Marathon Day of Edits…

12 Jan

…coming up right after I finish this blog post.

As you may or may not remember, I made an ambitious deadline for finishing this draft of my novel.  Well…the problem with ambitious deadlines is that they are, by nature, ambitious.

Translation: ohmygoodnessihaveSOmuchworktodo.

I’m determined to leave my deadline firmly where I carved it into stone set it.

Therefore: today. Lots of peppermint tea. Focus turned all the way up to eleven. Twitter on in the background—for sanity breaks, of course, so I don’t go crazy.  And, of course, my cat.  Most importantly: perseverance.

So.  Here I go.

*Deep breath.*

UPDATE! Thank you all—SO MUCH!—for encouraging me today, both here in the comments and on Twitter!  It helped a lot, and brightened my (very analytical, very focused) day.  In case you’re wondering about my progress, it was pretty fantastic!  I didn’t get through everything I’d hoped to, but that’s okay.  I got through most of it, then decided a) it would be good to move around, so I took a walk, and b) I can get back to work tomorrow with fresh eyes!  Again, thank you all for being awesome.  :)

10 Responses to “Marathon Day of Edits…”

  1. Megs Wednesday / 12 January 11 at 10:13 am #

    You can do it! I’m rooting you on. :D

  2. Liza Kane Wednesday / 12 January 11 at 11:11 am #

    You can do it! *pom poms waving*

  3. Linda Cassidy Lewis Wednesday / 12 January 11 at 11:37 am #

    Go, Kayla, go! I’m sure all sorts of goodness will come from your effort. :-)

  4. Heather Simone Wednesday / 12 January 11 at 12:51 pm #

    You can do it! Good Luck! :-)

  5. Beth @ To the Fullest Wednesday / 12 January 11 at 1:07 pm #

    Yeah! Go go go!

    Also, fab photo. <3

  6. Merrilee Wednesday / 12 January 11 at 6:45 pm #

    Peppermint tea is the way to go! I have a packet of Arctic Fire in the cupboard, just waiting for those days when I need a whammo.

    Hope your tea does the job and you are powering on!

  7. J.C Wednesday / 12 January 11 at 7:31 pm #

    good luck! I hope it went well!

  8. Deborah Burns Wednesday / 12 January 11 at 10:27 pm #

    I’m glad you had an awesome day of edits! Way to celebrate the success and move what couldn’t be done to a new day.

  9. Laura Best Thursday / 13 January 11 at 10:29 pm #

    Sounds like it’s going great. Yay you!

  10. and flowers pick themselves Friday / 14 January 11 at 12:49 pm #

    i’m not a revision fan. so frustrating some times! hugs!

    xo Alison

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

