New Year, New Goals…

3 Jan

2011 has only just started, but I can feel it: it’s going to be a big year.

A lot happened in 2010.  I made major progress on my novel, started a second novel, participated in Merrilee’s Creativity Workshop over the summer, joined Twitter, made new friendships and deepened others, and blogged more regularly (until, um, the move to Austin).

2010 was the year I really settled into a disciplined groove with writing, the year I learned how to cultivate new ideas (and therefore, the year I learned how to choose which new ideas to focus on as they came flooding in), the year I grew a spine and shared my novel with beta readers for the first time.

All that to say, I think 2011 will be just as amazing—maybe even more amazing.

The week before Christmas, I made a huge list of goals.  I’m talking HUGE.  (This is because I make extremely specific—and therefore, extremely measurable—goals.)

Perhaps the biggest, most exciting, goal is this:

This year, I will finish this novel to the point where I am satisfied enough with it to begin querying agents.

I’ve set myself a pretty ambitious, specific schedule (because, yes! I did set a goal date…and it’s soon…).  The novel’s close to being ready, but it’s not there yet.  Still: YAY.  This is the first year where “finish my WIP,” “send query letters to agents,” and “finish first draft of Shiny New Novel” have been actual, possible, achievable goals.

AND I’M SO EXCITED.

The other goal I’ll share with you guys is this: I plan a return to more regular blogging, and plan to write on a MWF schedule (plus any and all other random spurts of blogginess that just beg to be written!) from now on.¹

Happy 2011 to everyone!  I wish you all motivation, inspiration, and dedication in abundance!

xoxo ❤

 

¹On that note, if you happen to have any requests or suggestions for things you’d like to read about, let me know in the comments!
24 Responses to “New Year, New Goals…”

  1. betherann Monday / 3 January 11 at 2:59 pm #

    I’m excited, too! :)

  2. Liza Kane Monday / 3 January 11 at 3:05 pm #

    Same here. The excitement is almost palpable…I love this feeling of renewed purpose and strength of will that comes from this time of year (especially since the holidays are usually so draining.)
    I so can’t wait for you to finish your draft/novel. I will support you any way I can!

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 4 January 11 at 9:12 am #

      I’ve always had a thing for fresh starts, hehe. It helps, too, that I’ve met my resolutions for the past three years—so, I’m optimistic and determined. :)

      Thank you so much for your support and feedback on my novel. I know you’ve only read a little bit, but it’s been so helpful so far!

  3. J.C Monday / 3 January 11 at 3:37 pm #

    I think there is a general buzz of excitement around for 2011, which is lovely – it all adds together to make it mega wonderful.

    How awesome that you have those lovely goals sorted! I can’t wait to hear how they all go, I’m sure you’ll nail them, because you’re just that awesome :-)

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 4 January 11 at 9:13 am #

      :D Thanks for the encouragement, Cassie!! I’m so excited to see what this year brings, both challenges I planned for AND the ones that pop up along the way…either way, I’m looking forward to meeting these goals! Off to a good start, so far. :)

  4. Merrilee Monday / 3 January 11 at 6:23 pm #

    Fantastic, Kayla. Good luck with the novel, and I look forward to your posts!

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 4 January 11 at 9:14 am #

      Thank you, Merrilee! I look forward to YOUR new posts, too!! :)

  5. Megs Monday / 3 January 11 at 8:42 pm #

    Motivation, inspiration, and dedication back at ya!

    Your goals sound awesome and I hope you have great success.

    (sorry for the short comment, but I’m totally sneaking in internet time. :) I’ll write you more later.)

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 4 January 11 at 9:15 am #

      MEGS!!!! I love it when you show up here! :) Good to see/hear from you. We totally need to catch up via email soon…

      • Megs Tuesday / 4 January 11 at 11:08 pm #

        I’m woefully behind on emails: I’ve got you, Rabia, Bethany from NZ, and Michelle (who shares my last name)—plus a dozen thank you letters. :headdesk:

        But I am officially a FREE WOMAN. 3:35 p.m. today was my last time leaving the workplace and now, I’ve got time (in a manner of speaking) to try playing catch up. I love your goals!

        2011 Writing Goals (the rest are too numerous to bother you with):

        • Complete 2 or 3 written pieces every week.
        • Publish all satisfactory pieces the following week. (That’s a long tale, but I’ll catch up in that email.)
        • Submit In This Wood to publisher(s). (Did I mention the revision is done? :))
        • Start and maintain a new lovely website to aggregate all of this.
        • Comment more on friends’ blogs. ;)

      • Kayla Olson Wednesday / 5 January 11 at 11:20 am #

        No, you didn’t mention you finished your revision!!! *glitter* *sparkles* *chocolate cake* CONGRATULATIONS!!! Also, how wonderful that you’re freeee! I loved reading your goals, too, and how cool that you now have time to work toward them! Yay! :)

  6. anna caro Monday / 3 January 11 at 9:38 pm #

    Yay! It’s so good hearing all these people looking forward to 2011. Good luck with the novel :)

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 4 January 11 at 9:17 am #

      Thanks, Anna! What are you working on, these days? Good luck to you with whatever your goals are, too! :) (By the way: I’m loving your little profile picture. Those colorful socks made me smile! So fun!)

  7. Rebecca Tuesday / 4 January 11 at 5:41 am #

    I think this New Year has brought with it some amazing goals for writers. I have the two you have written, complete and query. In all I set myself 11 goals for 2011 on my blog.

    Wishing you lots of luck with yours :)

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 4 January 11 at 9:24 am #

      Hey, Rebecca! Thanks for stopping by and commenting! :) Ooh, I like that we have two of the same goals—I’ll have to pop over to your blog so I can read all eleven here in a minute! Best of luck with your goals!

      PS: I’ve been hunting around your blog to see if you’re on Twitter, but I didn’t find anything. :( You should totally join! Let me know if you do (or if you already have an account but it’s just hiding from me…)! :)

  8. Rebecca Tuesday / 4 January 11 at 9:37 am #

    Hi Kayla,

    I am on twitter but the twitter link on my blog seemed to stop working so I removed it. You will find me at @RebeccaJBradley

    Hopefully see you there!

  9. joyofdawn Tuesday / 4 January 11 at 10:50 am #

    Those goals are great! Can’t wait for your novel to come out! How exciting!

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 4 January 11 at 10:57 am #

      Hey, Amber! Good to see you again! Thanks for always being so sweet and encouraging! :) I hope your 2011 goes well, too—have you set any goals?

  10. Elana Johnson Tuesday / 4 January 11 at 3:01 pm #

    ooh, most excellent goal! Good luck in the query trenches when you get there!

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 4 January 11 at 6:14 pm #

      You *totally* know a little something about those query trenches, so THANK YOU for the luck! I’m inspired that you’ve been through this process (and lived to tell about it!) and have what looks like an AMAZING book coming out soon. I appreciate the luck—if the trenches are as deep as I’ve heard they are, I’ll need it! ;)

  11. and flowers pick themselves Wednesday / 5 January 11 at 10:25 am #

    sounds light an AMAZING goal, kayla! best of luck. you can do it!!

    and i can’t wait to see more regular blogs from you as well!

    have a lovely day :)

    xo Alison

  12. Laura Best Friday / 7 January 11 at 10:18 pm #

    A belated Happy New Year, Kayla! Yes, 2011 will be an exciting year. I’m SO hoping you reach all your goals!! I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

