Patience

17 May

Sometimes I wish I could do everything at once:

Hurry up and finish drafting Meren, my new work-in-progress.

Hurry up and finish drafting Tokyo, my *other* new work-in-progress.

Read all the amazing books on my shelf, both published-and-acclaimed and yet-to-be-published-and-acclaimed.

Do another pass and polish for Speck Hawkins, my beloved novel I’ve worked so very hard on this whole time you’ve known me—it needs to lose at least 10K (more than that, if I’m honest) before I continue querying agents.

Give feedback for my crit partners, whose works-in-progress are freaking awesome and leave me hungry for more.

Sometimes I want to do it all, and do it all at once. Today. Now.

But then, I remember: it’s not simply about getting to the other side of goals. It’s about loving what I do, taking joy and pride in doing it with as much excellence as possible, loving the experience. It’s about being patient and diligent, working hard and not shooting myself in the foot by rushing things. That doesn’t mean it’s about ignoring goals, or discipline, or deadlines—those things are essential for anyone who wants to make progress, professionally, and I take them seriously. It’s just that they’re not the only things that matter.

It’s about being a writer who loves to write, not about being a writer who simply loves having written.

Enjoy today, wherever you are. Don’t wish it away.

6 Responses to “Patience”

  1. bethmorey Tuesday / 17 May 11 at 11:08 am #

    Yes!

  2. D.B. Smyth Tuesday / 17 May 11 at 11:18 am #

    Well said! I need to remember the journey part. Sometimes (ok… all the time) I am too focused on the destination. Thanks for the post!

  3. Megs Tuesday / 17 May 11 at 12:11 pm #

    Sounds like, “In every thing give thanks.” A timely reminder. It’s the whole “trust the process,” enjoy being exactly where you’re at. You have to take each step to get to the next one.

    Thanks for the happy thought.

  4. 2blu2btru Tuesday / 17 May 11 at 12:35 pm #

    This reminds me of one of my favorite books, where the narrator speculates at two different points of her life, about the words on two bathroom stall doors: Be Here. Now.

    There’s nothing like being able to enjoy the moment and find joy in the process as well as the outcome. :-)

  5. M. Howalt Thursday / 19 May 11 at 3:58 am #

    Thanks for this! :) Really good post and great reminder!

  6. joyofdawn Monday / 23 May 11 at 5:22 pm #

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

