Not Jim, or Jimmy, or Jamie…

11 Sep

…but James.

So, after this past week of sleepless nights and whoa-I’m-actually-a-mother newness, I think it’s safe to say that my life has changed drastically (in a good way, of course). Things that previously felt So Important don’t feel as urgent—and, on the flip side, Andrew and I are now responsible for feeding, protecting, and raising a baby human. (Side note: this? Not at all like feeding, protecting, and raising a baby cat.)

All that to say, this has been the most difficult, amazing, rewarding, lovely, challenging, prayer-dependent ten days of my life.

I’m starting to thank myself that I decided, about a month before James arrived, that I was going to take an official two or three month break from writing my novels. Once we’ve settled into some semblance of a routine—or, at least, once we’ve gotten more familiar with our new roles as parents—I’ll pick up the novels again. Writing and editing them now, though? That would be a total disservice to every element involved, from the books to James to myself.

It’s sort of weird to put my writing goals on hold for a while (and mark my words, they are not abandoned—not at all. Just on hold, for their own good.) after spending a good few years working so diligently at them. But, then I remind myself: no one says I have to finish my book today, get an agent tomorrow, get published the day after that. (Insert Rebecca Black lyrics here. You’re welcome.) 

Nope, no reason to rush: the publishing industry isn’t going anywhere. (I hope.) Whether I finish my book tomorrow or next year or the year after that is unimportant; what’s important is that I make it as good as it possibly can be. And, that I keep my priorities straight: this new, sweet baby is the most wonderful blessing I’ve ever been given (closely rivaled by the other most amazing blessing in my life, my sweet husband). Right now, I’m devoting myself to learning him, learning how to be a mother, and learning how to be a good wife to Andrew now that James has been introduced to the picture.

Anyway. Just had to get those thoughts out there, partially because they’ve been swimming around in my head, and partially because I haven’t posted much about my writing progress lately.

Hope you are all doing well—I haven’t forgotten you guys! I plan to keep posting here (albeit, probably as irregularly as I’ve been posting these past few months, at least for a while), and I’ll still be on Twitter. Happy reading and writing and awesomeness to you all!

13 Responses to “Not Jim, or Jimmy, or Jamie…”

  1. Heather Simone Sunday / 11 September 11 at 6:05 pm #

    I remember putting my writing on hold when my Little Jimmy arrived. Yes, mine is a James as well, but like his daddy and grandpa we call him Jimmy. Poor thing is a 3rd and shares his name. Your James sure is a cutie pie. Soon enough you will be back to writing and missing him being that small. Enjoy it! :-)

  2. Beth Sunday / 11 September 11 at 6:06 pm #

    Yay!! So glad you found time to write (but not WRITE). ;) You’ve been in my thoughts and prayers. Glad to hear that it’s going well.

  3. J.C Sunday / 11 September 11 at 11:31 pm #

    Sounds like the absolute best thing to do for everyone involved :-) Becoming a parent is probably the biggest adjustment ever! And one of the coolest things in the whole world.

  4. MerylF Monday / 12 September 11 at 3:40 am #

    What a cutie!

  5. Anju Kanumalla Monday / 12 September 11 at 10:34 am #

    Congratulations! He is adorable.

  6. aleeza Monday / 12 September 11 at 1:25 pm #

    OHMYGOD KAYLA YOU HAVE THE CUTEST SON EVARRRR. (please excuse my obsession all things cute-baby-ish. honestly though, JAMES IS SO CUTE!!!!)

    anywaysss, i hope everything goes well for you and you get back to writing asap! i’m on a break, too, AGAIN, and i really don’t feel all that worried. i mean, i’m going to write what i want to eventually, so there’s not really any point in fretting about it. i’m just too busy with other things, and i’ll make time for writing as soon as i can :)

  7. Alannah Murphy Monday / 12 September 11 at 1:46 pm #

    Awwww he is absolutely lovely. Congratulations. He looks like a good boy, and he has a beautiful name. He’ll be your best creation, and one day, you can write stories for him and read them at bed time :-)

  8. D.B. Smyth Monday / 12 September 11 at 1:50 pm #

    He’s so cute! Congratulations!

    Love your post here. Great insight on understanding the needs of each aspect of your life and being true to those. Thanks for reminding me that everything doesn’t have to happen all at once. Nor does it have to happen tomorrow… or today… or yesterday. You are amazing! I appreciate you!

  9. Laura Best Monday / 12 September 11 at 4:29 pm #

    Congratulations, Kayla. James is absolutely adorable!! So true, there will be plenty of time to write later, right now you have more importants things to do.. :)

  10. Liana Mir Monday / 12 September 11 at 10:23 pm #

    Ooooooooooooooooooh! He’s so beautiful! Congratulations and blessings and hugs and love and tickles to his adorableness and his awesome mom!

    And I totally agree with you on putting writing on hold. As my Nomi always says (and I’ve thanked her for time and again), people are more important. And this little person is just so precious.

    God bless you and James and your husband, Kayla!

    [Megs]

  11. Kayla Olson Saturday / 24 September 11 at 12:45 pm #

    Thank you guys so much! Sorry I’m delayed on actually RESPONDING to these comments—please know that I’ve kept up with them and soooo appreciate you guys taking the time to comment, and the sweet things you said! ❤

    Here are more photos, and an update, in case you’re interested: http://andrewandkayla.wordpress.com :)

    • Liana Mir Monday / 26 September 11 at 12:48 pm #

      Oh, wow! So adorable!

  12. jenniferneri Monday / 28 November 11 at 9:31 pm #

    I had no idea……in case you get this still, congratulations to being a new mommy! I wish you both the best and easy and enjoyment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

