It’s A New Year.

1 Jan

Today.

It’s a new day, a new week, a new month, a new year.

It’s a day I’ve had in mind for months: the day I START FRESH with my writing goals—and blogging. Now that I have a four-month-old (and, subsequently, four entire months of oooooooh-this-is-how-this-motherhood-thing-works under my belt) and have reasonable expectations as far as how writing and motherhood might work together, I am SO EXCITED!

So, what am I doing blogging about it?

Well. Asking you all to keep me accountable, for one, and two? Saying hi. Because I’ve missed you.

Coffee: procured. Awesome sweatshirt + knee-high knitted sock-boot thingies: on my body. Peace and quiet: yes and yes. Motivation: heck yeah.

Here we go.

Crit partners, expect me to be (rather energetically) imposing my LET’S-GO-WE-CAN-DO-THIS-FRESH-START-YAY attitude upon you in the near future. Because I can’t do this without you guys. (Okay, well, I could. But it would take much longer, and wouldn’t be as much fun, and my work would not be its best, because you guys? TOTALLY ROCK.)

Okay. Shutting up now. Fingers to keyboard…and…go.

11 Responses to “It’s A New Year.”

  1. L.S. Engler Sunday / 1 January 12 at 8:44 am #

    Whoo! Go, go, go!

    I totally feel you on the excitement of the new year; I’ve been looking forward to this day since December 1st! It’s going to be an awesome year. Good luck with everything (especially the new little one), and go, go, go!

    • Kayla Olson Sunday / 1 January 12 at 9:44 am #

      Yay, thank you! I got this comment right in the middle of my productive hour and it was really encouraging! :) Good luck with your goals, too!

  2. Amanda Sunday / 1 January 12 at 11:24 am #

    Yay!! I love your enthusiasm :) Welcome back and good luck with your writing goals!! Woooo!

  3. Linda Cassidy Lewis Sunday / 1 January 12 at 2:25 pm #

    I wish you well, friend. I’m excited about the new beginning too. May we both accomplish our goals. :-)

  4. J.C Sunday / 1 January 12 at 3:14 pm #

    Good luck with the new year and the goals! Nothing quite like a fresh start to get you moving :-)

  5. Kayla Olson Sunday / 1 January 12 at 3:40 pm #

    Amanda, Linda, and Cassie—thanks so much for your encouragement! May we ALL accomplish our goals this year. :D

  6. Merrilee Sunday / 1 January 12 at 3:53 pm #

    New year is always great for renewed enthusiasm. Enjoy!

  7. joyofdawn Sunday / 1 January 12 at 10:26 pm #

    Way to go! You can do it! Glad your back.

  8. Laura Monday / 2 January 12 at 10:39 pm #

    Yay! It’s weird trying to carve out time to write with a baby around. Mine is 9 months old, almost walking, and determined to eat everything in sight. It’s difficult to write unless he’s asleep. But I am, like you, invigorated by a new year and a new chance to finish this darn novel!

  9. D.B. Smyth (@DB_Smyth) Tuesday / 3 January 12 at 1:23 pm #

    Yay for starting fresh! I agree. Something nice about having a dedicated “start over” moment. Like passing go and collecting $200… only without the silver shoe and the money. ;)

  10. Megan Payne Friday / 6 January 12 at 1:50 pm #

    Here’s to a lovely writing new year for you! And blessings on the family and the baby. :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

