Late Night Random Thought…

9 May

You know you and your husband are Harry Potter nerds¹ when you suggest the seemingly normal name ‘Brian’ for the Possible Names We Could Name Our Son list…

…and your husband assumes you got the idea because you were thinking of Dumbledore.

And he’s right.²

Albus Percival Wulfric Brian Dumbledore

¹As if this wasn’t the first clue…
²And thus you have the story of how it came to be that our son will NOT be named Brian. (Or Wulfric, for that matter.) I must say, though, the whole four-first-names thing is tempting, given our indecisiveness and long list of possibilities…

5 Responses to “Late Night Random Thought…”

  1. Linda Cassidy Lewis Monday / 9 May 11 at 10:27 am #

    I think Wulfric Olson is a grand-sounding name! His friends would call him Wolf, of course. :-)

  2. Liza Kane Monday / 9 May 11 at 11:23 am #

    I will be the first to admit that having an uncommon name was REALLY hard to deal with growing up in school (I have two first names, and *technically* one middle name, though traditionally, it ought to be two. Not to mention my maiden last name was kinda long).
    I hated having to fill out the scantron sheets for standardized tests, and even now, having legal documents like driver’s licenses NOT understand that one can have TWO names as a FIRST NAME is really frustrating. sigh.
    BUT…
    I began to appreciate my name and began to embrace and love the fact that it’s uncommon (Plus I swear that an uncommon name was a leg up in the business world. All my managers, contacts, etc remembered me. Bonus.)
    PS
    I like Linda’s suggestion of Wolf Olson ;)

  3. Chibi Monday / 9 May 11 at 1:51 pm #

    I always thought that that would be one of the most difficult parts of having a baby. Choosing a name that’s going to be a part of your lives for such a long time… although I do like the sound of Wolf Olson, too.

  4. Melissa Tuesday / 10 May 11 at 7:59 am #

    I am a huge proponent of uncommon names, as I have a super common 80s name. One of my BFFs is an Ashley and she spent her entire life post-wedded bliss known as “Ashley M”.

    Unlike Liza, my daughter doesn’t have two names – but she is a Cairo and it’s awesome. The biggest problems I’ve encountered are (1) people thinking her name is Kyra because the O is masculine (whatever. Ashley used to be a boys name.) & (2) people pronouncing her name like Karo syrup. I always want to scream, “HAVE YOU NEVER SEEN A MAP?! SERIOUSLY!!!”

    That being said. Adam desperately wants a little boy and we’ve discussed boy names for our future offspring (if we just keep talking about it, it’ll happen, right?). We liked Jack a lot, but a lady at daycare calls her son “Jackie” instead of Jack and I really, really hate it.

    But finding uncommon names for boys is SUPER HARD because you don’t want to demasculinize them or paint a large target on their face because of it. Maybe Jack will just get an awesome middle name.

    And I love Wulfric “Wolf” Olson, too :D

  5. Kayla Olson Tuesday / 17 May 11 at 11:16 am #

    Ha! Alas, you will all be sad to know we have vetoed Wolf—super-cool name, but for some reason it just doesn’t seem very…us. I would totally use this in a novel, though…in fact, I might steal it just for that. It’s funny how many names are perfect for characters but then, when thinking of them for our specific baby, just don’t seem to fit.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

