and the rest of November, for that matter) is not the time to sit back.

November Eve Eve is the day to adopt a NaNo Participant, whip out your cute little cheerleading outfits, and prepare to ENCOURAGE!

Here are some suggested adoptees to get you started:

@melissaiswrite / @LizaKane / @KristenYard / @jamieharrington / @LauraJMoss / @Anna_Dawes / @betherann / @mercedesmy / @Simone7304 / @WeronikaJanczuk

Disclaimer: these extreme examples of crazy people in no way resemble the awesome participants listed here.  These ladies have good heads on their shoulders, and I have every confidence they’ll whip November into shape and wield it to their advantage (as opposed to, uh, getting whipped by November).  All the more reason you should cheer them on!  :)


Oh! And PS: I listed their Twitter handles because it’s easiest to follow that way.  If you prefer to follow blogs, not Tweets, click over anyway.  Links are included with their profile sections.

PPS: If any listed participants would rather be cheerleaderless, shoot me an email [olsonkayla (at) gmail (dot) com] or a comment and I’ll remove you from this post.  And, conversely, if you’re NOT on the list—and can’t face November without pompoms and pyramids—just let me know!

10 Responses to “November Eve Eve”

  1. Liza Kane Saturday / 30 October 10 at 11:16 am #

    Yay! I’m a participator, but I LOVE to encourage and cheerlead as well!
    Go Writers! *pom pom wave*

  2. Carol Ann Hoel Saturday / 30 October 10 at 1:27 pm #

    I’m a cheerleader and one that will watch and pray for those accepting the challenge of NaNoWriMo…

  3. J.C Saturday / 30 October 10 at 1:35 pm #

    I’ll be pulling out my pompoms for this one :-)

  4. Anna Dawes Saturday / 30 October 10 at 1:55 pm #

    On November 16, when I have lost all hope, and am ready to quit and go eat some pie, I will remember this! Thank you so much! I cheer for cheerleader!

  5. Merrilee Saturday / 30 October 10 at 4:53 pm #

    Hahaha, well said Kayla, and a lovely post! Go ladies! *cheering*

  6. Mercedes Saturday / 30 October 10 at 4:56 pm #

    Cheerleaders are magic. NaNo can really help push you toward awesome results, but there’s burnout. We need somebody to form a human pyramid of hope when we’re passing out on the kitchen floor.

    Yay! :D

  7. Jamie Harrington Saturday / 30 October 10 at 5:17 pm #

    Oh man oh man I hope I can do this. I feel like I shouldn’t have admitted I was doing it, heh–then I wouldn’t have felt like I HAD to finish no matter what…

    I guess that’s kind of the point though–eh.

  8. Beth @ To the Fullest Saturday / 30 October 10 at 7:00 pm #

    Aww thanks for listing me as an adoptee. Not only did this post crack me up, but seeing that little surprise mention at the end but an even bigger smile on my face. Thanks for being a fab cheerleader!!

  9. Laura Sunday / 31 October 10 at 2:04 pm #

    Good luck to everyone, and thanks for being a cheerleader, Kayla!

  10. Megs Sunday / 31 October 10 at 2:25 pm #

    I’m going for 10 short stories of 5000 words each. But my sister freaked when I called it NaShoStMo. :grins:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

