So…About Those Goals…

10 Nov

Question: How long does it take November to go from feeling like a WHOLE MONTH! to feeling like oh-wow-only-TWELVE-DAYS-before-we-move?!?!?!

Answer: Not long.

Fortunately, the upside to twelve days is that my writing goals won’t have to be set aside for too terribly long.  And, oh yes, despite my lofty ambitions, they are being set aside—but only until December 1 (extra week of padding time included for the holidays and the unpacking phase).

Packing can get tedious, but I’ve figured out something to make it more fun: a color-coding system!  You knew I would do that, though, right?  Yes, yes, approximately 94.6% of the fun of this packing process is due to mini-post-its, a sharpie, and uniformly shaped boxes.  (The other 5.4% of the fun = the satisfaction of seeing quick progress take place, FYI.)  My system makes for a very pretty, very organized, transitional period.

How’s November going for everyone else?  Crazy-busy, like mine?  Rolling right along, without problems, exactly as planned?  Somewhere in between?

*Sigh.*

Wish I could write/read all day, but it’s back to the boxes I go.

 


 

16 Responses to “So…About Those Goals…”

  1. Linda Cassidy Lewis Wednesday / 10 November 10 at 10:05 am #

    I am not a bit surprised at your color-coding. :D Sounds like an excellent system.I once packed a three-bedroom apartment in three days, so you have plenty of time. But I know you miss writing.

    Terrific way to end your year, though, right?

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 16 November 10 at 12:26 pm #

      Ha! Yes, my color-coding pretty is to be expected, I guess. ;) It’s worked quite well! Mainly, I think it will make unpacking a lot easier, so it’s worth the time. We’ve taken care of a lot of the major packing—now there are just a ton of details to deal with.

      But, YES!! Definitely a great end to this year! :)

  2. joyofdawn Wednesday / 10 November 10 at 10:09 am #

    I laughed when I read about your color code. My brother said, “What?”
    “Oh, nothing,” I replyed.
    Dad just asked what I was smiling about. I’m just shaking my head.
    Your packing sounds much better then ours was six years ago. (Has it really been that long?)Glad to hear your able to move. It can be so much fun discovering the secrets of another place!
    I think my November would be ther somewhere in between. I’m having to get used to a whole new role in life and writing 50,000 words at the same time. It isn’t anything no one else would be doing but I still have to get my head around it all. :)I’ve a lot of reasons to be excited for December!
    I’m still laughing inside!

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 16 November 10 at 12:28 pm #

      I love that you got such a kick out of this, haha—my color-coding really is a beautiful (though laughable) sight to behold. :) It’s been a few days since your comment (my bad…crazy week)—hope NaNo is still rolling right along for you! Next stop: your blog, to see if you’ve posted any updates. :)

  3. Merrilee Wednesday / 10 November 10 at 5:35 pm #

    Didn’t you just move a couple of months ago?

    I approve of your colour coding :) My packing tends to be of the type ‘what fits in here’?

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 16 November 10 at 12:31 pm #

      Nope—this will be our first move. We’ve lived in the same apartment since we got married (almost 3 and a half years ago), and are so ready for more space (and a new adventure!!).

      Ha! Thanks for your approval, hehe. I’m well-versed in the ‘what fits in here’ method…that usually happens with all the last minute stuff, for me. No need to forsake the color code, though—I just stick an orange label on it and call it Miscellaneous, lol. :)

      • Merrilee Tuesday / 16 November 10 at 5:39 pm #

        Haha! Most of my boxes would be misc then! We’ve moved a total of 5 times, and I hate it so much. Last move ever in April next year. I swear, I am going to put down roots and REFUSE to move!

  4. Megs Friday / 12 November 10 at 7:04 am #

    Odd. I have had the oddest month possible and am finding that sometimes you need to stop and sleep or refill the well before you can write anything that doesn’t suck.

    Here’s to good moving! (and good weather)

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 16 November 10 at 12:32 pm #

      YES! That is so, so, so true. “Work hard, rest hard,” I always say…too bad I don’t always follow my own advice, haha. :)

      Good luck with your well-refilling and your odd month! So good to hear from you, my friend!!

  5. Liza Kane Saturday / 13 November 10 at 6:36 pm #

    heehee, we had so little time to move, that most of my boxes were labeled “Liza’s stuff”…the hubs and his brothers loved that when they were unloading the truck and trying to find a home for our boxes ;)
    I am VERY tempted to hire a moving company to do all the moving for me the next time I move.

    • Melissa Monday / 15 November 10 at 2:15 pm #

      My exhusband is military. Totally got spoiled on the whole “we move it for you” business. Made moving 800 times easier.

      • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 16 November 10 at 12:37 pm #

        I would say, “Lucky you,” but I know the moving service was, like, the ONLY perk that came with that guy. At least you didn’t have moving stress on top of everything else, lol.

        PS: I love that it made moving “800 times easier” — not 799, or 806, or 432… ;)

      • Liza Kane Thursday / 18 November 10 at 5:42 pm #

        Weellll….if I get accepted for New Position, The Company will hire professional movers for us. *can barely contain the drool*

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 16 November 10 at 12:35 pm #

      Ooh, moving company…shiny…my preciousssssssss…

      *Sigh.*

      I’ve moved enough times with the “Kayla’s Stuff” label that my system sort of morphed into the current one. Reminds me of how Morning Liza would think ill of Evening Liza if she forgot to put the coffee on…Future Kayla will love Current Kayla for her forethought and organization skills, haha. :)

      • Liza Kane Thursday / 18 November 10 at 5:40 pm #

        heehee, oh that morning Liza…she’s so persnickety! ;)
        Yes, if I could do it ALL over again, I would NOT have turned down offers of cardboard boxes, I would have started pack a lot sooner than two nights before I started the new job, and I would DEFINITELY have labeled stuff better than just calling them, well, “Stuff.” ;) Live and learn. And label.

  6. Megs Tuesday / 16 November 10 at 7:08 pm #

    “Ooh, moving company…shiny…my preciousssssssss…”

    Nearly stopped breathing, I was laughing so hard!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

