The Blank Page

29 Mar

Oh, the blank page. At this point, I’m so, so familiar with it. And, in many ways, I’m starting over with a blank page right now.

You may have noticed that March pretty much turned into a month-long hiatus from blogging. This was mainly intentional.

It’s been a season of transition for me. The time off helped me to focus on a few larger-than-life areas—especially the fact that I was finishing up my first trimester of pregnancy and feeling like utter junk for most of the time. I think it’s getting better. Finally.

That’s not the only reason I took a break, though. In majorly exciting news, the novel I’ve been working on for most of this blog’s life? I finished it. And by finished, of course, you know I mean that in a relative sense—mainly, I mean I feel satisfied with the work I’ve done on it, to the point that I feel it’s ready for agents’ eyes.

Also? That tiny little word I just used—work? It seems small. Way. Too. Small.

Those four letters represent years of discipline and heart, poured into every page.

They represent countless lattes, post-it notes, index cards, and hours spent at Starbucks.

They represent four drafts started from four scary blank pages: the one where I started with nothing more than the name of my character; the one where I re-envisioned so much of the story that I couldn’t simply weave in the changes; the one where I was satisfied with the story and structure but knew I could make the writing itself stronger; the one where the first third got completely re-worked.

And that, my friends, is why I took a month off. Transitioning out of that much work and jumping into a new blank page? Not easy. (Especially when there are three compelling ideas begging me to write them.) But! I’m pleased to say I’ve chosen (with much difficulty) which project to pursue next, and that I’m making good progress on it already.

Thanks so much for being patient while I disappeared, and for checking in on me to let me know you missed my regular blogging. Now that I’m past the hump of bad baby sickness (hopefully) and have transitioned between projects, I should be back to posting on a regular basis again.

Happy writing and reading to all of you!

xoxo

9 Responses to “The Blank Page”

  1. Megs Tuesday / 29 March 11 at 11:20 am #

    I have MISSED you!! Congrats on everything: baby, writing new story, finishing old, and successfully taking time off the web. God bless!

    I know for myself I keep facing that blank page, but the turnaround is so much faster when dealing with shorts. You remember all my attempts at actually getting shorts out? And all the failures? Well, this year, things are looking up. I’ve got seven completed drafts, some close to final, and several more in progress, besides a host of drabbles. This is the year for writing, it would seem.

    Hope to read more from you soon!

  2. Melissa Tuesday / 29 March 11 at 12:11 pm #

    The first trimester is always bad. I do not miss being pregnant, lol! Good luck with the new project. It’s always exciting and scary to look at that blank page.

  3. 2blu2btru Tuesday / 29 March 11 at 12:49 pm #

    First of all, congrats on both of your major accomplishments! It’s not easy growing a baby, or so I hear, and it’s not easy “finishing” a novel, which I know all to well.

    Ah, the blank page; I know it well. Sometimes it’s a world of possibility, and sometimes its a cold, frozen Tundra. It’s been a bad blogging month for me as well (not that I was growing a human or actually finishing a project ;-)), but I’m looking forward to a less active April, full of many a written word.

    Welcome back!

  4. J.C Tuesday / 29 March 11 at 3:54 pm #

    Welcome back :-) Glad you are feeling better, and well done for being ‘done’!

    I can tell you now, that you’ll go through more transitions over the next months as you get close to birthing that precious baby. And afterwards? *smiles* well, you have lots to look forward to. Babies change a person, soul deep change, I’m looking forward to watching your transformation.

  5. Merrilee Tuesday / 29 March 11 at 5:23 pm #

    Congratulations, Kayla! Good luck with the agent hunt :) And glad to hear you are out of the horrible first trimester – second trimester is simply wonderful :)

  6. Linda Cassidy Lewis Tuesday / 29 March 11 at 9:42 pm #

    I’m so happy to see you back. You always make me smile. :-)

    Good luck with the agent search. And yay you for the progress on the next book! You’re a wonder.

  7. Melissa Wednesday / 30 March 11 at 12:23 pm #

    I AM SO EXCITED.

  8. Genna Sarnak Monday / 4 April 11 at 4:10 pm #

    How wonderful, Kayla! I’m so happy for you. Please keep us posted and let us know how everything is coming along. :) Congrats!

  9. Laura Sunday / 10 April 11 at 9:57 pm #

    Congratulations, Kayla! That was actually my other unstated reason for taking a hiatus from my blog. I just had my baby a few weeks ago! I knew I couldn’t handle work, being pregnant, writing a book, AND blogging. Hopefully I can get back in the swing of things in a few months, but I’m pacing myself. Being a mama is a busy job!
    A little unsolicited advice: journal about your pregnancy. Those amazing moments like your baby’s first flutters and other “firsts” fade from memory quicker than you think. I was so glad I wrote them down.
    God bless your little one! So exciting. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

