The Last Scene

8 Mar

The last scene in my book: it’s my very, very favorite.

There are a lot of scenes and sequences I’m proud to have written, lots of bits of dialogue that strike a chord with me, lots of threads I’ve painstakingly woven together over the course of numerous drafts.  But, still, no matter what, the last scene—and, more specifically, the final image—in my book is The One that has the power to kick me in the gut, make me proud to have written this book, this way.

Do you have scenes like that?  I hope you do.  Perhaps it’s your opening sequence, where you first introduce your character to the world.  Perhaps it’s some victory for your lead, or some earth-shattering loss he suffers, or the climax.  Perhaps it’s a single line of prose, written in just the right way, that so perfectly embodies everything you mean to communicate.

If you don’t have something like this, just keep writing.  The more you write, the more likely it is that something magical and surprising will fall into place in a way that’s even better than you hoped for.

If you do identify with this, it’s probably why you’re STILL writing.

9 Responses to “The Last Scene”

  1. Megs Tuesday / 8 March 11 at 1:23 pm #

    Yes, ma’am. I identify. That’s the kind of thing that makes me keep wanting to put one word in front of another, just to see what will happen.

    On a side note: Glad to have you back! Been missing you and twiddling my thumbs waiting for the next update. :grins: I know, I know. Patience is a virtue. It’s even one I might eventually acquire.

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 8 March 11 at 3:43 pm #

      Thanks, Megs! I’ve missed you, too! Hehe, thanks for so *patiently* waiting for an update. :)

  2. Melissa Tuesday / 8 March 11 at 1:52 pm #

    I LOVE YOUR FINAL SCENE.

    It speaks so much about the character, his growth, the overall arc of development and progress and strength. It is so amazing.

    I have a few of those. A few blips here & there that make me go “YES.” Enough right now, anyway, to keep me propelling forward.

    Seriously, we have the coolest job in the world.

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 8 March 11 at 3:46 pm #

      *Hugs.* Thank you, Melissa. :) Can’t wait to read YOUR new project…I’m so excited about your idea!

  3. Linda Cassidy Lewis Tuesday / 8 March 11 at 2:03 pm #

    Have I read this scene? I figure you might have written a new one.

    Yes, of course, I have these scenes and bits, but they probably won’t be my readers’ favorites. I’ve read enough author interviews to know that. Still, those bits make my spirit sing and keep me writing.

    • Kayla Olson Tuesday / 8 March 11 at 3:54 pm #

      Yes, Linda, it was in the draft you read. :) It’s been around since the (ancient) second draft, and it’s the one part of my book that’s managed to stay in tact throughout all the rewrites and revisions.

      As for your “scenes and bits that probably won’t be your readers’ favorites,” I totally get that—certain subtle details might be special to us for reasons the reader may never know!

  4. Alannah Murphy Wednesday / 9 March 11 at 4:19 am #

    Isn’t it a wonderful thing when you love your book that much? I love my last scene as well, though it is the first paragraph on my first chapter, that I adore, and there are many many scenes throughout that I love, and some, that were gut wrenching emotionally to write. My heart and soul is in my novel.

  5. Liza Kane Wednesday / 9 March 11 at 12:03 pm #

    I can’t wait to read this final scene ;)
    I don’t necessarily have a certain scene or line, but definitely the quest for one keeps me going. Also, I love the feeling of scenes/plots/etc falling into place. I almost see puzzle pieces floating together and interlocking when I know I wrote something well. The “I’m a genius!” feeling really helps to fuel a good writing session!

  6. kmariefoley Tuesday / 22 March 11 at 1:45 pm #

    hey there, i know your busy! life and stuff! but i just wanted to drop a comment to say i miss your blogging!

    hope you find a spare moment soon :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

